We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FRAUD- charged $175 for allegedly having a dog.”
Review of Atlantic Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atlantic Motel
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Bangor, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“FRAUD- charged $175 for allegedly having a dog.”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Without a call or an email, they charged me an extra $175 two days after departure because they claimed I had a dog in a non pet-friendly room. When calling to question the charges the woman that answered was rude, unprofessional, and would not help.
I guess the staff is trying to earn a few extra $$ on the side?
If you're still undecided, I may as well mention the dirty underwear left in the dresser from a previous guest. Also, they claim to have internet in the rooms, but ours did not.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 207osride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticmotel391, Manager at Atlantic Motel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Sir,

First and foremost you were charged for having a pet in a non-pet friendly room. When you originally made the reservation with Booking.com it is stated there that we do accept pets, however it is upon request, since not all of our rooms are pet friendly. When we spoke over the phone in regards to your reservation you never once mentioned you planned on bringing a pet. I spoke with you twice because you ended up cancelling through Booking and then remade the reservation. On Booking.com you would have seen that there were two different room types - Standard Double Room and Standard Double Room Pet Friendly. Maybe you were put off because the pet friendly room was more expensive (that price included the pet fee). Had you made us aware that you were traveling with a dog this entire situation would have been avoided.

Next you contacted us after receiving our confirmation letter because you were going to be arriving past the time our office was open. On our policies, which is stated in the same email that has the information after check-in time, it reads - 3) PETS: We have specific rooms that are Pet-Friendly (small to mid-sized dogs only), if you are travelling with a pet it is required that you notify us in advance of your arrival to assure proper placement into a room that is Pet-Friendly. Without notice we may not be able to accommodate you. Again, we were not notified that you would be bringing a dog. When you signed the paperwork the following day it is again stated on there that there are no pets allowed in rooms that are not pet-friendly and that there is a $250 fee if there was a pet in a non-pet friendly room. Since housekeeping had to do additional cleaning and the carpet had to be washed - due to dog hair that was all over the carpet and beds. The fee is to cover the extra time cleaning and the resources to clean up after a dog has been in a non-pet friendly room.

Housekeeping went to clean your room and heard a dog barking on the other side of the door. When you answered the door, housekeeping saw the dog. Housekeeping came down to the office to report the dog and when I went upstairs to address the situation there was no response when I knocked on the door and the room was empty. Also, the security cameras in the back emergency exit hallway have you bringing the dog outside shortly after the time housekeeping reported the dog to the office. As you stated in the phone call you would be disputing this transaction with your credit card company, I have already made a copy for Merchant Services.

At checkout the woman you were traveling with came to checkout and we asked if she could have you come to the office since you were not in your room every other time we went up to talk to you. You never came down to the office.

In regards to the clothing in the drawers, it is ironic that this is the first time it has been brought to our attention. You were here for three days and besides the night you checked in past office hours, the office was open from 9AM - 10 PM each day.

I apologize that you felt as though the woman you spoke with on the phone was rude and unprofessional, but she was a bit shaken up after she was yelled at the entire conversation.

In regards to the internet - we do not guarantee it in all of the rooms, we do however guarantee it in all of the public areas of our building. Had you mentioned to the front desk that the internet was not working they would have been more than helpful in getting it set up on your computer and give you tips on how to get it to work in your room. Often times the Wi-Fi settings need to be adjusted in order for it to work.

I am sorry that you were unhappy about the additional charges, but we take our policies very seriously and it is not just for ourselves, if the next person in that room had an allergy, we could be held responsible. We tried to contact you while you were staying with us, but when we requested for you to come to the front desk, you never did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    16
    11
    14
See reviews for
43
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent 3 nights at The Atlantic Motel in early August 2013, in two rooms on the 2nd floor close to the stairway.

The location along the boulevard was close enough for a 10-minute walk to the shopping and entertainment, but far enough away from the traffic and crowds.

We also liked that it was only two quick turns (right) out of the parking lot to get to the I-95 interstate, to explore the area.

The fenced-in, private parking lot (you were given a piece of paper with a number designated to your room #) made it so we never had to pay the outrageous parking fees.

The pool is not heated, however we took a dip on an average warm (not too hot) evening at just before 10pm, and while it was cold, we quickly warmed up and loved our late evening swim. Little kids (we brought a 9 and 11 year old) will love the outdoor pool on the ground floor by the office.

If you want to stay right at the beach and don't mind a little extra walk to the main attractions, this is a great place to stay in Hampton Beach.

Room Tip: The free WiFi was sometimes hard to pick up from inside our rooms. We found that if you stood outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke au Québec (Canada)
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Perfect little beach hotel with young children. Very close to the sea and to the boardwalk. Very clean and big. Great staff . Kitchennette perfect for family. We are going back for sure. The only negative point is that the swimming pool is not heated

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petalle_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed with my kids and my mother over a long weekend. The hotel's location was a little busy for me but right across from the beach. Of course, it's much better than further down the road where all the high traffic is.

The room was fine - this is not a new property but it's been kept up pretty well. The kitchenette was a nice perk, even though we really just used the mini-fridge.

There is a small pool but my kids were really too little for it, and it was too cold. We spent most of the time at the beach anyway.

Only "problem" was parking. There is free parking for one car per guest. Each night, our spot was taken when we left and came back. One night, the restaurant next door had valet parked a customer's car in it. The staff was very helpful in sorting it out each time, but it was a bit of a nuisance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great little place! Location is perfect, right across the beach and short walk to the boardwalk which is a great entertainment at night. Nice to wake up in the morning with a beautiful ocean view! Rooms are clean and nicely decorated and very convenient to have a kitchenette.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oliviaeva12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and young daughter came here from MA for a quick getaway. It was a great location right accross from the beach. Like that it seemed to be a good spot for family with young kids. The staff was helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and AC worked like a charm. I liked the option of the pool as the waves at the beach were really big when we went. Convenient and in walking distance to food, bars and kid friendly fun. Good value for the money given its good location / lots to do. Will come back next year, can't wait!!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shelley19692013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticmotel391, Manager at Atlantic Motel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Shelley19692013,

Thank you for your review! We are always happy to hear when our guests have a great experience! We hope to see you again!

Thank you,
Atlantic Motel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

So disgusted. Staff were rude and lied about everything. Unkept, not clean. Bugs and dirt inside. Pool was small cold and dirty. Overpriced and sickening. Biggest waste of money. I paid Half price and stayed in a nicer old motel in nh. Do not waste your time or money

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ambs523529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticmotel391, Manager at Atlantic Motel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Ambs523529,

I am sorry that you had an unpleasant experience with us and I know that you had wished to cancel your reservation at the last minute. However, we adhere to our cancellation policy due to our short summer season and although the weather was bad we cannot process a refund based on that.

I am not sure why you would say we lied to you, all of our policies are explicitly outlined in our confirmation letters and our website, as well as over the phone any time someone makes a reservation that is non-cancellable. You were also advised when you made the reservation that the full amount would be taken then since it was for only one night. When you originally called to cancel your reservation you said you could not make it, but showed up fifteen minutes later when we informed you that the reservation would not be cancelled without losing your deposit.

To note, we do not advertise a heated pool nor do we tell customers that the pool is heated. We also have one of the larger pools at the beach. In regards to the cleanliness, we clean rooms daily while guests are staying with us and once they check out we do a thorough cleaning to prepare for the incoming guests.

Again, I am sorry that you were unhappy with your stay with us and you felt as though we lied to you.

Thank you for your review,
Atlantic Motel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hampton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#9 of 41 in Hampton
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#3 of 41 in Hampton
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marguerite Motel
Marguerite Motel
#8 of 41 in Hampton
283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand View Motel
Grand View Motel
#13 of 41 in Hampton
73 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harris Sea Ranch Motel
Harris Sea Ranch Motel
#21 of 41 in Hampton
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Motel

Property: Atlantic Motel
Address: 391 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3652
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Atlantic Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing