We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Getaway”
Review of Hancock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hancock Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hancock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our stay at this beautiful old inn was wonderful in every way. The historic little town of Hancock was fun and interesting. There is a lovely lake for swimming and boating just a few steps away from the inn. Our room was extremely clean and comfortable. The innkeepers were cordial and as helpful as could be, but in no way overbearing. The breakfast they prepared for us was gourmet. Absolutely the ONLY negative was having to leave. One could not ask for a better experience. We have stayed at many Inns and B & B's and this was the best EVER.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoBlueJackets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 236 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

Comfortable, friendly environment. Classic old Inn, completely updated. Nicely appointed. Lovely antiques. Very comfortable bed. Small bath. Very clean. Air conditioning is not controlled in the room and is fairly noisy. Great front porch to have a drink. Good common spacne. Excellent food. Very good service overall without being overbearing. Be prepared for a leasurely breakfast - worth the wait!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have stayed at the Hancock Inn many times for family get-togethers, as we have some relatives in the area and we love this unspoiled part of New England. The most recent renovations by innkeepers Jarvis and Marcia are improvements in several respects: they created several comfortable common spaces for talking or quiet reading; relocated the bar, breakfast and dinner areas, with a newly opened patio and rear yard; the air conditioning is better; the staff (including a few family members) is enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the area; and the new menu choices are well-executed and exceptionally tasty. Rooms vary, and feel as comfortable as at home! The photos are honest, reflecting the crisp and inviting appearance on all fronts! Our visit in late July was wonderful despite a bit of rain.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep with open windows, there are several rooms with great cross-ventilation. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmates2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I have been to many places that were on the select registry. However, the Hancock Inn is absolutely incredible! Jarvis and Marcia were so wonderful it made our stay so relaxing. We brought our dog Jazzy which is a Rhodesian Ridgeback. They actually accomplished something that no other bed and breakfast has ever done... the food was sooooooo good that we actually made sure that we were up early enough for breakfast. We usually sleep in and miss the breakfast portion of our bed and breakfast but since the food at dinner was so incredible we made sure we were up early for breakfast. Let me tell you it was well worth it! Jarvis makes a homemade hash that is awesome. Everything is made fresh and is homemade. It is absolutely worth it. If you stay here I would advise that you make reservations to have dinner here because the food is outstanding! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spider0396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The Hancock Inn has been a most pleasant discovery. The proprietors, Jarvis and Marcia, are the most accommodating and charming hosts. The food is excellent. The service is wonderful. The staff is efficient and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. Our recent party of 14 enjoyed a most delightful experience in this historic Inn. Thank you Marcia and Jarvis. We will most certainly return!

Paul and Ann Pedersen

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Two weeks ahead of time we booked a reservation for an anniversary party for 11 people at the Hancock Inn. We arrived at 7:30 p.m. and were seated in a nice private room. The Inn was not terribly crowded, no more so than on any other night we have dined there. After 20 minutes or so, our drink order was finally taken. Twenty minutes after, the owner came in to tell us that he is unable to make our drinks as they had run out of Crown Royal. Two of us changed our drink order and a while later the drinks came. At 8:40, our appetizers came out. Many order onion soup, others ceasar salad. The soups were horrendous. There was no cheese on most of them, others had a tablespoon of broth and the rest was bread. Others had no bread and just broth without cheese. The salads were ordered with anchovies, a two dollar extra. When the salads came out, we were told that they had run out of anchovies. The salads ($9.00 each) had so much garlic on them they literally burned my tongue and made my eyes water. All soups and ceasar salads were sent back. At 9:40 p.m. I finally went to complain about having been there for over two hours without being served our main course. I mentioned that my 94 year old grandmother was with us and it was ridiculous to expect us to wait any longer. No apology or understanding. Rather, I was told our meals were being served as I spoke. The best way to sum up the food was that it sucked. The lamb was good but the liquified peas that looked like baby food and shaved carrots or yams (impossible to tell what they were) were truly disgusting. The gnocchi was served in what appeared to be still boiling water with frozen peas (in fact, the comment from the person who ordered it was "this is the worst meal I have ever gotten"). The salmon was served over white beans that were both cold and seemed to have been frozen. I could go on and on about what a disaster eating at the Inn was for all of us. At $24.00 to $28.00 for each main course, one would expect far better quality and service. Thanks to the Hancock Inn, the 55th anniversary was truly memorable. Unfortunately it was for all of the wrong reasons.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

We are terribly sorry that your party experience did not live up to your past visits - or visits of others in your party - to the Inn for dinner. Had we been more thoughtful we would have known to stock more Crown Royal, your family's drink of choice, in preparation for your party. We appreciate your graciousness in adjusting your orders when supplies ran out after four of the six Crown cocktails. It saddens us that you were not happy with your soup/salad course and those items were taken off the bill, which at that point was the most we could do. That evening we served a record number of dinners in the 10 months we have owned the Inn and had no other complaints about the food or service (but a number of compliments). Again, we are sorry this was not the experience of your party. We can only try and do better next time.

Jarvis & Marcia Coffin
Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Great place to stay. Only 10 minutes from Peterborough. The rooms are really nice and spacious, comfortable bed and nice bathroom. Very quiet. Staff are super friendly and they have a super cute dog.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gofish80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
16.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
6.4 mi away
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Peterborough
161 reviews
6.2 mi away
Little River Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Benjamin Prescott Inn
Benjamin Prescott Inn
#1 of 4 in Jaffrey
121 reviews
6.8 mi away
Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hancock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hancock Inn

Address: 33 Main St, Hancock, NH 03449-5321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hancock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hancock
Price Range: $100 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hancock Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hancock Inn is a historic property in Hancock, New Hampshire. Built in 1789, it is New Hampshire's oldest continuously operating inn. The inn has 14 rooms for overnight accommodations that are exceptionally well-appointed with period antiques and inclusive of modern amenities, such as in-room chargers, waffle-weave spa robes, flat screen televisions with built-in DVD and wifi throughout the building. Many rooms have gas or electric fireplaces. There are numerous common areas around the inn for the enjoyment of our guests, upstairs and down. The two sitting rooms on the first floor, one with with a Rumford fireplace, are hallmarks of the inn's warmth and hospitality, separating it from the usual of being away, making it feel closer to home. Outside, the inn's 1.5 acres of gardens and field (which includes a professionally maintained croquet pitch in the summer) connect visitors to the Monandock region's preserved landscape and scenery. In the winter, join countless avid snowshoers and cross country skiers and, other times, experience the lakes, rivers and trails that crisscross our corner of the world. The inn's fine dining restaurant, The Fox Tavern, is open seven nights a week. The farm-to-table menu features New England favorites relying on locally raised beef, pork and poultry, plus cheese, fruits and vegetables from area growers, including vegetables from our own gardens. The Tavern's reknowned, cooked-to-order breakfast is served complimentary to house guests. Come to the Hancock Inn and learn why it has been characterized as "the near perfect expression of the New England village inn." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Hancock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hancock Hotel Hancock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing