We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a nice Inn for a B&B type weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This is a nice Inn for a B&B type weekend”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed here on business, and I will be staying again on business as my first experience was very good. Its an old Inn and tavern, with a little sports bar type tavern and a decent restaurant. Its 10 minutes from the beach. It offers a nice complimentary breakfast and room was clean. This is NOT a hotel in the likes of Marriot Courtyard however. This is an old tavern/inn. It is close to come good restaurants that are walking distance, and just up the road is a grocery and pharmacy. I am going to stay some other weeks here as well.

Room Tip: dont pick the "room above the tavern" room. it is loud sometimes due to live music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curtis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    133
    22
    17
    4
See reviews for
97
214
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fallbrook, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I recently stayed at Lamies Inn in Hampton New Hampshire with my 86 year old father. I place was charming and quaint. The room was charming and warm. The food was great. The best part was the staff. They were friendly, helpful and gracious during our stay. We will be back again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This inn is similar to a b&b. Small room, very clean with private bath. We have the canopy bed room. Comfortable but small room, remember the age, good mattress and linens.
Excellent continental breakfast served in Old Salt. Make sure you take time to est at Old Salt for finned. Excellent food, friendly service! Make reservations!

Room Tip: Saw reviews that said light shining in windows was a problem, but mot for us. We stayed in took 44.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wjhib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This small, family owned establishment (I can't bring myself to say motel - too impersonal sounding) is sort of like visiting a favorite aunt's home - comfortable, friendly and clean. It is by no means a luxury resort - but it is a blast from the past in that the staff is helpful, friendly and very accommodating. I stayed at Lamies (pronounced la mays) while taking a class the Windsor Institute. It's a convenient location to the school, the beach - and several very good local restaurants, one of which is the hotel's own. My single room was small - and it took me a while to find the lights switch for the bathroom - but it was spotless and comfortably furnished with a small frig, tv (I think - I was too tired after class to do anything but eat dinner and go to bed) and free Internet service. The continental breakfast was well stocked with healthy and not so healthy choices and the service is gracious and friendly. I had a fabulous lobster dinner one night - and it was all I have dreamt of since..... The restaurant staff will fix a box lunch to take to class, a picnic, whatever - what's not to love? All this at great prices! I'll be back!

Room Tip: If you are attending a Windsor class and don't want to keep your tools in your car, ask for a do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdh51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks Ranch, Tx
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Laurie and I were in total agreement about this place. The room was spotlessly clean,Laurie loved the canopy bed, she loved the pillows too. (she's pillow crazy),
The Old Salt was just the perfect way to end our vacation in New England, charming authentic colonial ambiance and solid cuisine.
All the people were friendly and responsive to our desires.
Wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CTWFreedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Spent one night at Lamie's in Hampton Beach and it will be on our itinerary for the next time we're in the area. We had a comfortable room and a wonderful dinner downstairs. Don't miss the lobster stew.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather_Gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My fiance and I spent a couple of nights here... We didn't feel the need to leave the building... The room was cozy, quiet, and very clean... The staff was amazing... The Old Salt restaurant, which is connected to the Inn, had amazing food and drinks... Great portions and price was very reasonable... They even provide complimentary breakfast each morning in the restaurant... Ver happy with this place... I will stay here again...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OliverNipples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampton hotels
2.5 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#3 of 41 in Hampton
870 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#16 of 41 in Hampton
75 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#9 of 41 in Hampton
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
217 reviews
2.2 mi away
The OC Studio Suites
The OC Studio Suites
#12 of 41 in Hampton
41 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn At Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern

Property: Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Address: 490 Lafayette Road, Hampton, NH 03842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
#3 Business Hotel in Hampton
#3 Family Hotel in Hampton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamies Inn is the only full service hotel on route 1 from Portsmouth NH to Newburyport MA. With two great places under one roof you are sure to be pleased. Visit us direct to see about a special package that may suit your needs. Located in the center of Hampton and only 2 miles from New Hampshire’s seacoast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamies Inn And The Old Salt Tavern Hotel Hampton
Lamies Hotel Hampton
Lamies Hotel And Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing