We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Dollar Margs”

Molly's Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #3 of 39 Restaurants in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2 Dollar Margs”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Go for their $2 margs, they're so good and the service is always fantastic! The food is really tasty. The wait is always really long so be sure to call ahead - it's not the same as a reservation but they'll put you on the list and have you'll be higher on the list when you get there. The bar scene could be better because their bar area is pretty small, but going for dinner and drinks is a blast.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cokeefe321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    230
    58
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good, satisfying food”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Molly's is a favorite restaurant for typically above average good food for the area. Every table gets warm, fresh bread with honey butter which is a wonderful starter. The menu is diverse, the atmosphere is fun, popular among college students, and cosy on cold evenings. Service is usually pleasant and prompt. The restaurant is often crowded and it can be noisy in the bar area. There are tables outside for al fresco dining in the summer. Every now and then, a meal is a disappointment but it's infrequent. Overall, an enjoyable place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
1 review
“We had fun...”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Had a small birthday celebration at Molly's recently. Everyone enjoyed the food: the cheese bread and maple butter went fast, awesome artichoke dip, good Cobb salad, tasty tuna app, good turkey burgers, and they pour a good drink, especially the special birthday margarita for the bday girl. Be careful you don't try to eat the cedar plank if you get the salmon. It's a bit tough. Our server Tryg was fantastic - funny, attentive, and he found a candle and lighter for us.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average Burgers”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Let us begin saying that Hanover does not have a vast variety of places where to eat, and it is for this reason that one would expect something more from these few restaurants. The burger was decent, not the best I ever had, the service was average, nothing less nothing more. One of those very forgettable places I would say!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Francescotisei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Thetford, Vermont, United States
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently Good.”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We've lived and dined in the Upper Valley for 14 years. As a rule most places have mediocre food, ambivalent to poor service, and are notably chilly in the winter months.

But the reason for this review is an exception. Molly's is a favorite with us. It is the one place we can consistently have good food and good service. There is usually a 10-15 minute wait so we are not the only ones who know this. The whole menu is good. The Baked Mac n Cheese (I know, you can eat this at home) is amazing. My usual order is the Fish Tacos, which are great. Pizza, great. My kids love the fries which are coated and crisp.

Two nights ago at Molly's, Tryg waited on us and was prompt, attentive and friendly, which seems to be somewhat rare. If the manager had been in on Tuesday we would have told him/her the same. Hopefully they read this.

Molly's in Hanover....recommended.

Disclaimer: I have no interest or ties to Molly's other enjoying a few meals there. I do feel props are due when a business lives up to and/or exceeds expectations.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molly's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
White River Junction, Hartford
 

Been to Molly's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing