We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, enjoyable stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Six South St Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Six South St Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, enjoyable stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the SSS hotel for 3 days in late December 2013 as we were attending a women's basketball tournament at Dartmouth. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel - rooms are spacious and comfortable. The staff and valet are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is 2 blocks from the Dartmouth campus and about 4 blocks from the Dartmouth sports arenas. There is a great bakery and sandwich shop across the street from the hotel, a good fire brick oven pizza place a block down the street and several additional restaurants (Molly's is recommended) and shops a block away on Main Street. Parking costs $18 per night at the hotel but you can park at a garage next door which is free overnights and on Sundays.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Aroon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hello in Plano, TX!
Thank you so much for the detailed review. We agree, Ramunto's Pizza (http://ramuntospizza.com/) and Umpleby's (http://www.umplebys.com/) are great choices for local restaurants and are just across the street from the hotel.
Sadly, it is true, the majority of parking in Hanover is paid, but you are right, if you're willing to endure a little inconvenience, you can find some less expensive alternatives to our valet option. Town of Hanover Parking Garage (http://www.hanovernh.org/Pages/HanoverNH_Parking/map.pdf) charges $15 per day as compared to our $18 fee.
Again, thank you so much for your feedback, it was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    86
    12
    1
    4
See reviews for
106
46
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hancock, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

I had a really nice one-night stay here and loved it. The staff is helpful and friendly and the hotel is perfectly situated for a walk around town and the adjoining Dartmouth College campus. The rates are great too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hello Mr. LeBlanc. Thank you for your kind response. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed our convenient location in downtown Hanover. Even though we're a small town, it is always fun to take a short walk down Main Street to "The Green." We look forward to having you join us again in the near future. Happy New Year!

Regards,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

this place is retro/cool and staff is awesome! Alli the bartender, server, cook, and anything else the company tosses her way is fantastic! give her a raise and keep her unless I will steal her away and take her to Napa with me! lol just joking!! but this place rocks...the hotel is well kept!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you Michael G for the kind words. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to experience how nice it is to have staff who are cross trained in many areas so that they can help you throughout your stay. We look forward to seeing you back the next time you visit from Napa!

Regards,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
239 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Sure, this is a cheaper alternative to the Hanover Inn. The lady receptionist was really pleasant. However, there are a couple of areas that mirror that lower price. Its 3 blocks from the ‘Green’, so location is slightly less ideal. The lobby isn’t as nice. There’s no doorman. The rooms slightly smaller and overall don’t look as good as the Hanover Inn’s rooms. Bathrooms are fine but not as clean as the competition. There were a number of large dogs with other guests, which surprised us.

The deal breaker for us is the issue of hot water for showers…there was none! My spouse was livid that there was no hot water for her shower; it was only lukewarm. It wasn’t isolated to our room; relatives of ours also stayed in the hotel that same night; they too only had lukewarm water for their showers. They complained to the desk but didn’t get anywhere. My spouse initially wanted to make a complaint at the desk, but in the end she didn’t bother and simply wanted to leave.
Is the cheaper price worth it? That’s an individual decision. For us, it’s back to the other place in Hanover.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IT-Expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear IT Expert,

I'm so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I can only imagine how disappointing it was to wake up to a cold shower. The good news is that when you reported this during your stay, our maintenance person was able to fix the issue and get it back up and running within 30 minutes. Sadly, we cannot go back in time, but I did want to let you know everything is in order now.

We are proud to be a pet friendly hotel. We are always happy to speak to guests to take their dogs aside when concerned guests are in the lobby. We find that this is an enjoyable part of our hotel to be able to meet and greet our furry friends.

I did MapQuest "The Green" and it is 0.29 miles from our hotel. Most guests enjoy the short stroll down our quaint main street past the shops and restaurants. But we understand that all travelers have different preferences and we thank you for sharing yours.

We wish you the best in your future travels to Hanover. Again, we are sorry we did not meet your needs.

Regards,
Jennifer Sargent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC area
Level Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Maybe that's not a fair title to this review but I think that's how most of us look at this hotel. It's actually a very nice alternative to The Hanover Inn and sometimes you can get a room here for a lot less than anywhere else. The hotel is fresh, modern and in a great location. OK, there's no history to it but you will still enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlakeNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello BlakeNYC! The good news is we're your 1st choice for a hotel when the "historic" hotel next door is sold out. We love our new hotel and are happy to hear you enjoy it as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for sharing. Regards, Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel is quite new with a fresh contemporary decor. The people at the front desk and valet service try very hard to be pleasant and efficient. They treated us like special guests and our overall impression was excellent. I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hello Dominique from RI. We greatly appreciate the time you took to share your positive feedback with Trip Advisor. We love our front desk & valet crew and are happy to hear you enjoyed your interactions with them as well. The key is to hire happy people who love what they do, then the rest comes easy. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Best, Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

SSS is pretty new, but the staff has its act together. The style is very modern, but rooms are large and comfortable. Very nice bathrooms, although shower only, no tub. Would stay here again. Centrally located.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hello Bill from New Jersey. Thank you so much for your kind words. I'm so glad you were able to take time to share your feedback with future visitors. One note, we do have bathtubs in our double queen rooms, but, not in our single king rooms. Just in case you'd like to request that in the future. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Regards, Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
0.1 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
2.6 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Hanover Lebanon
5.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six South St Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six South St Hotel

Property: Six South St Hotel
Address: 6 South St, Hanover, NH 03755-2101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hanover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Six South St Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanover's new downtown boutique hotel, just steps from Dartmouth College. Bistro at Six restaurant serves breakfast daily. Dinner served Monday-Saturday. Livey,upscale lounge for cocktails. Valet parking. An "uptown" hotel in downtown Hanover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Six South St Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 South St Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing