We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hancock Inn

Hancock Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Hancock
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We were staying at the Inn, so eating there was convenient. Little we did expect to discover superb food - truly an excellent dining experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    10
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walpole, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Summer evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Although we have eaten at the Hancock Inn many times, this is the first time we dined on the patio. It was great. Love having the option of eating outside on a warm summer evening. We had their fish and chips and it was delicious. The dipping sauce was fantastic. The chef, David was very pleasant as was our waitress. While we decided if we could possibly fit dessert, we took a stroll across the back lawn enjoying the white flower garden, ending with a visit with the sweet goats nearby. Of course, we had to have dessert which was wonderful as always.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

My family recently held a "celeberation of life" event for a lost family member at the Hancock Inn.
The entire process,booking,menu,special needs,etc... was absoutly fantastic. The staff went above and beyond the norm to make us comfortable and to ensure this event went well. The food is more than "gormet" actually the BEST service and food I have ever had. This event will be held as a great memory for years to come. A pleasant ending to a painfull loss for our family.
Thanks to the great efforts of an understanding staff at the Hancock Inn. I would highly recomend this venue to anyone looking for a quality experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank flying00se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very understanding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

excelent rooms with authentic New England atomsphere. very friendly staff and great food. looking foward to our next visit

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank birdzabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Happy to live near this sweet place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a nice dinner in the tavern on Saturday night. The current owners of this Inn are very kind and personable, and care about making your experience a great one. I ordered the chicken, and my husband ordered his favorite, the fish and chips. This place is reliably good and we're glad to live nearby. It's small, quiet but lively,casual, and attracts a nice group of patrons.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hancock Inn also viewed

Been to Hancock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing