We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new hotel in Hanover”
Review of Six South St Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Six South St Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2011

As a Dartmouth grad I have always stayed at The Inn if I could get a room there. But the last time I stayed at the Inn, this past June, I swore it would be my last. I had another trip planned to Hanover this past weekend and I had heard about this new hotel in Hanover that everyone said was great. So, last week I stayed there and I can honestly tell you it was, in fact, great! Everyone was friendly. The rooms were spacious and very clean. Towels, pillows, sheets etc., were all very high quality. And, as a bonus, the hotel is within walking distance of everything on campus, 2 blocks! It is Hanover’s version of a W Hotel with a Hanover flavor!

Room Tip: Book early as the hotel will likely be full as it is that nice!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brad k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dljrhh, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at our new boutique hotel here in downtown Hanover. We truly hope that more Dartmouth grads like you will discover the hospitality of the Six South St Hotel. Thanks for spreading the good word!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for Six South St Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 277 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed here one night after touring northern Vermont and we wanted to be closer to the Manchester airport for our flight home the next day. I selected this property because it seemed to be a good, non-chain hotel in a pretty small town. We found the it to be attractive , clean and well kept. The rooms were very small. There were three adults in our party and it was really tight. There is nothing real special about the hotel. I do feel that for what we got it was very, very overpriced. We couldn't even get an AAA or AARP discount. In addition to the exhorbitant rate we also had to pay to valet park. We had breakfast in the restaurant and it was very mediocre and the waitress was very strange. I am glad we didn't eat dinner there. If I were in the area again I would not stay here unless the rate was half of what we paid.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Six South Street pitches itself as a boutique hotel in contemporary style with a great location, and it pretty much does what it says on the tin.

We stayed here for one night in September and found it perfectly acceptable, but very expensive. Given the target market with very little competition in a top college town, I guess this is inevitable.

There was a mix-up with our room initially, when the computer allocated us to a room that had not been cleaned, but the desk staff sorted this out quickly and were very apologetic, giving us coupons for complimentary breakfast to compensate.

The room was a good size and pretty clean and comfortable, with a good bathroom, although the "contemporary" style is already showing a little wear and tear and it also felt a bit sterile and anonymous, as pretty much every "boutique style contemporary" hotel we've stayed in seems to go for the same look. It was pretty quiet, as the hotel is on a side street, so we slept well enough.

Breakfast was OK, but not really up to the hotel's price/standard, so I'm glad we hadn't had to pay for it. Next time we would probably just go around the corner to Lou's Restaurant on South Main Street, which has an excellent breakfast menu.

The location was great, just off South Main Street, but given the size of Hanover pretty much anywhere is going to be within walking distance of the town centre. But is is nice to be able to walk out of your hotel and find yourself right in the middle of things.

Overall, this hotel pretty much met our expectations based on its website, and treated us well enough, so I'm giving it 4 stars, but it is very expensive and I certainly wouldn't bother paying for breakfast here.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying for breakfast.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dljrhh, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2011

Always a pleasure to receive a 4-star rating along with constructive and positive feedback.
Thanks very much !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

On my third visit (TA wouldn't allow a second review b/c the stay was within 30 days), the hotel is still outstanding. The bar and restaurant business is brisk and the staff seems very comfortable and settled in with their high level of service and attention.
The rooms are still immaculate....the bathrooms spotless....the room amenities great without being overpowering (no bottled water for sale...the wireless is free and bandwidth is good) There has never been an issue on my three visits (6 nights total) with noise, cleanliness, service or attentiveness.

Rates are competitive (which also means they are pricey during a Dartmouth event...but commensurate with lesser quality properties). Always a good value.

The staff is to be commended on their service and the owners on their continued committment to excellence in the upkeep of the property.

Room Tip: For non-native New Englanders...choose a west facing room b/c sunrise is early!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ntxtraveler091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dljrhh, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2011

Thank you for your high praise of "Six South". Your detailed feedback about all aspects of your past visits is much appreciated. We will pass along your praise to the staff. They all work hard to make a positive impression on each and every guest and your review will provide further motivation to be the best in Hanover!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I stayed at this hotel after I was double-booked at the Marriott. I am real glad I was placed here instead. The rooms were similar to something you would find at a W or a nice Westin. Very modern and clean. Staff was great. Parking was expensive ($18) for a small town but the parking in Hanover is pretty bad anyways.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jcsfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Nice hotel. Very nice staff. Great location. A little tricky to find my car.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rrbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

I found Six South St. in the AAA Guide while driving through New England. They quoted me an acceptable rate on the phone, and I arrived in Hanover later that day at the end of a long drive. From the cheery greetings from the parking valet and the desk clerk, to the super-attractive room, the place quickly gave me a rush of favorable impressions. Following check-in, I wandered out to explore the attractive Main St. shopping area and the nearby Dartmouth College Green, both within easy walking distance. NOTE: the former contains a wealth of places to find various types of dinner and breakfast.

This hotel is new. As such it is also bright, fresh, spacious, comfortable and well-run. The manager came over to help me with my luggage when, at check-out, I tried to carry all the bags to my car myself. And even the valet sought to engage about where I might be headed that day. These are little, trifling touches in the whole scheme of things. But they added up to an experience in which I felt treated like an individual, rather than merely processed as a faceless consumer of hotelage. I would gladly return to Six South St.

Room Tip: I didn't accept the first over-the-phone rate quote.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoeHEAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
0.1 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
465 reviews
2.5 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Hanover Lebanon
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
653 reviews
5.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Lebanon
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six South St Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six South St Hotel

Address: 6 South St, Hanover, NH 03755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hanover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Price Range: $184 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Six South St Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanover's new downtown boutique hotel, just steps from Dartmouth College. Bistro at Six restaurant serves breakfast daily. Dinner served Monday-Saturday. Lively, upscale lounge for cocktails. Valet parking. An "uptown" hotel in downtown Hanover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Six South St Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 South St Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing