We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel in hanover”
Review of Six South St Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Six South St Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful boutique hotel in hanover”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I was given the name of this hotel on a list of hotels in area for visiting camps. When I clicked on the link expecting a quaint B&B, it was completely surprised that an updated, modern hotel like SSS could exist in the area. We stayed there and were very impressed with the friendliness of the staff as well as the design/decor of the rooms. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds ever and I have stayed at many top notch hotels. We didn't have time to eat there so i have no review of the food. The Starbucks in lobby was a good touch (need real milk, not creamer though)...how does a college town NOT have a starbucks? The lobby set up w/tvs and easy access to internet/printer etc was a convenient feature. Great location in town, close to everything including dinner choices and the famous gelato stop by the movie theater. We paid to overnight park but i think you could find street parking if you have patience. Made for a refreshing break and change from the chain hotels in strip malls.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CFOODIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We love to "surprise" and "impress" here at Six South ! Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We've only been open a little more than a year,but, more and more "camper's parents'" are discovering us. Thanks for helping to spread the word !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    94
    16
    1
    6
See reviews for
115
49
18
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed in Hanover as part of a two-week college tour. My wife likes the predictability of national chains. I like the boutique hotels. I won in Hanover (mainly since there are no chain hotels). This hotel is great. Very trendy and upscale yet still friendly and warm.

We were greeted by the valet who parked the car and helped with the bags. Front desk check–in was as smooth as silk and the room, although a bit small, was nicely appointed and very fresh. Based on reviews I read here on TA, I requested a corner room facing the street. There are windows on both walls that open for a nice cross breeze. There was a little street noise until 10:30 or so, but I didn’t close the windows until 6:00 the next morning (the rest of the world started moving before I was ready).

There are a plethora of restaurants within easy walking distance (we ate at Molly’s for dinner and Lou’s for breakfast) and a terrific little bakery right across the street – gotta try the chocolate croissants!

We were there to tour Dartmouth – only a 5-7 minute walk from the hotel. I noticed the Hanover Inn right across from Dartmouth and took a look in the lobby. I think they were going for “eclectic” but it looked more “garage sale” to me. I was almost swayed to stay at the HI since it is closer to Dartmouth, but the SSS is only a few minutes by foot farther away…I’m glad I stayed at the SSS. If my daughter decides to go to Dartmouth, the SSS will be our home base for visits. Great hotel, friendly service and good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room facing the street. Windows on both sides allows for a nice cross breeze. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BurgerManAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Your review and positive comments are very much appreciated. Thank you.
Here's hoping that your daughter chooses Dartmouth and we can welcome you as our guest for the next four years !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I read the positive reviews of SSS and when I found out it was $50 less/night I decided it was worth a try. I was a little reluctant because we've stayed at the HI in the past and we've really enjoyed staying there.
I am happy to say that we were not at all disappointed. The SSS staff are very friendly, the rooms are very clean and modern (perhaps a little small) and the beds were comfortable.
I would definitely recommend SSS and would definitely stay there again. They serve Starbucks coffee in the lobby (we didn't notice it until the second day but we made up for it by having 2 each).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karfli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
We're so glad that you gave Six South a trial run! Glad to know that we didn't disappoint too!
Thank you for the positive review....in particular, speaking well of our friendly staff. It seems to be a reoccurring them that ,as general manager, is very satisfying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

For years, the Hanover Inn was the only hotel available in Hanover. With the arrival of SSS, there is another choice that meets all the needs of a traveler - a nice facility, a good location, friendly staff and a more than adequate restaurant and bar on site.

I've stayed there twice, now, and I recommend it to anyone who is visiting Hanover. We most recently stayed for Dartmouth Commencement and despite the hotel being full, all of our expectations were met.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrvlLuvr2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thanks so much for the positive review. Not everyone makes the time to tell us how we are doing!
Comments from our guests are very important to us and help us to stay at the top of our game!
Hope to see you back at Six South soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, MS
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Very nice place. Preferred by Dartmouth College (they put their guests (like me) there). Walking distance to college (nice walk). Also walked to dinner (many nearby choices) and down to the river and across to Vermont for a nice walk. Great bakery right across the street (try their meat pies!). Room were clean and functional (good shower, water pressure, TV, bed, etc.). Very expensive bar and restaurant, but New England is just generally more expensive than the South anyway. Free WiFi and coffee. Very quaint small downtown in Hanover, right outside your door. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MISProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico CIty
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Our first stay in Hanover, due to school research. In a small beautiful town, this hotel surely gives a landmark feel to the place.
Perfect linen and clean accomodations helped us relax after a long long trip.
Breakfast with excelent ingredients and friendly service even with a late arrival after the kitchen closing hours.
Would like to have had a better disposition of management for a late check out. They didn't help us with this. Also not nice to have an expensive parking as a guest.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed at the Six South Street Hotel in mid April and were very happy with our experience.

I wasn't sure what to expect in a college town, but this has a big city feel. The room and bathroom are large and comfortable, and are well designed.

Breakfast was included in our rate each morning for an extra dollar and was great. There was only one staff member on, but she was efficient and cheerful, and she remembered us the second day.

A couple of small things that could be better. One is that there was only one elevator for the four floors. This is a large hotel with lots of people moving about, so there are times when you feel like you wait longer than expected for an elevator. Another was that there were no tea making facilities in the room. Coffee & tea is available in the foyer, but there are only paper cups available for use which is disappointing.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Six South. Your comments are most welcome. I'll be sure to share your positive comments with our breakfast server. I know she'll be pleased that you recognized her in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
0.1 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
459 reviews
2.5 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Hanover Lebanon
5.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Lebanon
358 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six South St Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six South St Hotel

Property: Six South St Hotel
Address: 6 South St, Hanover, NH 03755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hanover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Six South St Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanover's new downtown boutique hotel, just steps from Dartmouth College. Bistro at Six restaurant serves breakfast daily. Dinner served Monday-Saturday. Lively, upscale lounge for cocktails. Valet parking. An "uptown" hotel in downtown Hanover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Six South St Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 South St Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing