We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Nice, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“great!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great location, service and amenities.
Construction work in progress until April 2013, but no noise at odd hours while we were there,
Big gym with great machines. Apples everywhere.
Breakfast à la carte à bit expensive, but very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaT1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hanover Inn at Dartmouth. It is a delight to read that you enjoyed our location in the heart of Hanover, overlooking the Dartmouth Green. Our newly renovated Inn offers a number of modern amenities while our staff strives to deliver world-class service and we’re glad this was your experience. We appreciate your patience as we put the finishing touches on our new restaurant, Pine and invite you to return this spring for a delicious meal. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    74
    16
    15
    1
See reviews for
182
75
10
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Excellent place for a getaway. So many things to do and see. Hanover Inn has an amazing hospitable staff. From the cookies at check-in, the ease of parking, and the comfortable accommodations you will love your stay here!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEC522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you! Your kind review of your recent stay at the Hanover Inn at Dartmouth is pleasing to read. We’re glad you enjoyed our newly renovated guest accommodations, the stellar service our dedicated staff provided and the thoughtful special touches set throughout the Inn for our guests. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back during your next visit to the Upper Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Everybody we came in contact with was courteous and down to earth. The renovation is beautiful and everything is really clean. Can't wait to see what they do with the new bar and main dining area. The location right in the heart of town and the edge of the Dartmouth campus cannot be beat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your heartfelt review of your experience at the Hanover Inn at Dartmouth. We’re delighted you enjoyed our newly renovated boutique hotel accommodations at the Hanover Inn, located in the heart of the Upper Valley overlooking the Dartmouth Green. We are excited to unveil our new restaurant, Pine, this spring and hope you’ll return to dine with us. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We loved the hotel and the location. Wish it could be more affordable. There were many nice amenities for those that could afford the price for a stay at the inn. What I would call "a real treat" compared to chain hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of the Hanover Inn at Dartmouth. Our recently renovated Inn offers a unique blend of historic charm and modern amenities that provide our guests with a truly elevated hotel experience. It is certainly important that our guests consider the Inn to be a value which is why we offer a number of special packages with discounted rates and complimentary amenities on our website. We hope you’ll take a look before booking your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
352 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I attended a conference here, but, the hotel puts out the red carpet for guests, even those not staying the night.

The hotel has been fully renovated. Ate lunch in the hotel restaurant mid-day. Great soup, very good burger and fish and chips at our table. Huge portions.

Lobby was first-class. Put out a pitcher of water for all guests, who didn't want to leave in 6 degree January Hanover weather.

The decor is fabulous. Renovation was completed in the last year or so.

The Hanover Inn is a great feature of Hanover, NH. So if you are visiting, check it out. I really liked that the Hanover Inn's new basement level (great conference rooms) connects to the Hopkins art center (e.g., Top of the Hop). So there is a fireplace, lots of areas to sit and take in the campus view, or to go eat -- there's a full restaurant/coffee shop downstairs at the Hopkins, all without going outside. That's important in January.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredTravelVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of the Hanover Inn at Dartmouth. We strive to deliver an exceptional guest experience, whether you’re visiting for the day or you’re an overnight guest, so we’re truly pleased this was your observation. Your acknowledgement of our extensive renovations and newly unveiled decor, accommodations and amenities are greatly appreciated. Our meeting rooms offer unmatched conference services and event spaces in the Upper Valley. We hope to welcome you back during your next business or leisure trip to Hanover.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Nice staff, clean, great location. Would like to see parking included, as it was fairly pricey at 249.00 per night and i stayed 2 nights..the had no access to the auto.. Loved the Dartmouth collegiate details in the room. Very comfortable bed and bedding. Poor pressure in toilets, had problems all weekend.
Apples all over hotel nice touch,no coffee maker or fridge, should at least have a fridge in room.. Also, the closet was an 8 inch bar in only half the closet, so there was no room to hang more than a few items, and that was a very strange, poor design.

Room Tip: Be sure the toilet works, ours did not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for providing your feedback. While we’re pleased you enjoyed many of the details of our recent renovation, we deeply regret if any aspect of your stay was amiss. Guests are encouraged to reach out to our associates if we can do anything to improve their experience and we wish we had the opportunity to do so while you were visiting with us. Our staff has been alerted to your comments regarding your accommodations and will further investigate to ensure everything is functioning optimally. Compact refrigerators are available to be placed in guest rooms upon request. We invite you to visit our newly redesigned website to view special offers and discounted rates before you book your next stay, which we certainly hope is soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very nice hotel. Loved the bowls of apples everywhere, and the cookies at the front desk. Also liked the dark washcloth for makeup. Staff were very helpful with recommendations. No coffee maker or bar fridge in the room, but there was coffee in the lobby. Very good room service breakfast. Parking was offsite via valet, so it was a little frustrating not having ready access to the stuff I left in the car. Nice views of the campus and surrounding hills. Clean, new, comfortable beds, and good tv.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fleminski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing thoughts from your recent stay with us. It is a delight to read how much you appreciated our newly renovated Inn, especially the special touches we thoughtfully provide for our guests’ convenience and enjoyment. Your kind acknowledgement of our in-room dining, views of Dartmouth College and helpful staff are a joy to read. We would like to let you know that compact refrigerators can be placed in guest rooms upon request, based on availability. It is our hope that you’ll return for another stay at the Hanover Inn at Dartmouth very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
0.1 mi away
Six South St Hotel
Six South St Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hanover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
2.6 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Hanover Lebanon
5.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanover Inn Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanover Inn Dartmouth

Property: Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Address: 2 E Wheelock St, Hanover, NH 03755-1549
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hanover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanover Inn Dartmouth 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1780, the Hanover Inn Dartmouth offers 108 distinctive guest rooms with all the modern conveniences of a world-class hotel. Located in the “Heart of Hanover” and the only hotel on the Dartmouth College campus, the Hanover Inn enjoys a unique opportunity to serve our guests. Whether you’re traveling for business or pleasure, you’ll find the accommodations at the Hanover Inn are ideal for comfort and convenience, with luxurious furnishings and contemporary amenities. Enjoy a variety of dining options along with state of the art technology in our conference and meeting center, exquisite wedding and event locations, complimentary wireless internet and Ethernet accessibility along with an extensive health club facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hanover Inn Dartmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanover Inn At Dartmouth College Hotel Hanover
At Darmouth College Hanover
Hanover Hotel At Darmouth College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing