We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good contender to the Hanover Inn.”
Review of Six South St Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Six South St Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

SSS is pretty new, but the staff has its act together. The style is very modern, but rooms are large and comfortable. Very nice bathrooms, although shower only, no tub. Would stay here again. Centrally located.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Hello Bill from New Jersey. Thank you so much for your kind words. I'm so glad you were able to take time to share your feedback with future visitors. One note, we do have bathtubs in our double queen rooms, but, not in our single king rooms. Just in case you'd like to request that in the future. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Regards, Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for Six South St Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 277 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have now stayed at Six South twice with a third stay planned later this year. After only one stay the staff recognized me (and there is nothing special to note!). The hotel is exceptionally clean. I like the modern decor. The staff really strives to provide terrific service. All of the hotels in the region are similarly priced and when compared with the other options, this is truly the only choice when it comes to quality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeB408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback George from Chicago. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again later this year. Please let us know if there is anything we can assist you with prior to your arrival, info@sixsouth.com or 603-643-0600.
Best,
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our stay at the hotel was wonderful! Staff was very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. Rooms were very contemporary in decor and extremely clean. We enjoyed our time at the bar also, bartender was spectacular and we met some very interesting people!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHayesGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Hello Iowa! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with future travelers. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hotel was very clean, new, modern, and all the staff were friendly. Rooms were well-decorated and had a good amount of space with a small sitting area. Bathrooms were modern and I liked the organic toiletries. The fitness room had a few machines, but there was only one other person inside. Also, it is in a great location a few minute walk down Main St to Dartmouth campus. I did not try any of the food at the hotel, but the Umpleby's cafe right across the street is was a good choice for baked treats and sandwiches.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spf701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit to SSS Hotel. We get a ton of compliments on our toiletries. Our goal is not only to have them be "Green" but to also have them be high quality products that you can take with you. I'm so glad to hear you had a chance to try out Umpleby's, great place for breakfast and lunch. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Regards,
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have family in West Lebanon so we are always up here visiting. We love Six South Street. It's a great addition to the area hotels. It's clean, spacious, modern, and best of all -- pet friendly! We were disappointed a few weekends ago when we had to stay somewhere else because they were all booked up.

The bar area is nice, also.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Hello KathyH,

Thank you for your feedback. Our guests love that we're only 10 minutes to West Lebanon and all the new stores and eateries in that area. We love that we're pet friend as well. All of our staff love animals and it is always fun to see owners bring in their "babies" and to get to know them. For best availability we always recommend trying to book a month in advance, but we understand that sometimes you don't know you're headed to Hanover until the last minute. We do also take guests on a waitlist if that is helpful.

We look forward to seeing you soon,
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here one night in the summer when we were dropping our son off at camp. It was very nice, not cheap, but just half a block away from the downtown area so you can walk to everything. The staff was very pleasant, and I liked that there was coffee and tea available in the lovely lobby whenever I was there. So all in all I'd give it a thumbs up.

One minor detail - I may have left my eyeglasses there and I called to see if they had been found. The front desk said they would have housekeeping call me, but no one called. We stopped by the hotel again when we picked our son up from camp. Housekeeping wasn't available, and the front desk said they were surprised housekeeping had not called me and they would tell them to do it. Never happened. This is not a reason not to stay there, but it was irritating.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GetOuttaTownNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay while dropping off your kids at camp. We had the good fortune to have many families join us for the same reason in July and August this year. I have spoken to our Housekeeping Manager and unfortunately she does not have any messages on file that match your request. If you could please contact us we would be happy to research your lost & found item. We can be reached at 603-543-0600 or you are welcome to contact me directly at Jennifer.sargent@sixsouth.com. We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Was looking for a comfortable clean place to stay when in the area for business. Six South St Hotel Hanover, New Hampshire was recommended to me by a business associate. Although the hotel is upscale and comfortable we found it expensive for the quiet off season time we were there - end of July 2013.
I don't recommend the dining room for breakfast - unless it's just the quiet area you need. It was expansive for what it was and you can do better outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Lighting in room is not very bright. Bring a makeup mirror if you need such things. Convenient valet...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JJHill-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Hello JJHill-NYC,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our hotel. More and more business travelers are discovering us and they agree that we are very convenient for walking around downtown to shop or try local cuisine. I'm sorry that our breakfast was not to your liking. If you'd care to send me an email with specific details we welcome constructive criticism and find that future guests will surely benefit from it. We hope to see you again soon.
Regards,
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
0.1 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
466 reviews
2.5 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Hanover Lebanon
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
656 reviews
5.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Lebanon
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six South St Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six South St Hotel

Address: 6 South St, Hanover, NH 03755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hanover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Price Range: $183 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Six South St Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanover's new downtown boutique hotel, just steps from Dartmouth College. Bistro at Six restaurant serves breakfast daily. Dinner served Monday-Saturday. Lively, upscale lounge for cocktails. Valet parking. An "uptown" hotel in downtown Hanover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Six South St Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 South St Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing