We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Not-to-Miss Restaurant in Hanover”
Review of Pine

Pine
Reserve with OpenTable
Pine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 39 Restaurants in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in scenic Hanover NH, across from the Dartmouth Green, PINE is an American restaurant incorporating a farm-to-table philosophy, utilizing the bounty of ingredients available in and around New England. Created by acclaimed Chef-Restaurateur Michael Schlow, PINE features approachable, well-executed dishes that focus on local and sustainable New England products. The kitchen is run under the watchful eye of talented chef, Justin Dain.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Not-to-Miss Restaurant in Hanover”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

I am often suspect of hotel restaurants, so I was a bit wary before dining at Pine, which is located in the lobby of the Hanover Inn.

Any biases I quickly left behind, once I had our first (of many!) dinners at the restaurant.

The quality of ingredients is high, with many sourced locally. The menu, which changes frequently, offers options likely to suit any diner. Our son had the filet mignon and declared it the "best dinner" he had ever had!

The restaurant, renovated with the last few years, is charming and warm. Each time we were in there the place was full, with a good feeling of fun and vitality.

To my knowledge, there is not better restaurant in Hanover.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    85
    27
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnetka, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

The rustic played against elegant, sophisticated in the best way design is worth a visit just by itself. The food is equally outstanding. Recommend the tomato-fennel soup, in particular

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SallySG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
98 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“GO. NOW. Amazing Food, Flawless Service, Best Cocktails GREAT VIBE!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

My husband and I had dinner at Pine after strolling downtown and viewing the menus of the restaurants along Main St. While Canoe Club restaurant tempted us, we ultimately chose Pine. Besides, we were staying overnight in the Hanover Inn, so why not? The ambience is romantic and yet fun. A great mix of people -- from hipsters to seniors. You definitely need a reservation.
We shared an app of fresh gnocchi with fresh oeas, bacon, shsllots and pecorino cheese. To die for. The fresh bread and salted butter were offered and delivered promptly. Our cocktails...my husband is very fussy about his Manhattan, and was delighted with the one he got. I ordered the Smoke and Flowers cocktail, which csme rimmed with smoked salt. Heavenly. Is there any way i can get the recipe??
For our meals, we both ordered the bistro steak which was accompanied by jalapeño relish, yummy seasoned fries, and a Demi local baby greens salad...all beautifully presented. We ordered another round of drinks, and regretfully had to skip dessert because we were full. The communication among the hostess station and the service staff is spot-on. I had mentioned that we had a 7 pm appointment to the reservationist and when presenting the dessert menu, our server said " i understand you need to make a 7 pm appointment... But take a look and perhaps come by afterwards." We did, in fact, go back for a night cap at 10:30,,, the place was hopping! Put Pine on the top of your MUST GO THERE list....if it weren't a 2 hr drive from our home, we would be there often! Please....can i have that drink recipe??
Pine does intimate and cozy tables a deux, as well as long tables of friends with equal aplomb. Go. Now.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank lynnz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ladies' at Lunch”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Lunch at the Pine was a perfect end to a very exciting and busy morning, Huge, fresh salads, crisp, warm rolls, soups and sandwiches and fabulous wait service. This is a wonderful restaurant with a full service bar. A must try.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ReenL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

My family and I dined here while visiting my son at Dartmouth. Great service, atmosphere and food. Try the scallops - delicious!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scfamily05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pine also viewed

 

Been to Pine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing