We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first rate”

Murphy's On The Green
Ranked #6 of 39 Restaurants in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Murphy's on the Green - Exceptional Food in Hanover, New Hampshire *** Murphy's is very LOCAL. We purchase almost all of our meat, produce, dairy and bread products from our many high quality Upper Valley Farms and purveyors and we appeal to the new 'locavore' movement... eating and purchasing food within 100 miles of your location. Our 'day boat' seafood comes 'hand picked' from the docks of Boston. We are proud members of the Vermont Food Network.
ks
1 review
“first rate”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I was in town on business and ate at the Canoe Club the day before. I had the pork/beef chili covered in cheese which was very good. As an appetizer I ordered baked sweet potato fires which were good. I considered ordering steak, but as I am from a part of the country known for steaks I chose the salmon with mashed potatoes with a sauce ( i believe was avocado based). This was truly outstanding 10/10. The service was decent. The owner, a gregarious man, Nigel, introduced himself and asked about my dinner. I am sure the restaurant benefits from his engagement.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jwhiteman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    107
    39
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Better than "polished casual"”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The sign outside the restaurant states it is polished casual...don't be fooled - it is way better than that! It was casual, polished and extraordinary! We had the seafood special, mussels for an appetizer and shared our dessert of mango sorbet and flourless chocolate cake - yummy!

We get to Hanover and the Vermont area once a year and make sure we eat at Murphy's. Noticed the owner "Nigel" walking around speaking and laughing with customers and employees - as he did with us when checking on our meal. Thank you!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevelamotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Haven, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Casual dining and good food”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The restaurant was able to seat our large group easily and the service was excellent. Prices are reasonable and the food is very good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Overpriced boring menu”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We ate there as a party of six adults. Menu was overpriced to say the least, minimal creativity.
Burgers were delicious, nacho platter had a sour taste and mushy pureed beans spread on the bottom of plate...

$1.00 each for a half wing, wow and they were overcooked and dry with 4 pieces of celery.

I realize it's in Hanover, NH but it's not a foodie destination, thank goodness there are other options in that town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vtseason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food. Super service.”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just returned from our second dinner at Murphy's and, once again, we were not disappointed. For a bar/restaurant, the menu is surprisingly inventive. The salad - heirloom tomato with fresh mixed greens and burrata cheese - was a fresh, healthy choice without sacrificing taste. The perfectly portioned entrees were also super tasty. The server and host were friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable. With our daughter about to enter her freshman year at Dartmouth, we will be frequent diners at Murphy's.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AGP512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murphy's On The Green also viewed

 
White River Junction, Hartford
 

Been to Murphy's On The Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing