We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urban sophistication in small town New England”
Review of Six South St Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Six South St Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Urban sophistication in small town New England”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Having often been misled by the "Myth of the New England Inn" (see Coolidge Hotel in White River Junction, VT), it was a tremendous relief to happen into Six South in Hanover, NH. home of Dartmouth College. As a Dartmouth alumnus, I usually stayed at The Hanover Inn, owned by the college. But the addition of Six South to the hospitality options near my Alma Mater has been a godsend! Crisp and new, with an ambience more Soho than South Woodstock, DOG-FRIENDLY (and I mean very friendly and welcoming, not just tolerated), we were relieved of worries about breaking tradition immediately. We settled into a comfortable seeting nook near the lobby, cocooned in soft pillows and a large-screen computer/media screen within arms reach, and were served warm libations to ward off the winter chill from the wind howling over the Hanover plain.
From then on it was just the best paradigm of hospitality...a fine, fine experience. We will be back to stay for future Dartmouth events and just to visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edward w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We understand that breaking tradition is a big step! Needless to say we are very pleased that you
chose to stay at Six South for your most recent visit to Dartmouth. You are not alone in the tradition breaking department...thankfully, many Dartmouth alums have found a new home here at Six South. Thanks so much for the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    94
    16
    1
    6
See reviews for
115
49
18
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed last night at Six South and the place was beautiful. Great location, walked down to Ramuntos for a slice of pizza early in the night and then walked to 3 Guys BBQ for an awesome meal! I definitely recommend this location if you have any business in Hanover

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KyleBattis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thanks for choosing Six South to host your Dad's New Years Eve party! We're glad that everyone had a good time and enjoyed the convenience of our downtown location. We are indeed, just steps away from great dining, shopping, Dartmouth College and the Nuggett Movie Theatre !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was nice with great service but honestly, the best part had to be the amenities, including the soaps, shampoos, and other bathroom freebies!! It snowed during my stay but the front desk crew always took it upon themselves to clean the front lobby.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We are so glad to receive compliments about our bath amenities. Our "Green from Natura" bath soaps and hair products are not only wonderfull products, they are enviornmentally friendly too! Our amenities are manufactured to significantly reduce waste, minimize negative enviornmental impact and promote a sustainable future. Thank you for your positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel was quiet, had great amenities, and was located near many restaurants and shops. They were very flexible and kind when I needed a late checkout. Valet parking is mandatory, but they are easygoing about leaving your car out front if you will be in & out and don't want to wait for them to go back and forth to the garage. The bath items were organic and lovely to use.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalanchoe612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
It's always gratifying to receive a positive review like yours from our guests. Thank you for the compliments and for taking the time to let us know your impression. Come visit us again here at Six South street soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Everyone hears about The Hanover Inn but during the renovation we came to appreciate Six South Street and it is a great choice. Clean, modern, helpful staff, very well located (c'mon, it's Hanover). You will be pleased with the hotel if you are able to get a reservation. [Best food bets -- Lou's for breakfast, Dirt Cowboy for coffee, and Market Table for dinner.]

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattyGee20814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Ideed...more an more people like you are discovering Six South St. Hotel here in downtown Hanover.
Thanks so much for the kudos ! We are nearly as convenient to Dartmouth as our friends up the street....the Hanover Inn..... we're just a short two block walk to the "big green" ! Hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge,ma
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Just about perfect.Pleasant courteous staff at reception with delicious oatmeal raisin cookies,
well designed comfortable rooms with good space lighting and modern design instead of the
usual faux-colonial decor at New England hostelries.Well equipped exercise room.Excellent
location within walking distance of most Dartmouth sites.Next to a parking garage which has
a $1 charge for all night parking if entering after 6pm avoiding the valet parking charge.
Free coffee,tea & hot chocolate in lobby and free wi-fi throughout hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reiseonkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for the excellent rating. Guest feedback is is so important to our mission of making positive impressions on our guests. We appreciate all who take the time to offer their comments about Six South. Hope to see you here in Hanover the next time your travels bring you our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The decor is, as others have commented, on the self-consciously stylish side of things, which a person might like or not, depending. Nice clean big rooms, well appointed bathrooms, nice selection of soaps and shampoo choices. The closet is very small, and no bathrobes provided, but the towels are quite nice. Sheets average, not special. I give five stars because the hotel is what it means to be, not because it's super luxurious--but a good experience in every way for me.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank jhpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We very much appreciate your feedback and 5 star rating ! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Comments like yours go a long way in keeping our staff and ownership focused on you the customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
0.1 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
459 reviews
2.5 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Hanover Lebanon
5.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Lebanon
358 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six South St Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six South St Hotel

Property: Six South St Hotel
Address: 6 South St, Hanover, NH 03755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hanover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Six South St Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanover's new downtown boutique hotel, just steps from Dartmouth College. Bistro at Six restaurant serves breakfast daily. Dinner served Monday-Saturday. Lively, upscale lounge for cocktails. Valet parking. An "uptown" hotel in downtown Hanover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Six South St Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 South St Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing