We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New England Hospitality at a Historic Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Melrose, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New England Hospitality at a Historic Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have been staying at Lamie’s Inn several weekends a year for many years. The staff is warm and friendly and the rooms are comfortable and clean. The rooms have a refrigerator and microwave and an extended continental breakfast is included. We enjoy the on-site restaurant and pub (Old Salt). The Old Salt has patio seating in good weather and the Sunday Brunch is one of the best we have been to. In addition, Lamie’s is located in the center of Hampton, where there are two other pub-restaurants within walking distance. We are big fans of Hampton Beach, which is a few miles away. However, most of the hotels on the beach are not as nice, and the food does not compare to the restaurants in the town center.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    129
    20
    17
    4
See reviews for
94
208
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Upper Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed one night, but had two rooms that were adjoining. Rooms were nice and fairly quiet. No elevator, but only had to carry luggage up one flight of stairs. Had supper in the restaurant and the waitress was very helpful. Food was delicious! Breakfast was adequate for a quick stop before moving on.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Myers
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Just wonderful! So quaint and a great New England feeling. Brought back precious memories of when we lived there 25 yrs. ago Will definitely go back to Lamies Inn from now on when we visit New Hampshire. Service was great, rooms clean and each morning had a wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NurseLMHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Just returned from a delightful weekend at the Lamie's for a very close friend's wedding. First and foremost I must say the staff was SO WARM and FRIENDLY it was a pleasure speaking with any of them!
Some disclosure - I am a Meeting Planner and experienced Hospitality professional with years of experience working in and utilizing 4 and 5 star properties, restaurants and facilities for both social and corporate reasons. AND I WOULD GO BACK TO LAMIE's IN A HEARTBEAT!
With that said - yes, it is dated - but come on, the building is from the 1700s - that's what makes it charming!!! If you are looking for modern and sleek - go to Boston or NY. Hampton is a typical New England town with it's history and culture. The food was hearty, ample! and with a wide enough variety to satisfy both children and discerning adults. The rooms are lovely and large enough to accommodate our needs [2 adults, 1 child]. Clean, well appointed [towels were amazingly soft and the opposite color 'makeup' towel simply adorable!!! + smart]
Wedding: staff could NOT have been nicer. Typical bride stuff, last minute emergencies and scrambling and at every turn the staff did everything they could to help us in our craziness!
8 yo son didn't want to leave - and that's saying a LOT !

Room Tip: 2nd floor will be quieter - near back staircase is a good idea for easy access to car for unloading...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lady2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattersonville, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Lamies Inn for a weekend getaway July 12 to 14. We were aware it is an old building and thus were not surprised by any of the quirks of staying here. There is a sort of damp, musty smell in the hallways but not unbearable. We stayed in room 50. The room itself was comfortable and had everything we needed. King size bed was very comfortable. There is no fan in the bathroom. Also the water in the bathroom was difficult to regulate. It would suddenly get very hot and then go back to normal. There were 2 complimentary bottles of water. Air conditioning worked excellent in our room. Shower had decent water pressure. I didn't do any crazy inspection of the room but it appeared to be very clean.
I booked online and got a very good prepaid rate which included 10% off dinner when you make your dinner reservation online at booking. If you book this way and get the 10 % off make sure the lady at the front desk gives you the voucher for 10% off before you go to dinner. We didn't realize we needed the voucher and thus did not get our 10% off. We felt that dinner was not overly expensive so we didn't mind not getting the 10% off.
We enjoyed dinner at The Old Salt. I had the lobster mac and cheese and it was loaded with large chunks of lobster. The New England clam chowder was very good. We went to the tavern after dinner for some drinks and they had live music which was fun.
I would just say to anyone planning to stay here, this is an old historic building. Expect that it will have an old feel to it. This is not a brandy spanking new hotel, but it is quite comfortable. Enjoy it for what it is.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindylou515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We are on a month long cross country trip.This hotel seemed a good midway stop between Bar Harbor ME and the Woodshole.Trip Advisor said 93%. While its clean and quiet,it's also small and dated.Because of small dogs we were initially put in a room (38) adjacent to the active employee smoking area,dumpster,and some catering trucks, terrible.Why does having a small dog ( extra $) make you a second class citizen? When I complained, we were put in # 32 better,no smoke.Another concern is the "policy" of adding $50 to your room rate which you can "spend" @ the Tavern? I asked when it would be returned I was told "in a few days". "Do you notify me? No call your bank. " Seems like a set up.......

Room Tip: Challenge the dog policy of worst room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverlydbichons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We recently had a 3 night stay at Lamies Inn. There is NO ELEVATOR and the halls are not air conditioned. The room was sufficient, the staff friendly, and the dining area nice, but when we were taking pictures of our lovely canopy room the night before departure we ran into an issue. I moved the lamp slightly to accommodate the lighting I needed for the picture and found dead bedbug beneath it. We addressed the front desk discreetly, immediately. When asked of the most recent pest inspection they were unable to present any documentation, even though it was apparently a concern due to the beds being covered with bedbug protective zipped bags.They removed the bug and assured us we'd hear from the owner before bed or before check out. Nothing was ever mentioned of it to us. We spent a long duration of time and frustration shaking all of our clothing and bags out and making many trips to the vehicle as items were "cleared". Upon arriving home we received an email asking about our stay. Once again we addressed the issue and the fact of it being unresolved. Again, we've received no reply. Wouldn't recommend, primarily on the lack of professionalism and you might get bedbugs! We were fortunate to not bring them home!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dcdugans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamiesinn, Owner at Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with us. We strive to make the needs to every one of our guests our top priority.
We take every comment seriously and in most cases use them to as training tools to help us be better serve our guests.
We are a well-established Inn nestled in a building that dates back to the 1700’s and we pride ourselves in providing our guests with as many modern day amenities as possible.
While an elevator is not an option in our 18th century two story building, we are happy to personally accommodate any guest who needs assistance with their luggage , request the first floor, or in any other way! Many of our hotel rooms are located on the first level the same level as or lobby, guest services, continental breakfast, public restrooms and restaurant.
I would like to personally apologize for the miscommunication in reference to what you are now describing as a bed bug. I did receive a call from my evening staff at home and was told that you first thought it was a bug of some sort, but did not refer to the bug as a bed bug. The staff then examined the bottom of the lamp that you removed and brought to them and when it was seen in better light was agreed that it was not even a bug but a small foreign object stuck to the bottom side of the lamp.
The evening staff had also offered you a different room but you said that you were happy with that room. They then placed the bottom of the lamp into a sealed bag for me to inspect the next morning. I did inspect the bottom of the lamp and also agreed it was not any type of bug. I then asked day staff to tell you that I’d love to speak with you at checkout but that you left without any further discussion with them. You had also written a lovey note in our guest book (Had a great time thanks)
I am not sure why I did not receive your email regarding your stay with us.
As Property owners, we take great pride in the cleanliness of our property, as most reviews will support.
As a precaution: All of our staff and management have attended bed bug awareness training and the property has been inspected by bed bug canine within the last year. We follow protocol determined by the bed bug experts, such as protective mattress covers.
I would like to have the opportunity to discuss this further in person at a time of your convenience.
Please feel free to contact me directly.
Michael Higgins Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton
2.5 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#3 of 41 in Hampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#10 of 41 in Hampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#17 of 41 in Hampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.2 mi away
The OC Studio Suites
The OC Studio Suites
#11 of 41 in Hampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern

Property: Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Address: 490 Lafayette Road, Hampton, NH 03842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
#3 Business Hotel in Hampton
#3 Family Hotel in Hampton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamies Inn is the only full service hotel on route 1 from Portsmouth NH to Newburyport MA. With two great places under one roof you are sure to be pleased. Visit us direct to see about a special package that may suit your needs. Located in the center of Hampton and only 2 miles from New Hampshire’s seacoast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamies Inn And The Old Salt Tavern Hotel Hampton
Lamies Hotel Hampton
Lamies Hotel And Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing