We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Canoe Club - my new favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Canoe Club

Canoe Club
Ranked #9 of 39 Restaurants in Hanover
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Fairlee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Canoe Club - my new favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great place for lunch and dinner, or relax at the bar and take in the ambiance of a traditional canoe club. Extensive menu with daily specials, attentive service, generous portions. Great wine list and selection of beer and ale, including microbrews. Music in the evening is just right, not a distraction. Request a table by the front window and watch people headed to and from the Dartmouth campus or shopping. Tell the server you’re headed to a movie or event and they’ll be sure you’re served and on your way in time. They make you feel welcome there - that’s why I go whenever I’m in town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FairleeBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    91
    39
    22
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NE PA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Small but interesting menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

The atmosphere on a Saturday night was upbeat and lively. Our waiter was friendly and the service was good. Our food was also good, but not amazing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mamabNePa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“going down hill”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

had the mussels they were overcooked under seasoned and came topped with french fries from a freezer ! for my entree had a burger because everything else seemed to risky after the mussels. ordered my burger mr and got med, the roll was good and if the cheese was melted on my burger that would have been good too. the waitstaff have always been good /helpfull.it seems like the canoe club goes up and down foodwise.pretty sure the mussels and burger have been on the menu from the start, thats a long time to get something right.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eltoro70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River Junction
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food, good atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I love going to the Canoe club with the med students. It is a good time with a bright and lively atmosphere and great food. We go for drinks or a long lunch or dinner with parents or family friends.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Nice Restaurant with Live Music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This restaurant is cozy, somewhat eclectic and offers a limited menu. I found the service to be good at the bar on a recent visit and the hamburger with swiss, grilled onions and peppers was done perfectly. Being concerned with my weight, I was pleased that an available side of a very nice mixed greens salad was the third option to fries and sweet potato fries. Always someone in there playing the piano and sometimes singing but the music does not interrupt normal conversation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TEH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canoe Club also viewed

 

Been to Canoe Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing