We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful, peaceful comfort”
Review of Hancock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hancock Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hancock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Thetford, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful, peaceful comfort”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

From the moment we arrived we were met with the warmest most accommodating innkeepers and staff I have ever encountered. We had an incredible stay and absolutely will stay again. I will go as far as to use the phrase it was like staying with family

Charming town, lovely inn and gracious hosts.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the elm murals at the top of the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bugatti46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    22
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
47
127
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This was our second stay at the Hancock Inn. The headmaster of our son's school recommended the inn to us initially. The owners greet you upon arrival and are truly warm and friendly - seem to complete enjoy running this inn and restaurant. The dining experience was also a wonderful surprise - truly fine dining in a relaxed setting. We wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique. It is best to look online to choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAK2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarvis and Marc... C, Owner at Hancock Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for such a nice review. Yes, we completely enjoy being innkeepers at the Hancock Inn. Part of it is the town of Hancock, which treasures its Inn and does much on an ongoing basis to support it, beginning with being friendly and helpful to the guests. Part of it is also the guests that stay here, and their enthusiasm for historical places such as this and quaint towns such as Hancock energizes us. But, mostly, it's the Inn itself. Do places speak to you? A European guest standing in our sitting room in front of the fire one winter night two years ago was moved to say, "It is impossible that places like this do not speak to you." The Inn tells us it loves its work. We are happy to be here and have a chance to help.

Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The owners were incredibly service-oriented. The rooms had modern amenities, but held onto their historical charm. The breakfast was amazing every morning. The town was beautiful with great little places to eat and hang out. We had an amazing time and will be back again soon!

Room Tip: As for a king room. Many of them have old free-standing tubs, and/or reading nooks that you should t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBurke552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarvis and Marc... C, Owner at Hancock Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Very high praise!! Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2014

The owners of the Inn are very personable and helpful with your needs. The Inn captures the history of a beautiful city, while offering all modern needs. One of the nicest B&B's I have ever stayed in (other was in Ireland, this should tell you something). Felt like a home, not simply a house or hotel, and that was exemplified by the people working at the Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gooner1886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarvis and Marc... C, Owner at Hancock Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you! We are always delighted to be compared to Inns in Ireland or the UK, where we believe many of the customs of country charm and hospitality have their roots. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This inn is a great find about an hour out of Manchester. We stayed here because it was the oldest continuously operating inn in NH. Hancock is a beautiful old town with lots of history and is worth going out of your way for. Each room at the inn is unique and make the stay an experience. We stayed in the Rufus Porter room in the oldest part of the inn. The floor was really sloped which added to the fun. Our room was very clean and nicely decorated. The only "shortcoming" was the tub drained very slowly so you were up to your ankles by the end of your shower. No cell service but the internet was really fast and easily accessed. Be sure to eat dinner here since it's a real treat and the breakfast was absolutely amazing. Everyone on staff was friendly and eager to make our stay perfect. Will definitely stay here again if we come back to the area.

Room Tip: All rooms looked great so it's just what you prefer. We wanted to stay in the oldest part and l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelG60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarvis and Marc... C, Owner at Hancock Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. "Fun" is our preferred way to describe the sloping floors around here, which are the result of the original wide pine boards and 200+ years of settling timbers and foundations. We were pouring custards into pie plates this morning for breakfast, amused while trying to ensure that one side didn't spill over the edge. Fortunately, the ovens are leveled!

Old plumbing is less fun. We'll be sure to check that tub drain. Thank you for letting us know.

Thank you for such a nice review. Please come again!!

Jarvis & Marcia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Tuftonboro
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

My husband and I love to travel both at home and abroad. Our first choice is always small, historic Inns or B&Bs (with a castle/country house thrown in for good measure). Imagine creating an Inn using the "Best of the Best" ideas and there you have it...the Hancock Inn. Marcia and Jarvis are the model innkeepers: friendly, super efficient, enthusiastic and unpretentious with an obvious love of their historic inn. And they surround themselves with a staff that mirrors their own personalities: Jan, Dave and Andrea (the three wonderful staff we met). Then there is Harry Potter - the beloved gentle giant Golden Retriever - who waits patiently by the front door for the "school bus" (aka dog walker) to take him to doggie daycare! Our room was the Bell tower. Spotless, tastefully furnished, perfect bed and pillows, fireplace, best shower and whirlpool tub - even the hair dryer was the best ever! Incredible gourmet breakfast and dinner - it doesn't get any better than this no matter where you travel. Pure perfection! And we have stayed in close to 100 so I think we are good judges!

Room Tip: The suite faces the main street which would be a good choice also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarvis and Marc... C, Owner at Hancock Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you! This was such a nice review and we really appreciate it, particularly given your considerable experience staying at inns. 100! Come see us again soon. Very best, Jarvis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snow country
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a delightful weekend at the Hancock Inn, noted to be New Hampshires oldest and most historic Inn. Full of warmth, comfort, history and incredible food, I cannot offer enough praise for the attention to detail. We stayed in the Norway Plain Room which was very comfortable.


Two other couples from our town joined us saturday night, whereby the innkeepers sat us in a lovely separate dining room for dinner --- The meal and atmosphere superb.

An added bonus was a discounted lift ticket to nearby Crotched Mountain that the Innkeepers offered us on saturday morning. On Sunday we ran, snowshoed on the pond and departed at noon to scout out nearby Peterborough and do some antiquing.

A wonderful weekend escape that I highly recommend!

Room Tip: Go online and pick the one that speaks to you --- you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haveseenall50states
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarvis and Marc... C, Owner at Hancock Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
The skiing, the hiking, the snowshoeing, the exploring...it was exhilarating to watch. Come back and climb Mt. Monadnock this summer or fall. There are several trails to choose from. But, why choose - we're sure you will try many of them over the weekend!

Thank you (!) for being here. Come back soon.

Jarvis and Marcia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
16.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
15.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
15.1 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Keene
6.4 mi away
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Peterborough
158 reviews
6.2 mi away
Little River Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hancock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hancock Inn

Property: Hancock Inn
Address: 33 Main St, Hancock, NH 03449-5321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hancock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hancock Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hancock Inn is a historic property in Hancock, New Hampshire. Built in 1789, it is New Hampshire's oldest continuously operating inn. The inn has 14 rooms for overnight accommodations that are exceptionally well-appointed with period antiques and inclusive of modern amenities, such as in-room chargers, waffle-weave spa robes, flat screen televisions with built-in DVD and wifi throughout the building. Many rooms have gas or electric fireplaces. There are numerous common areas around the inn for the enjoyment of our guests, upstairs and down. The two sitting rooms on the first floor, one with with a Rumford fireplace, are hallmarks of the inn's warmth and hospitality, separating it from the usual of being away, making it feel closer to home. Outside, the inn's 1.5 acres of gardens and field (which includes a professionally maintained croquet pitch in the summer) connect visitors to the Monandock region's preserved landscape and scenery. In the winter, join countless avid snowshoers and cross country skiers and, other times, experience the lakes, rivers and trails that crisscross our corner of the world. The inn's fine dining restaurant, The Fox Tavern, is open seven nights a week. The farm-to-table menu features New England favorites relying on locally raised beef, pork and poultry, plus cheese, fruits and vegetables from area growers, including vegetables from our own gardens. The Tavern's reknowned, cooked-to-order breakfast is served complimentary to house guests. Come to the Hancock Inn and learn why it has been characterized as "the near perfect expression of the New England village inn." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Hancock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hancock Hotel Hancock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing