We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps A Bit Biased…However...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My husband and I went to Dartmouth, so the Inn is a part of our "history" and we have fond memories of siting on its front porch facing the Green and rocking on the rocking chairs scattered on the porch. So idillic and peaceful! We have stayed at the Inn so many times and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, and perfect location. Rooms facing Main Street or the Green are wonderful as you can take in the beautiful of this little college town. While other hotels may crop us, for us the Inn is the number 1 choice of places to stay in Hanover. Some feel it may be a bit expensive for a North Country establishment, however, it sis what it is! I can't imagine anyone not having a pleasant stay. Staff friendly and devoted to guest comfort. Give it a try. You won;t regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for sharing your Hanover Inn story, as it’s always a pleasure to hear from Dartmouth Alumni. It brings us great joy to learn of the fond memories that you have at our Inn and we’re truly pleased to know that we have become your number choice of places to stay in Hanover. We hope you will continue to stay with us in the future, as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 484 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Hanover. My girlfriend had business in the area, and I came along for the ride.
The staff, the location, the room, were all excellent.
Convenient to good restaurants, shopping, and Dartmouth College.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for sharing your two-night stay at the Hanover Inn. It's always wonderful to learn how our guests choose to spend their time while with us and we're happy that you were able to explore the local restaurants and various boutiques that line the streets of Hanover. The next time you are in our area, we hope you'll choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

A great hotel. Everything about it is fantastic! We always stay there when we are nearby.

The staff is always pleasant and the rooms are very comfortable. The new bar is loads of fun.

Hanover is a great town and this is a good starting place to explore New England. PB

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbilsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your warm and encouraging remarks regarding our Inn. It's truly a pleasure to welcome you to our Inn whenever you are visiting our area. It warms our hearts to know that you enjoy so many aspects of the Hanover Inn and we hope you'll continue to stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The hotel is absolutely beautiful after after all its renovations. The location can't be beat. But it was the personalized service of the staff that put my three night stay over the top. I also ate all my meals either through room service or in The Pine restaurant and it was AMAZING.

Room Tip: Describe your preferences to the staff and they will take care of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your very generous review of our property. We are happy that you were satisfied with your dining experience throughout your three-night stay with us. It is a great joy to know that our personalized services made your stay so unforgettable. We hope we'll have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Hanover Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We arrived to see our sons show at the HOP ( he is a Dartmouth student).
I limped into the lobby and was offered assistance ( because I am a truly awful crutcher!)

We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a junior suite near the elevator which was SO AMAZING in terms of coming and going and the space to crutch around the room was a gift.

Our meal at Pine was TOP NOTCH: delicious, delectable, and divine. The ambiance there is
just perfect with the fire and the hum of happy diners. The salmon was OUT OF THIS WORLD
and my children devoured their burgers and every last perfect french fry.

The connected and handicap accessible hallway to the HOP for the theatre performance meant I could get there with no coat ( a huge plus) .

we wish...we REALLY DO... that we could live in the Hanover Inn!

Room Tip: cant imagine there is a bad room here~
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gottchagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your enthusiastic review of our Hanover Inn and PINE restaurant! It was truly a pleasure to accommodate you and your family while in town for your son's show. We're so glad that you took the time to reach out and share the highlights of your trip. We are also pleased to know that our spacious room accommodations met your approval. We were happy to accommodate your needs and we hope you'll visit your home here in Hanover again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed there one night ,
Friendly Staff !!!
Very nice and clean room.
I checked out very early in the morning and the man at the front desk
Was very nice to make me a coffee to go
I really appreciated that!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Shlomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for letting us know of your experience at the Hanover Inn! Your glowing remarks made us smile from ear to ear. We will certainly share your comments and appreciation with our front desk staff. It was truly a pleasure to accommodate you for the evening and we hope you'll have the chance to visit for a more extended stay sometime in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We recently spent a night here and would like to say that we are extremely happy we received a reduced rate for our stay due to an interview at the college (if we had wanted to stay an additional night we were looking at over $300)! This really is a beautiful hotel with some very lovely rooms and a nice-looking restaurant downstairs. It is located in a great, central location to the college. The staff were all very friendly, and the valets were all extremely prompt with retrieving your car for you when you called down. Barring an extremely high room rate, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us. It was a pleasure to accommodate you while you were in town. We strive to provide a clean and comfortable stay at an exceptional value and encourage you to visit our website before booking your next stay for a list of the hotel packages that we have available. We would like the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hanover Inn and hope you'll choose to stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
0.1 mi away
Six South St Hotel
Six South St Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hanover
287 reviews
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Hanover Lebanon
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
14.5 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
456 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Whi...
#2 of 8 in White River Junction
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanover Inn Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanover Inn Dartmouth

Address: 2 E Wheelock St, Hanover, NH 03755-1549
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hanover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Price Range: $183 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanover Inn Dartmouth 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1780, the Hanover Inn Dartmouth offers 108 distinctive guest rooms with all the modern conveniences of a world-class hotel. Located in the “Heart of Hanover” and the only hotel on the Dartmouth College campus, the Hanover Inn enjoys a unique opportunity to serve our guests. Whether you’re traveling for business or pleasure, you’ll find the accommodations at the Hanover Inn are ideal for comfort and convenience, with luxurious furnishings and contemporary amenities. Enjoy a variety of dining options along with state of the art technology in our conference and meeting center, exquisite wedding and event locations, complimentary wireless internet and Ethernet accessibility along with an extensive health club facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanover Inn Dartmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanover Inn At Dartmouth College Hotel Hanover
At Darmouth College Hanover
Hanover Hotel At Darmouth College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing