We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to just relax”
Review of Six South St Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Six South St Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2013

this place is retro/cool and staff is awesome! Alli the bartender, server, cook, and anything else the company tosses her way is fantastic! give her a raise and keep her unless I will steal her away and take her to Napa with me! lol just joking!! but this place rocks...the hotel is well kept!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you Michael G for the kind words. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to experience how nice it is to have staff who are cross trained in many areas so that they can help you throughout your stay. We look forward to seeing you back the next time you visit from Napa!

Regards,
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 290 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

Sure, this is a cheaper alternative to the Hanover Inn. The lady receptionist was really pleasant. However, there are a couple of areas that mirror that lower price. Its 3 blocks from the ‘Green’, so location is slightly less ideal. The lobby isn’t as nice. There’s no doorman. The rooms slightly smaller and overall don’t look as good as the Hanover Inn’s rooms. Bathrooms are fine but not as clean as the competition. There were a number of large dogs with other guests, which surprised us.

The deal breaker for us is the issue of hot water for showers…there was none! My spouse was livid that there was no hot water for her shower; it was only lukewarm. It wasn’t isolated to our room; relatives of ours also stayed in the hotel that same night; they too only had lukewarm water for their showers. They complained to the desk but didn’t get anywhere. My spouse initially wanted to make a complaint at the desk, but in the end she didn’t bother and simply wanted to leave.
Is the cheaper price worth it? That’s an individual decision. For us, it’s back to the other place in Hanover.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IT-Expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear IT Expert,

I'm so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I can only imagine how disappointing it was to wake up to a cold shower. The good news is that when you reported this during your stay, our maintenance person was able to fix the issue and get it back up and running within 30 minutes. Sadly, we cannot go back in time, but I did want to let you know everything is in order now.

We are proud to be a pet friendly hotel. We are always happy to speak to guests to take their dogs aside when concerned guests are in the lobby. We find that this is an enjoyable part of our hotel to be able to meet and greet our furry friends.

I did MapQuest "The Green" and it is 0.29 miles from our hotel. Most guests enjoy the short stroll down our quaint main street past the shops and restaurants. But we understand that all travelers have different preferences and we thank you for sharing yours.

We wish you the best in your future travels to Hanover. Again, we are sorry we did not meet your needs.

Regards,
Jennifer Sargent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Maybe that's not a fair title to this review but I think that's how most of us look at this hotel. It's actually a very nice alternative to The Hanover Inn and sometimes you can get a room here for a lot less than anywhere else. The hotel is fresh, modern and in a great location. OK, there's no history to it but you will still enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlakeNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Hello BlakeNYC! The good news is we're your 1st choice for a hotel when the "historic" hotel next door is sold out. We love our new hotel and are happy to hear you enjoy it as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for sharing. Regards, Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel is quite new with a fresh contemporary decor. The people at the front desk and valet service try very hard to be pleasant and efficient. They treated us like special guests and our overall impression was excellent. I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominique P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Hello Dominique from RI. We greatly appreciate the time you took to share your positive feedback with Trip Advisor. We love our front desk & valet crew and are happy to hear you enjoyed your interactions with them as well. The key is to hire happy people who love what they do, then the rest comes easy. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Best, Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

SSS is pretty new, but the staff has its act together. The style is very modern, but rooms are large and comfortable. Very nice bathrooms, although shower only, no tub. Would stay here again. Centrally located.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Hello Bill from New Jersey. Thank you so much for your kind words. I'm so glad you were able to take time to share your feedback with future visitors. One note, we do have bathtubs in our double queen rooms, but, not in our single king rooms. Just in case you'd like to request that in the future. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Regards, Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have now stayed at Six South twice with a third stay planned later this year. After only one stay the staff recognized me (and there is nothing special to note!). The hotel is exceptionally clean. I like the modern decor. The staff really strives to provide terrific service. All of the hotels in the region are similarly priced and when compared with the other options, this is truly the only choice when it comes to quality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeB408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback George from Chicago. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again later this year. Please let us know if there is anything we can assist you with prior to your arrival, info@sixsouth.com or 603-643-0600.
Best,
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our stay at the hotel was wonderful! Staff was very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. Rooms were very contemporary in decor and extremely clean. We enjoyed our time at the bar also, bartender was spectacular and we met some very interesting people!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHayesGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Hello Iowa! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with future travelers. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
0.1 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
489 reviews
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Hanover Lebanon
2.5 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 8 in White River Junction
193 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Whi...
#2 of 8 in White River Junction
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six South St Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six South St Hotel

Address: 6 South St, Hanover, NH 03755-2101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hanover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Price Range: $171 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Six South St Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanover's new downtown boutique hotel, just steps from Dartmouth College. Bistro at Six restaurant serves breakfast daily. Dinner served Monday-Saturday. Lively, upscale lounge for cocktails. Valet parking. An "uptown" hotel in downtown Hanover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Six South St Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 South St Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing