We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you want a B&B to be!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trumbull House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hanover B&B and Inns
Boston area
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything you want a B&B to be!”
Reviewed March 18, 2010

My husband and I made reservations at the Trumbull House simply because of its proximity to a concert we wanted to attend at the Lebanon Opera House, but I would put it at the top of my list of great B&B experiences. Hilary was welcoming and accommodating and let us make ourselves at home. The house and grounds were beautiful, even on a rainy March weekend. Our room (Terra Cotta) was tasteful, clean and bright. The sheets and bed were remarkably comfortable. Breakfast included fresh scones and berries and we were given our choice of about ten breakfast entrees from a menu, all gourmet including ingredients like brie cheese, fresh basil, and smoked salmon. The couple with whom we ate breakfast were regulars who come up from the Boston area for weekend getaways. I will definitely be looking for more excuses to return to the Hanover area so I can take advantage of this lovely inn!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    11
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
50
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

For many years, I spent Thanksgiving with family at The Trumbull House. My husband and I always stayed in the Yellow Room on the top floor. By far my favorite part of this room is the sleeping alcove. I have always said that I like sleeping in a cave, and this is perfect. It's warm and cozy in there - some of the soundest sleep I can recall (I tend to wake up easily). The room is always quiet, and it feels so private being up on the top floor. The innkeeper, Hilary, cooks a wonderful breakfast to order every morning. The common room feels like a real living room, with a fireplace, a comfy couch, and large comfy chairs. I'd love to have a good excuse to visit The Trumbull House again. I live in North Carolina now, but surely there's SOME excuse to go back.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbyladybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Just a little bit out of town, but worth the short drive.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jboggess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

I stayed at Trumbull House for one night in August, 2009. My reservation was scheduled extremely last-minute, but the owners were completely welcoming and organized upon my arrival.

I stayed in the "White Room," which was very large and comfortable. It had a pretty four poster bed (see photo) and a good sized bathroom. Lots of windows. The bed was very comfortable.

The breakfast was good! Fresh baked muffins and eggs any way I wanted. The house has a nice common area/living room that I didn't take advantage of, but seemed lovely.

They have a business center computer with internet that was reliable and good speed. This was quite nice, as I was traveling on business and didn't have to use my blackberry.

All in all, a great B&B. About 10 minutes from Hanover, it would be a good alternative for Dartmouth visitors.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelgirl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
2 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2009

A fabulous breakfast, great conversation, and gorgeous rooms. True New England hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NhKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2009

Hilary is a terrific innkeeper and runs a great business that in no way feels like a business for her guests. The house is charming, and there were several highlights packed into my one night stay. She recommended a great trail for a short hike once I got there that led from the property to the Appalachian trail. And also sent me to a restaurant in town where I had dinner that surpassed all expectations for a discerning NYC diner. I also left my tie there accidentally and Hilary not only contacted me about it, but happily sent it to me in the mail first thing. And I am still craving the cozy fire at night and the delicious muffins at breakfast with warm jam inside. Just a great stay overall that relaxed me for an interview the next day. Hope to get back up there soon.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muggsy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayman Islands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2009

We stayed here as part of a 2 week holiday in New England. The house is lovely and the grounds beautiful - we wandered around the gardens and even tried to shoot a few hoops on the basketball court out the back. There are 2 extremely friendly cats who hung out with us at the basketball court and a cute dog as well. The room was very nice and clean and breakfasts were delicious. The B&B is a little way out of the actual town of Hanover, but I quite liked the countryside setting and it was only a 5 minute drive into the town. The town of Hanover is very pretty and though small, it has a good mix of shops, cafes and restaurants and is quite lively. There is a great pub in the town (Murphy's) which does good food. The owner of the B&B is very friendly and the place has a nice relaxed atmosphere - we felt very at home and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
3.1 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
454 reviews
3.0 mi away
Six South St Hotel
Six South St Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hanover
267 reviews
1.9 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
6.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
353 reviews
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Hanover Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trumbull House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trumbull House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Trumbull House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 40 Etna Rd, Hanover, NH 03755-3120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hanover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trumbull House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trumbull House B&B offers luxury country lodging just four miles from Dartmouth College and three miles from the Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center. The first and finest B&B in Hanover has six spacious rooms with private baths, sumptuous breakfasts served when you wish, complimentary 24-hour access to our Business Center and high-speed wireless Internet access throughout house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Trumbull House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing