We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Convenient, Reasonable”
Review of Blue Jay Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Jay Motel
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The owners (Mary & Rose) make all the difference at this motel. They are friendly, real people that treats their customers with understanding ad respect. The location is conveniently close to te beach. The building is not the newest or perfect by any means, and the bathroom is rather small. However, the room is clean and the cost is reasonable. Additionally, they gave us a free whale-watch pass and let everyone use the grill and umbrella table onsite. I would recommend the Blue Jay as a good alternative to a chain hotel.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 149 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Please dont expect state of the art motel chain accommodation when booking a night at Blue Jays - however, you will experience one of the nicest and most personal customer service by the owner there is...

We arrived at the hotel on our motorcycles soaked to the bones after a disastrous camping experience the night before, and the owner whent over and beyond helping us to get our tent dried out again.

The rooms are small, a little dated and for 128 a night somewhat on the upper end of the scale for what you get - having said that, the location is brilliant and just a block away from the beach, lots of yummy lobster restaurants near by and said service is outstanding.

we give it a 4 out of 5 due to rooms and price, otherwise it would definitely be a 5.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teamberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Stayed for the Seacoast Century bike ride on September 23rd. Wonderful warm greeting as we checked in. Simple room, clean and quiet. We had questions about dinner places and got very helpful guidance. Will be back when in Hampton again. Thanks!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZeldaBoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stayed the weekend of September 19th. Owners super nice, incredibly friendly. Nice, clean motel, close to everything. No complaints. Would stay there again!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SMC0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

The place was like a 50's or 60's type of motel, not retro. Rooms were comfortable and clean. The main part of the boardwalk was about a 10 or 15 minute walk away. Not too bad. Had a large gas grill for anyone to use. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank redwhiskeypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayed only one night, room was small but clean (needs a update) location was great not far from the beach, very quiet at night, owner was nice, price was a bit expensive

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Lina70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Blue Jay. The room was clean and comfortable. Mary was always available to chat or answer any questions.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skygranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampton hotels
3 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0.8 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#5 of 41 in Hampton
926 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#10 of 41 in Hampton
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
223 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#7 of 41 in Hampton
92 reviews
1.9 mi away
The OC Studio Suites
The OC Studio Suites
#11 of 41 in Hampton
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Jay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Jay Motel

Address: 186 Ashworth Ave, Hampton, NH 03842-3435
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
#1 Business Hotel in Hampton
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
#2 Family Hotel in Hampton
Price Range: $68 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Blue Jay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Jay Hotel Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing