We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unfriendly campground”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Wakeda Campgrounds

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hampton Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wakeda Campgrounds
Certificate of Excellence
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
“unfriendly campground”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I spent a weekend at wakeda last season and was not impressed. The staff were not very friendly and the place was like a small city. Roads were all paved and it didn't feel like a campground. I was there for 4 days and nobody stopped by to say hello. Seasonal were not very friendly and were asking where we had camped because they were looking for a better place. There was no pool and about 15 minute drive to crowded beach. The weather was very hot and ocean was freezing so no chance for relief. Drove in through front gate, nobody checking to see if we were camping there, Kind of scary since there were kids playing at park and anyone could drive in, gave me the creeps. Would not camp here again.

Room Tip: try another campground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakeda, Owner at Wakeda Campgrounds, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Paul,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay at Wakeda. We are certainly disappointed to hear that your time with us did not live up to your expectations. Providing excellent and attentive service to all our guests is something for which we’ve always been known and continues to be a priority for us. In fact, this past Sunday our staff completed a refresher customer service training program. We’re sorry to hear this was not your experience during your stay last year and hope you’ll give us another try in the future.

Last summer provided plenty of hot and sunny days! We appreciate your interest in getting some relief from the heat and understand ocean swimming is not for everyone. As such, we have handouts available in our office with information about alternate swimming destinations, including the town pool located just 2 miles from Wakeda. We hope if you do return sometime in the future that you’ll also take advantage of that option.

The security of our campers and our staff is of utmost importance to us. We require all campers and any visiting guests to have a registration sticker displayed in their vehicle’s windshield. Our staff is trained to continually look for these stickers as they move through the campground throughout the day and direct any unregistered vehicles to the office. In the evenings we have security posted at the gate checking these stickers and also have several security employees patrolling the property throughout the night. Additionally, we have a 24/7 security number posted in the campground and listed on our office voicemail should anyone have any concerns while camping with us.

Once again, we’re sorry your experience at Wakeda wasn’t as positive as what we’re accustomed to providing to our campers and hope you’ll give us another try!

Sincerely,
Wakeda Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    18
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
34
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We just returned from a 5 day camping trip at Wakeda, and we cannot wait to return again! The campground is among the best we have ever been to. There are many seasonal sites, but you do not feel like an outsider if you are not a seasonal camper. Everyone is friendly, including ALL the staff we interacted with. The campground is very clean. The bathouses are clean. Nothing exceptional, but serve their purpose. The Trading Post is a beautiful building. Store is pretty basic, but again, staff is very friendly. The site we had, 6XL, was perfect when no neighbors had arrived yet. However, when people filled in the sites in front of us....well, it would be best if we were camping in a group at this site because your privacy is pretty much eliminated when site 26X set up. Their camper faced ours. Again, everyone was friendly enough, but it would have been better if we had a bit more privacy. Probably for them too. This will not keep us from returning....as a matter of fact, we are recommedning it to several of our other camper friends because it was just a perfect place. Even with the horrible weather, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gobstoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have been camping at Wakeda since the late 70's. The campground is well managed and immaculate. It is a great place, the cabins are comfortable and the tent/trailer sites are spacious. The only downside is that if your site is in/close to tent loop it can get very noisy on Thursday/Friday and Saturday nights. The campground has a security company that addresses all complaints after hours but it can still be very unpleasant. Not all campers are courteous. Location is great - close to beach approx 8 miles - Boston 45 minutes - Newberryport 20 minutes - Kittery outlets - 20 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Copper15_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

This iwas our first time staying at this camground. We went early august and had a great time. Very well kept and wooded but without being to "foresty". Really liked the fact that they have a laundry room, arcades and mini put. They also have wifi. My only complaint is that we cannot regulate the shower temperature, and the water was extremely hot. And after taking a shower for myself and 2 girls, it literally felt like a sauna. (Not to mention my husband got a sunburn and coul not get the relief of a nice fresh shower.) I heard other campers complain about this too. But besides that, I would definitly reccomend this campground.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank santis_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

The entire staff is very friendly, courteous and helpful. The bathrooms are spotless! Two thumbs up! The tent sites are large, private and provides quite a bit of shade. That's a good thing, especially after a day at the beach! The owners are always upgrading and do a great job at maintaining the property. We go at least two times a year for the last eight years and never had any complaints about this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Ive been coming to this place since i was 18 years old! Its very scenic,very clean, the staff is very nice! Lots of bathrooms which are kept immaculate ...everyone is friendly! There is a laundryroom and arcade and its a short drive to hampton beach or salisbury and there is also a public pool jus down the street ! The coffee bar has donuts and coffee for early risers ! The cabins are awesome and clean! Thank you wakeda for all the wonderful years and memories !!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Campchik66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton Falls
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
3.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Exeter Inn
Exeter Inn
#3 of 3 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inn by the Bandstand
Inn by the Bandstand
#1 of 3 in Exeter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn at Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wakeda Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakeda Campgrounds

Property: Wakeda Campgrounds
Address: 294 Exeter Rd, Hampton Falls, NH 03844-2009
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton Falls
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hampton Falls
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wakeda is a beautiful family friendly campground nestled in the pines, just 8 miles from Hampton Beach, NH. Wakeda offers a wide variety of camping options including cabins, rustic tent sites, pull throughs and 2-way or full hook-up trailer sites. With almost 400 sites to choose from, we're certain you'll find the perfect spot! Wakeda features clean and modern restrooms with flush toilets and hot showers, a playground, miniature golf course, game room, camp store and a dog park. All our campsites include a picnic table and fireplace. Close to the beach and 20 minutes from Historic Portsmouth, the Kittery Outlets, and beautiful Newburyport, MA, as well as just an hour north of Boston, Wakeda is the perfect vacation home base! Let three generations of the Savage Family make Wakeda your new favorite summer vacation spot! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing