We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to go”
Review of Dirt Cowboy Cafe

Dirt Cowboy Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Description: Individually brewed coffees. Full espresso menu. Coffees roasted daily. Home-made pastries and desserts. Light-fare lunch menu. Home-made ice creams and gelato. Home-made confections. Large smoothie menu made with our own frozen yogurt and fresh fruit. Juice Bar.
Restaurant details
Description: Individually brewed coffees. Full espresso menu. Coffees roasted daily. Home-made pastries and desserts. Light-fare lunch menu. Home-made ice creams and gelato. Home-made confections. Large smoothie menu made with our own frozen yogurt and fresh fruit. Juice Bar.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“THE place to go”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Packed solid with the academic crowd from Dartmouth. People wait for tables and sit shoulder-to-shoulder to get good cafe fare. We were taken here by a friend attending Dartmouth while visiting colleges with our teens. Clearly the place to go to get a feel for the culture of the campus and town. And good food to boot. Sits in a prime location just near the corner of campus at the top of the main street of shops. Very casual.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 75205Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    44
    18
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“classic coffee shop”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

If you are looking for a classic coffee shop near Dartmouth College, look no further. In addition to hot beverages, you can also get a bakery type snack or a bagel sandwich. No wifi, but there is wifi nearby so it might "leak" in if you are lucky. Very cozy, fun place.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pbs142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best coffee, muffins, and gelato in Hanover!”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

After spending a month in Hanover, my favorite place to visit is definitely Dirt Cowboy Cafe. From lattes in the morning (with a free muffin before 9 am) to gelato in the late afternoon, everything I have tasted has been excellent. Okay, the gelato is truly the best I have had outside of Italy; my favorite combination is coconut and hazelnut chocolate. The service is always friendly and efficient. I'll miss this place.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee40222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Just a great place to sit and enjoy a good cup of coffee and a great pastry or bagel. Love the academic feel and relaxed atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Akcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good cup of Joe”
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Excellent coffee and good pastries. We make this spot a habit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flit_Wing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dirt Cowboy Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Dirt Cowboy Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing