We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent in every detail”
Review of Pine

Pine
Reserve with OpenTable
Pine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 39 Restaurants in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in scenic Hanover NH, across from the Dartmouth Green, PINE is an American restaurant incorporating a farm-to-table philosophy, utilizing the bounty of ingredients available in and around New England. Created by acclaimed Chef-Restaurateur Michael Schlow, PINE features approachable, well-executed dishes that focus on local and sustainable New England products. The kitchen is run under the watchful eye of talented chef, Justin Dain.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
“excellent in every detail”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted and seated without delay. Our waiter was obviously experienced and knowledgeable of the fare and the extensive wine list. He helped us choose an excellent dry wine that complimented our halibut and scallop entrees. These were perfectly cooked and presented on beds of fresh and crisp vegetables, asparagus and sauteed spinach respectively. The scallops were complimented by a delicious sauce lightly seasoned with curry, new to me with scallops, and most enjoyable. The portions were just right and accommodated a sampling of several desserts that were creative, beautifully constructed, and comparable to the best I have tasted. I would readily recommend Pine at the Hanover Inn in Hanover NH for a memorable meal

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    85
    27
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Sophisticated offerings, overcooked halibut, active scene”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was a large group gathering of about 20 speakers and organizers of a symposium, so it required a lot of effort on the part of the Pine staff. They handled the group well.

The downside, which is typical w/a group of this size, is that some dishes, like the halibut which four of us had, was overcooked. The wine selection is good but not great. The salad was OK, but way "underdressed" and sparse. The ahi appetizer was excellent. The bread was tasty, but cold. Several dishes showed some real sophistication.

This was a Friday night and it was a very active, and busy scene, esp at/near the bar. This is not inexpensive, but can be very good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NeuroscienceYogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy J, General Manager at Pine, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for directing your symposium’s group dinner to PINE. We truly appreciate the gracious comments about the PINE staff and how well they handled the service for such a large group. Your feedback is instrumental in helping us to improve the overall quality in PINE. I have shared your comments with our Executive Chef and Restaurant Manager to ensure that all food items come out to the correct temperature and doneness.

We look forward to welcoming you and your group back to PINE the next time your travels take you to Hanover.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
122 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Upscale prices, downscale food”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant adds little to the poor hanover food scene. Under dressed salad, with nothing but greens, cold (but good) bread, mediocre vegetarian selections, good fish with cold accompanying grain, limited wine selections, expensive prices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ronnie63_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy J, General Manager at Pine, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments, as all of our guests’ experiences are extremely important to us. We welcome feedback, both positive and negative in order to continuously improve the dining experience we provide at PINE. Please accept our sincere apologies for not exceeding your expectations with your past dining experience with us. Your comments have been shared with both our Executive Chef and Management Team to ensure that the meals are served at the appropriate temperature and seasoned appropriately. We truly hope that you will allow us the opportunity to prove to you why PINE is the best dining establishment throughout the Upper Valley. We look forward to welcoming you back to PINE in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Maine
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional Meal and Dining Experience”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Only come here if you want exceptional food and outstanding service. While other highly rated restaurants in town have menus with a more casual focus, Pine offers a wonderful choice of sophisticated dishes. Most impressive was the way the chef combined innovated ingredients and tastes without overwhelming the main flavor. The avocado brushetta, with the tiny crunch of jalapeno, and the grilled calamari with the roasted cherry tomatoes were perfect examples of this. Both the veal tenderloin and the lamb loin entrees were equally luscious. And the service - perfect. From the woman who rearranged tables to find us a table, to Marylou, our server, we received warm, personal, and exceptional service. Our server really understood the tastes of each of the dishes, and was able to answer all of our questions. This was a perfect evening, and Pine now ranks among our top 10 foodie experiences.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
122 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Upscale prices, low scale food,”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

You pay for the atmosphere here, not the quality of the food. And the price is steep. In a town where good food is a rarity, this restaurant promised more than it delivers. Underdressed salad, mediocre vegetarian selections, delicious salmon over cold cous cous. And can't you bring the bread to the table warm? Why wrap it in a napkin if its cold . Disappointing!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ronnie63_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing