We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the Line College Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top of the Line College Inn”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Everything about this place is great. The service is excellent, the staff is courteous and helpful, and the rooms are beautiful. Some have slightly better views than others, and some are slightly better configured than others, but they're all pretty good, at least in our experiences there. The Hanover Inn was recently treated to a major renovation that upgraded pretty much everything. We ate at their Pine Restaurant, and it was top of the line as well. It all made for a great visit to Hanover.

Room Tip: We like the "campus view" rooms that look out on the Dartmouth green. However, we would re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidBergengren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your encouraging words regarding your most recent visit with us in Hanover. We are truly pleased to know that you enjoyed our courteous staff, accommodations and services provided at our Inn. We are happy to hear that your recent stay was so pleasant and we hope we'll have the chance to welcome you back for another memorable experience at the Hanover Inn Dartmouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    73
    16
    15
    1
See reviews for
182
73
10
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria
Level Contributor
126 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We spent a lovely week in this fine inn located right on the green in Hanover. Dartmouth college is just out the front door. The service is really excellent and eager to please. The Pine Restaurant is excellent and there are many other choices nearby. Rooms are large and comfortable. The gym is state of the art. Afternoon cookies are a treat. Pet friendly,

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NelsonVNile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for choosing our Inn, as it was a pleasure to accommodate you during your week long stay in Hanover. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our pet-friendly accommodations, in addition to our top-notch service, modern amenities and special touches. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hanover Inn and PINE restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My family and I stayed at this hotel twice in the last three weeks and couldn't have been more impressed with the hospitality demonstrated by every staff member we encountered. Customer service is so exceptional at this hotel that I felt obligated to write a review just so the hotel would know that their efforts are both recognized and appreciated. The location is ideal for visiting Dartmouth and the rooms are clean, comfortable, and well-appointed, but the true strength of the Inn lies in its employees.

My daughter and I visited the hotel in mid-April and were treated so well that I was anxious to see whether my husband had the same experience when he returned with her this past weekend. When he, too, came home saying that the people at the Hanover Inn were the nicest he'd encountered in his extensive travels, I was prompted to write this review. For courtesy, helpfulness, and going above and beyond to make guests feel truly welcome, this hotel gets my highest recommendation. We will be frequent visitors over the next four years and wouldn't even consider staying elsewhere!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripletmom96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your glowing remarks. We couldn't be happier to learn that you and your family received the personal, attentive service we wish to provide to each guest who walks through our door. Your kind words of praise mean a great deal to us and I will be certain to share your compliments with our staff. Our team will be happy to hear that we have gained your loyalty and we look forward to your future visits at the Hanover Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

It was an absolute pleasure to stay here. The rooms are lovely, with a great sense of style. The hotel restaurant Pine has excellent food and does a solid breakfast (there are options nearby). Beds are very comfortable. If you can get yourself a room overlooking the Dartmouth green then it is a good choice. Recommend a drink by the fire at Pine of an evening.

Room Tip: Look for something overlooking the Dartmouth green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent stay at the Hanover Inn. Enjoying a drink by our fireplace sounds like the perfect way to unwind after a long day. Thank you for letting us know just how much you enjoyed our PINE restaurant and accommodations overlooking the Dartmouth Green. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Enjoyable stay. Clean rooms and dreamily comfortable beds. Efficient room service. Courteous and very helpful valet/bellmen. They make you feel like a welcome guest every time you approach the door. Front desk very helpful as well. Can't wait too go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishr207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your glowing review of the Hanover Inn. Our goal is to ensure every guest feels right at home when walking through our doors. We are truly pleased to know that we have succeeded in making your stay so wonderful and we look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I was here for a business trip to Dartmouth. The hotel is located right across The Green. Valet parking is very convenient. Rooms are very nice. Keurig gives you a lot of options in the morning. Decor is Shaker -- nice. Breakfast in the morning is overpriced. You're better off looking for somewhere else down the street or if you're not really hungry going to the Starbucks. The staff is really nice and friendly. I ate at the restaurant, but that's a separate review!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Wheelock St and you'll have a view of Dartmouth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequentflyer666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate the kind words and providing the perspective of the business traveler. We strive to provide all of our guest with an exceptional experience and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the decor of our Shaker style accommodations, the ease and convenience of our valet parking and the friendly service from our staff. While our goal is to exceed all of our guest expectations, we do regret to learn that our breakfast pricing didn't match your expectations. As an alternative, we invite you to check out our Bed & Breakfast Package, available on our website. This allows for a complete package offering both accommodations and breakfast at one price. We hope that providing this option would be a good solution and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hanover Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Hotel was simple. Staff and accommodations adequate (staff missing at check-out time). Needed a place to stay while visiting Dartmouth and it served its purpose. The location was close enough and easy to get to from the college

Room Tip: Bathroom tiny. Heating good for this very cold winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThreeIvyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your recent experience with us. We regret to learn that your stay was not consistent with the high level of service guests have come to expect from us. We strive for excellence in customer service and we hope you'll allow us the opportunity to welcome you back for another stay at the Hanover Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
0.1 mi away
Six South St Hotel
Six South St Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hanover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
2.6 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Hanover Lebanon
5.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanover Inn Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanover Inn Dartmouth

Property: Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Address: 2 E Wheelock St, Hanover, NH 03755-1549
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hanover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanover Inn Dartmouth 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1780, the Hanover Inn Dartmouth offers 108 distinctive guest rooms with all the modern conveniences of a world-class hotel. Located in the “Heart of Hanover” and the only hotel on the Dartmouth College campus, the Hanover Inn enjoys a unique opportunity to serve our guests. Whether you’re traveling for business or pleasure, you’ll find the accommodations at the Hanover Inn are ideal for comfort and convenience, with luxurious furnishings and contemporary amenities. Enjoy a variety of dining options along with state of the art technology in our conference and meeting center, exquisite wedding and event locations, complimentary wireless internet and Ethernet accessibility along with an extensive health club facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hanover Inn Dartmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanover Inn At Dartmouth College Hotel Hanover
At Darmouth College Hanover
Hanover Hotel At Darmouth College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing