We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely surprise!”
Review of Six South St Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Six South St Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2011

My son and I planned a college tour at Dartmouth, and I liked the modern look and moderate price of this hotel online although no one I knew had heard of it -I found out that is because the hotel is relatively new. What a pleasant surprise! We just loved everything about it - everything is new of course, rooms are clean and stylish, beds are super comfy, free wireless (shouldn't all hotels have this?), free Starbucks coffee in the lobby, and the location is perfect. Service was always cheery and responsive. I will definitely be telling my other friends who plan on visiting Dartmouth.

Room Tip: We were right off of the elevator on the fourth floor, it was still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BayAreaSloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

We are very pleased that you happened upon our new hotel and that you and your son enjoyed your stay at Six South. Thank you for your wonderful comments. We won't be the best kept secret for long with reviews like yours! Hope to see you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 283 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2011

The SSS is a clean, contemporary hotel, easy walking distance from all of Hanover's attractions. The rooms are stylish, with wide-screen television, very soft pillows and modern bathrooms. But any traveller will agree that the most important aspect of a hotel is the service, and here SSS excels. I believe the associates who welcomed me each day were Whitney and Lorraine -- they were very friendly, helpful and cheerful, and their service added an extra touch to my stay. The one negative I would suggest is the charge for valet parking. The valets, again, were great and friendly guys, but the charge per day is quite expensive.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank brooker1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

Thank you for your review of Six South,in particular, the high marks for service! From the beginning, our goal has been to build a team of positive people who are committed to providing superior quality service for all of our guests. We're so glad that we made such a positive impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We've stayed at Six South Street several times while on trips to Dartmouth. It is a great hotel very close to campus. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the rooms are spotless and well-furnished. We stay here whenever we are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erastus10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

It' very gratifying to have loyal and satisfied customers like you......willing to make time to tell us we are doing a god job. It keeps everyone here motivated to continue to do our best. Thank you! We appreciate your patronage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We chose to stay at Six South St. over the Hanover Inn based on Trip Advisor reviews, and we're glad we did! The hotel opened just a few months ago so everything is fresh, modern and clean. The rooms are a nice size, beds and linens very comfortable and bathrooms quite spacious too. The fitness center is great with all brand new equipment.
Hanover is a relatively small town so although Six South St. isn't directly on the Dartmouth Square, it's close to everything.
The staff was friendly and efficient too. Check-in was a breeze and there's valet parking on site (for $18/night)
We took advantage of the hotel's promotion to "add breakfast or a drink for $1". We had a lovely breakfast in the morning - nice selection of eggs, french toast, fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, muffins, etc. My only suggestion would be to get bigger creamers for the table. They were so tiny that I emptied the whole mini-pitcher (it was seriously 2 oz.) into a single cup of coffee. Our poor but very gracious server had to bring out refills of milk about 6 times!
We had a great stay and would definitely stay here again if visiting Hanover.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolynvonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

We're so glad that it was previous reviews on Trip Advisor that influenced your decision to try our new hotel here in Hanover. Thank you for adding another very flattering review . Also, thanks for mentioning our $1 promotion....it has been a popular package! Hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I stayed at the Six South on business in July and loved the hotel. I was used to staying at the big chain hotels outside of downtown Hanover. It was great to be able to walk around Main Street at night. There are plenty of restaurants and other stores to visit. Make sure to check out the Gelato shop next to the movie theater on Main Street.......the best I've ever had! I did have an issue with the air conditioning not working. I was informed that this has been a problem that the hotel has been working on and I was immediately moved to a new room. The staff was pleasant and at all times courteous. I would love if they included a free continental breakfast in the morning. This would make for a quick exit to work in the morning. I would also like the option of having a small microwave available in the room. Many hotels will now bring up a small microwave if requested at the front desk. The Starbucks coffee in the lobby is the best!!

Room Tip: I enjoyed the top floor room looking out over the hotel entrance. The streets are very quiet at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBear45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2011

We are so glad that you stayed at Six South on your recent business trip to Hanover. We've received many positive comments from business travelers like you and very much appreciate the feedback and suggestions. I'm sorry that there was an issue with your air conditioning and for the inconvience of having to move rooms. I am to pleased to know that our staff was responsive and able to move you to a room where all was to your satisfaction. Thank you for taking the time to review Six South! Hope you'll stay with us again when your travels bring you back to Hanover.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

On our first road trip with our labrador retriever, we were so lucky to find this newly built, pet friendly boutique hotel. Modern, clean and fresh, the decor felt so welcoming that by the end of our stay, no one in our family, including our dog, wanted to leave. Just one block away from Dartmouth College, Six South St. is within walking distance of a classy neighborhood filled with pub restaurants, bakeries, shopping, movie theater and a pharmacy for last minute essentials. The setting was serene and yet easy to find. Further, the front desk employees always greeted us whenever we passed by and showed a demonstrated interest to help us if we needed anything. We have traveled to many places, but this hotel ranks up high on our list. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripsahoy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2011

Thank you Tripsahoy! We certainly appreciate the testimonial. And thank you for mentioning that we are pet friendly too! Isn't it great to travel with your pet and feel welcome the minute you arrive at a hotel? Hope to see you here at Six South soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Great Hotel, excellent rooms. Clean, well appointed. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location, within walking distance off everything...Dining, shops, Dartmouth College, etc....

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank footballfamily_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dljrhh, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

We're so glad that you loved Six South St. Hotel and very much appreciate that you took the time to let us know! You certainly hit all the highlights in your review. Thank you! We hope to see you here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
0.1 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
469 reviews
2.5 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Hanover Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
664 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Whi...
#3 of 8 in White River Junction
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six South St Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six South St Hotel

Address: 6 South St, Hanover, NH 03755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hanover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Price Range: $136 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Six South St Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanover's new downtown boutique hotel, just steps from Dartmouth College. Bistro at Six restaurant serves breakfast daily. Dinner served Monday-Saturday. Lively, upscale lounge for cocktails. Valet parking. An "uptown" hotel in downtown Hanover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Six South St Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 South St Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing