We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth the price”
Review of Blue Jay Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Jay Motel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“worth the price”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

This is great place to stay. The rooms are clean. The owners are very friendly and make you feel at home when you get there. The rooms are small, but they have a comfortable bed, microwave, and mini fridge. While not on the main strip or the beach, it is only a short walk from both and makes it quieter at night. This place is a great place to stay if you want to get away from all of the activities at night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goneracein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    25
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
62
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This place is very well located near what I think is the best part of the beach at Hampton. Being on the back road, not nearly as loud or busy as the main strip.

The owner Mary is absolutely wonderful - helpful in everything - directions, restaurant suggestions (seriously, she was dead on every time), sightseeing or excursions. Can't say enough good about her.

The good points - the place was cleaned daily, linens were clean and fresh (saw the linen truck every day too) although the bedspread and blanket were old and a bit scary. It was too hot to use them anyway. Room smelled musty, like any seasonal place, but it was kind of strong with some strong deodorizer. Shower is tiny, bathroom floor had burns (although really, is that the motel's fault or the slobs who dropped their smokes when smoking was allowed?), table was broken and rickety repair which should have been better, TV worked fine, small fridge was nice to have, carpet was ancient and I wished it gone, better blinds would have made for better privacy (you could see the bed walking past the door, even with the blinds down - too much space)., being old thin walls you can hear people outside and next door. I believe she is renovating room by room as funds allow, it's just plain old old in some ways.

If you're okay with low-grade motels as long as the sheets are clean and the owners are nice, this place is really great. If musty carpet, old bedspreads and old tin showers make you cringe, don't come here. Most of Hampton is family owned small business, Mary is one of the best and I would come back easily, but I'm okay with the old motel motif so long as it's clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a new reno room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzuki267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2011

I love coming to the Blue Jay. I've been coming here for years with family, and most recently stayed with my boyfriend, and every time, our expectations are greatly exceeded. They are constantly voted #1 on the Beach. The rooms are extremely clean, relaxing, and accommodating to all your needs. The owners Mary and Rose are always so sweet, friendly, and their customer service is top notch. The location is perfect, set behind the action on the strip, just steps from the beach! The hotel has been around for over 60 years, and so many customers return every year that I've gotten to know. We all can count on the BEST service here at Blue Jay. I HIGHLY recommend booking a stay here next time you plan on taking a trip to HB. You will be SO happy you did!!

Room Tip: Call and book a room ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelseylei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schererville, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Traveling for a couple days on the road before checking into Blue Jay Motel we were tired. After checking in and talking to Mary, we felt so at home. Everything about our trip was amazing and we would love to thank Mary for all the help she helped us with.

Mary if your reading this this is from the two girls traveling to 50 states to volunteer, and we would love to thank you for an amazing stay. We will meet again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sp10123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2011

mary and rose are very very nice thepui you in confiance and people respect is ok.if you need a place to go your sure to get it if you ask mary or rose.room are clean and your naer the beach

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank psy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

I will miss our kitchenette unit. Comfy, cosy and clean. We have looked forward to quiet sleep hours, after a full day experiencing vacation fun in Hampton and the surrounding area. Rose and Mary are the most welcoming hostesses you can possibly hope for, they make you feel at home right away. The walk to the boardwalk is a healthy one, 10 minutes at a good pace.Work off all the Boardwalk treats like fried dough and ice cream. Our six year old has managed this walk very well. The Blue Jay is worth every penny. Would not hesitate to spend our holidays at the Blue Jay again! Fun, sun, and friendly faces.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunfun37742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Firts time at the Blue Jay and not the last ! Mary and Rose are two wonderfull persons that I will never forget for there kindness and attention to there clients always there for everyone... The room was perfect and clean, 5 minutes walk to the beach... Or vacation was perfect we meet nice peoples and add fun ... The soul at the Blue Jay is special ! You have to go there to see and feel it ! If you decide to go there I whish you a nice trip.
Chantal & Jocelyn
From Montréal

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Champs-Tale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.8 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#2 of 41 in Hampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0.9 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#9 of 41 in Hampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#17 of 41 in Hampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn At Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Jay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Jay Motel

Property: Blue Jay Motel
Address: 186 Ashworth Ave, Hampton, NH 03842-3435
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
#1 Business Hotel in Hampton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
#2 Family Hotel in Hampton
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Blue Jay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Jay Hotel Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing