We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Canoe Club

Canoe Club
Ranked #9 of 39 Restaurants in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

I bring clients here for a nice quiet lunch from time to time, recommend the french dip and the chef salad. Had never been for dinner until recently. Dining room was full so we sat at a table in the bar area. Great beer selection, young woman who waited on us was very professional. Food was a great surprise, creative and fresh. We shared an appetizer, an Asian calamari, that was fantastic. My wife loved a vegetarian pasta. Salads, entrees and drinks, were all reasonably priced. It was busy and casual, we had a great time, and certainly will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Doylehargreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    96
    39
    23
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Puttin' on the Dog”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This place works hard to try to look like it's "in." Can be crowded. Seems to me there's more effort into having clever dishes with trendy menuese than food that is actually great. Popular place, but may just be the herd effect. I think they could do a better job by cooling it a bit on trying to do trendy things that don't quite work as well as billed. All this aside, however, still a decent place to be seen and one that will seem like a good place to take not-too-critical visitors.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, MI
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth going for a nice dinner”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We went here, Pine, and Molly's while visiting Dartmouth. I have nothing negative to say about Canoe Club. Enjoyed the cheese plate and dessert, entrees were very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoffmanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Vermont
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Try the cheese plate”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Entrees are pricey, but a glass of wine, salad and splitting the cheese plate with a good friend makes for a lovely light meal. The host was most gracious and stopped by to chat or recommend a place to go in South Beach.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Too pricey and nothing to show for it!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We went there for dinner. The food was just mediocre for the price. Pad Thai with chicken was terrible. Service was nothing to rave about. Their mark up on wine is too much. Their chocolate sampler dessert for $7 was a rip off. It had four very small pieces, each twice the size of a jellybean. The waitress could not even properly name the flavors. I will never go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canoe Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing