We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, but beware if you pay by credit card!”
Review of Salubre Trattoria - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Salubre Trattoria
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but beware if you pay by credit card!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We have eaten here many times , and the food continues to be excellent and occasionally creative. However, when we visited recently they added 5% to our bill when they ran the credit card. The waiter pointed out to us an explanation which was in the check folder, which we had not noticed. They will add a surcharge to the bill if you pay by credit card, and the amount they add depends on what kind of credit card you use. There is no way to tell beforehand how much they will charge you. When we complained, they voided the charge and we paid with cash.
This put a damper on what had been a most pleasant experience. If they don't want their customers to use a credit card, they should just have a cash only policy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryS40, Owner at Salubre Trattoria, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for letting us be of service, it was a pleasure(until now) to have you come and enjoy our space.

As for the credit cards: As more and more cards offer travel miles, 2 and 3 percent back, etc. this is what you may not realize......the small business you use your card at is paying those benefits. The credit card discounts small businesses pay is unsustainable. When you consider that we pay up to 5% of gross income, that includes taxes collected and gratuities in addition to the food and beverage you purchase.

Now Congress, the first of last year, recognizing this issue, passed legislation that allows small business to charge credit customers this discount fee. So you will find it becoming more common place, in small and large businesses, your accountant, doctor, repair shop, gas stations, etc.

Of course our policy is printed on our menu, and additionally explained in the check presentation folder. And you are right, we are a cash business, but we do as a service, a convenience allow our customers to use their charge card.

Now I offered to pay your discount fee the other night, since you where unaware, even offered you a stamped envelope, trusting you would send a check. Sorry that you still felt it necessary to blast us on the net.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    4
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nh
Level Contributor
220 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“my favorite restaurant in Hanover”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

cozy atmosphere, varied and excellent nouveau Italian food, great bread and olive paste spread that can fill you right up before any other food arrives, because it is so good….excellent wait staff. A very small bar if you want to sit and have a glass of wine and a couple of appetizers.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank NHethel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Haven, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Italian Hideaway Worth Discovering”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This little restaurant is tucked away in the lower level of a building in the center of Hanover. If you didn't know about it, you might miss it. My son was determined to find a good Italian restaurant in Hanover and he did. It's a little easier getting a table at Salubre than other more well known restaurants in town, but as people discover this little Italian gem, reservations are sure to be tougher to get. There always seems to be a few seasonal offerings on the menu as well as the pastas my son loves. Our meals have been delicious and the service has been excellent. We always make sure to get a couple orders of truffle fries for the table - I'm a sucker for truffle anything and these fries don't disappoint! Salubre has become one of our favorite restaurants in Hanover.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Vermont
Level Contributor
155 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“An excellent Italian trattoria - and a great bargain Sunday evenings”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Four of us ate recently at Salubre. As before, the food was excellent. I had delicious french fries cooked with truffle oil plus side of aioli as starter; large country salad with lush tomatoes, mozzarella & pesto; plus special barley risotto with truffle oil & shiitake mushrooms. Companions shared the fries and loved their calamari and other risottos/pastas.

Our server was new on the job - full of energy and smiles and quick to serve; she did well.

The amazing thing was that, if one asks, there is a "Date Night Special" for Sunday evenings: a starter plus salad or soup plus a half order of risotto or pasta plus a glass of house wine (quite nice). We had more than enough to eat. This is the Date Night Special - 2 people for all the above is $50 total plus gratuity and tax (Only on Sundays). A wonderful bargain!

A minor drawback is that the restaurant is in a medium size room, with small bar, in the lower level of a retail building: no windows or street views, but the walls are painted most attractively in blocks of colors. And, at least with the restaurant half full, the sound level was very good for talking. My take is that this moderate-rent space allows Salubre to provide great food at reasonable prices - and this Sunday bargain.

One unusual practice: there is a 2 - 2.5% surcharge for using credit cards.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterBrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting Italian.”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

The wait at Molly 's was too long, so we walked down the street to this basement Itallian. We tried the "date night menu" -two appetizers, two salads or soups, two small pastas dishes and two glasses of house wine for $50. Not bad at all and a nice chance to sample their wares. The quinoa cakes were good, as was the calamari, which had sort of a tempura twist to it. The pasta seemed home made and the sauces were creative.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salubre Trattoria also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing