We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, warm and Cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kentville on the Ocean
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed at the Kentville 4 times and have had a wonderful experience each time. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Well kept , with flowers everywhere!!! The front porch is relaxing, with rocking chairs, and a beautiful ocean view, directly across from the beach. Coffee is provided each morning, and the staff is more than accomodating, they really make your stay pleasurable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 134 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

We fled from another hotel down the road (that would have gotten one star or less) so we were relieved that there was a vacancy at Kentville. The room was small and the furnishings dated, but you can't beat the view and the location. Our stay was during the famous Hampton Beach Seafood Festival in September and most of the area properties are fully booked. We found ourselves in the perfect location to walk to the festival, walk to breakfast, walk to other restaurants and basically did not have to drive anywhere during our stay. Since this beach is a state park, all of the lodging is across the street from the water. We had a small room and would have gotten a larger one if we had booked in advance. The staff at the front desk are very helpful and friendly and just a pleasure to be around. The rocking chairs on the veranda were always occupied with smiling happy guests and there seemed to be no bad views from any room. The room entrances in this area are from sliding glass doors that lead to wrap around balconies. Every guest house has a similar configuration with most having no interior hallways to the rooms. The mattress was probably the worst part of the whole thing. It may have been as old as the other furnishings. It appeared to be as clean as it could be, given the age of the surfaces and fabrics in the room.

Room Tip: Room # 6 had the center top balcony, a private roped off balcony area and an indoor entrance. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DawnK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We booked this hotel sight unseen...and we are so glad. The location is perfect to enjoy the Boardwalk and Hampton Beach, yet it is far enough away to be private. The hotel is quaint, charming and very clean. There is an excellent staff, and they were more than ready to accomodate our needs. Some of the rooms are small and cozy, but the balcony expanse more than makes up for that. We enjoyed eating meals on our balcony, which had a great ocean view. Hurricane Irene did not disrupt our vacation...but had she showed bad manners along the New Hampshire coastline, the hotel staff seemed more than ready to help us, if we had needed it. The hotel WIFI is only sporadically operational, but our Virgin Mobile Air Card filled in the gaps for us. We can't wait to go back to the Kentville. We have already made tentative reservations for next summer.

Room Tip: Side rooms have ocean views and balconies. Front rooms have oceanfront and balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jpklym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

That was the worst vacation for everyone in my family. We stayed for 2 nights and when we left, my back ached so so SO much. We found hairs, dead bugs, and even a used make-up brush... ON THE BED!!! We contacted the front desk about this and they said they would take care of it. They said they would send the housekeeper up right away. So we went to the beach. We got back to the hotel room and the stuff was still on the bed! Other then that, the beds were uncomfortable, the rooms were small, and the only good part was the location. Other then that, THE KENTVILLE HOTEL IS AWFUL!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ilovetraveling757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Our family stayed at The Kentville during fourth of July week and it was great. The room was clean, the hotel staff was extremely friendly, and the owner's daughter takes personal pride in this place. The location is right across from the beach which is very convenient. It's enough of a distance from the crowds but within easy walking distance to the Casino. The front porch with rocking chairs and tables was a great place for us to relax, play cards, and people watch! The rooms have a microwave and refrigerator. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gvms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

This is a standard beachfront hotel in a kind of tacky beach town in Maine -- but it's charming and homey, thanks to the very nice staff and great service. Rooms are small and just so so -- they've had a lot of use but are clean and tidy. Bathroom fixtures from the 60 in aqua blue! But everything works. Balconies with chairs look out onto the ocean -- and a nice front porch with comfy chairs for staring at the waves. Lots of games and books -- we weren't traveling with kids -- but it looks like a very family friendly place. In June, very reasonable rate -- about $100. Can't really beat that.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clayshapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

I stayed in the Kentville last summer because I have family in nearby Portsmouth, and wanted to stay on the beach. I will admit that when I was first planning my trip, I was a bit put off by the reviews online. But when I went to the website, and I called to talk to them, they were so friendly and informative that I decided to give it a try.

The hotel was just as charming as the woman on the phone. When we were looking for the hotel (located right on Ocean Blvd, Rt1A!), I saw a blue and white cape with bright pink flowers cascading off of every window and every rail. It was gorgeous, and I was glad to find out that this was my hotel! The prime beach parking is assigned and free for guests, and is right next to the hotel.

This hotel is family-owned, and it shows: everything from the staff to the furniture in the rooms gives you the feel of a very personal stay. The manager is the owners' daughter, and she works just as hard as any of her employees at keeping the guests happy. She knew most of the customers by name, even though some had only been here once before. They get a high number of repeat guests.

The location of the hotel is also wonderful, probably the best on the New Hampshire seacoast. The prices are low ($130) for the average room, and for a spectacular suite on the front of the house, the cost is worth it for the view. From Hampton Beach, the ocean view is completely unimpeded: you can see straight on to England! Even from their front porch (great spot on a summer night), you can see the tankers going by at sea. The hotel is right on the end of the strip, so you are walking distance to everything, but you don't have people constantly walking by on the sidewalk, which means it's quieter.

The only downfalls I found to this hotel are that, since it's a small business, the rooms run out fast, and it's not open in the winter (but then, nothing else in Hampton is either, so you don't really need to be there then.) The hotel is also not smoke-free yet, which can potentially cause problems for the next one in the room, if they didn't follow the rules to smoke on the deck. But for this hotel, I'd say it's worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kitters2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampton hotels
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#5 of 41 in Hampton
921 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#7 of 41 in Hampton
91 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#11 of 41 in Hampton
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand View Motel
Grand View Motel
#19 of 41 in Hampton
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kentville on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kentville on the Ocean

Address: 315 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3630
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
Price Range: $97 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kentville on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kentville On The Ocean Hotel Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing