We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Breakfast, great location”

Lou's Restaurant and Bakery
Ranked #2 of 39 Restaurants in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: A tradition since 1947 serving Breakfast All Day and Lunch. Full service bakery featuring cakes, pies, donuts, cookies and seasonal specials. Proud to be a Certified Green Restaurant with a focus on locally sourced ingredients. Menu features gluten free, vegetarian and vegan specials. Dining Room opened until 3pm daily and bakery until 5pm.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
422 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast, great location”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Dropped in Saturday morning about 2 minutes before the long line formed. :^) Timing is everything. Food was terrific, service was terrific, pricing was very reasonable for the quality, and the special was _special_. Go and enjoy!
Bonus - the waitress knew what 'Gluten Free' was, and knew the contents of every menu item we considered! Big Tip Winner!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    123
    35
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, New Hampshire
1 review
“Hearty, tasty fare”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Bakery is terrific. Breakfast options very good. Arrive early and expect to wait in line on the weekends.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always a good breakfast”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Lou's is dependable and always has great service. Their specials are interesting and their standards are yummy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank miche340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good lunch”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stopped here on our way to northern New Hampshire. Our waitress was terrific and the food very good as well. After lunch you can walk around the beautiful Dartmouth campus. A great stop.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cptripz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
147 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“An old resto with a lot of history but too noisy for me”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This resto started since 1947 so it's been there for a long time and is an load favourite. However the place was just too noisy for me with undergrads talking really loudly. It was crowded so biz must be very good. Had the pulled pork sandwich (not bad) and spinach salad w fruits (not bad too). The pies look good but I didn't hv stomach space - do try the strawberry rubbhard pie which is in season now. Oh, I found it strange that we had to pay at the entrance and this meant leaving tips for our server with the cashier?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hedgiebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lou's Restaurant and Bakery also viewed

 
White River Junction, Hartford
 

Been to Lou's Restaurant and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing