We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AUTHENTIC,WELCOMING,HIGH QUALITY”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hancock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hancock Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hancock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“AUTHENTIC,WELCOMING,HIGH QUALITY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We decided to spend Thanksgiving with my brother in law in Hancock,NH. He recommended

the HANCOCK INN. The rooms and furnishing are of the colonial period.

The floors have been left on a somewhat of a slant.

The breakfasts are delicious.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammark60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    21
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
122
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here on the first night of our New England fall colors motorcycle trip. We arrived in time for the evening dinner. Since it was Sunday night, they had one fixed price dinner option. We had some nice wine and a very, very nice three course dinner. Since the Inn restaurant is open to the public, the dining room had a lot of locals which gave us an even better feel for the area.

The Inn has a wonderful New England feel. You know you are staying in a part of history.

The owners are very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and nicely appointed.

This is one of the top Inns/B & Bs we have stayed in. Highly recommended.

One tip ....... if you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs. The town church has on old clock tower that rings every hour all night long. We had our windows open which allowed the full volume of the clock chimes to ring in. My wife slept all night but I started hearing the chimes around two.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were never bed and breakfast fans until we stayed at the Hancock Inn. The B&B experience always seemed to us as if we were intruding in someone’s home, and we found it awkward.

That all changed during our first stay at the Hancock Inn. The innkeepers, Jarvis and Marcia Coffin, made us very comfortable. While it was clear that we were guests at the Inn, it was a very friendly atmosphere and we found them tremendously engaging and enjoyable. We recently made a second trip to the area and looked forward to seeing them again and enjoying their hospitality. We were delighted with what we found.
The Hancock Inn has lovely guest rooms and several indoor and outdoor areas where guests can spend time alone, or congregate. The food is excellent, and the menu is more extensive than you might expect at an Inn. The Inn has a comfortable bar and an excellent wine list with great values.
What we find most impressive about the Hancock Inn is the innkeepers’ flexibility when it comes to guests’ needs. Both of our trips were impromptu large family gatherings. Marcia and Jarvis provided us with rooms on short notice (thankfully the Inn was not full), quickly pulled together a wonderful dinner in a private dining room on a night when the dining room was hopping, and generally attended to every need that our group had. They are gracious hosts, and a lot of fun to be with.
We give the Hancock Inn our highest endorsement, and that is a lot, coming from people who were never B&B fans!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAM742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I just came back from a vacation that included a stay at the Hancock. We loved the Inn and the atmosphere. The breakfast was wonderful and the owners very, very nice. The area has much to see and one of the best parts of our trip was picking apples at an orchard near the Inn.
My only complaint was I did not pick the best room. We stayed in the Washington room which has a double size bed. I guess I thought I was still young. We found the bed much to confining which resulted in me sleeping on the floor. The room is quite nice but next time, I will spring for a larger bed.
Will gladly stay at the inn again.

Room Tip: Think steps and bed size when choosing a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarvis and Marc... C, Owner at Hancock Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Oh my gosh, you slept on the floor?! That's definitely not suppose to happen in a place you come to spend the night. Very sorry! Next time, we must get you a bigger bed for sure. I'm sorry we didn't know this time. But, thank you very much for your review. Jarvis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glen allan, mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Hancock Inn in Hancock,New Hampshire is the nicest inn that we have ever stayed in. The Coffins and their golden,Potter,were perfect hosts. Everything was perfect!!! The breakfast was wonderful! We can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: Any room is great! We have stayed in the Washington and Rufus Porter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCARPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

As a property owner in Hancock for many years, I have seen the Hancock Inn go through a number of transitions through ownership changes. Some have not been for the best. The new owners, however, have brought this lovely inn back to life and introduced a dining experience that is truly extraordinary. What a great place for my husband and me to celebrate our 25th anniversary.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAP1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
201 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have been dining at the Hancock Inn for over 20 years, from birthday celebrations, New Year's Eve dinners, girls night out, couples - you name it. It has gone through many changes, and has always been superb.
The most recent dinner was this weekend with my husband, and we ate in the new dining area at the back of the inn. It was a bit chilly to eat out on the patio, but they did have the door open so we could hear the live music.
Our dinners were excellent, service great. We will be back. Great little historic town, and this is a great place to branch out from to enjoy the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinIslanddreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
16.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Keene Hotel
15.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
15.1 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Keene
6.4 mi away
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
16.2 mi away
Colby Hill Inn
Colby Hill Inn
#1 of 2 in Henniker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hancock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hancock Inn

Property: Hancock Inn
Address: 33 Main St, Hancock, NH 03449-5321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hancock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hancock Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hancock Inn is a historic property in Hancock, New Hampshire. Built in 1789, it is New Hampshire's oldest continuously operating inn. The inn has 14 rooms for overnight accommodations that are exceptionally well-appointed with period antiques and inclusive of modern amenities, such as in-room chargers, waffle-weave spa robes, flat screen televisions with built-in DVD and wifi throughout the building. Many rooms have gas or electric fireplaces. There are numerous common areas around the inn for the enjoyment of our guests, upstairs and down. The two sitting rooms on the first floor, one with with a Rumford fireplace, are hallmarks of the inn's warmth and hospitality, separating it from the usual of being away, making it feel closer to home. Outside, the inn's 1.5 acres of gardens and field (which includes a professionally maintained croquet pitch in the summer) connect visitors to the Monandock region's preserved landscape and scenery. In the winter, join countless avid snowshoers and cross country skiers and, other times, experience the lakes, rivers and trails that crisscross our corner of the world. The inn's fine dining restaurant, The Fox Tavern, is open seven nights a week. The farm-to-table menu features New England favorites relying on locally raised beef, pork and poultry, plus cheese, fruits and vegetables from area growers, including vegetables from our own gardens. The Tavern's reknowned, cooked-to-order breakfast is served complimentary to house guests. Come to the Hancock Inn and learn why it has been characterized as "the near perfect expression of the New England village inn." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hancock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hancock Hotel Hancock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing