We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never agiain”
Review of Atlantic Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Atlantic Motel
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Management is not friendly. With a full house they closed at 6:00p.m. and were not available until 10:00 a.m. they next day.if you checked in after 6:00p.m. there was a note on the door to call them @ a given no.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UpstateNewYorkDigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 78 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2008

We (2 women + 3 kids) decided to go to the beach on the spur of the moment and didn't spend time reviewing hotels. The man on the telephone was friendly and made it sound like a good place to stay. Upon arrival the first thing we noticed was the pool. It was filthy and there was sand on the bottom. It looked like it hadn't been cleaned for years, I don't think anyone would dare to use it. The man at the desk was slow and asked the same questions 2 or 3 times. He asked us to check the room to make sure it meets our needs but didn't want the children to go in as the room was in "immaculate" condition. We were laughing about that because we could see things on the carpet and figured that he must have bad eyesight. Later he asked to make sure that the children realize that there are other people staying at that hotel. We found that offensive because he should wait to see if there is a problem first before speaking this way. If they don't like children they should say so. It turned out that we had drunk guests waking up the kids in the middle of the night. Shortly after we were in the room the man from the desk knocked on the door asking for the credit card expiration date. I had given it to him on the phone and upon arrival, I thought he had already charged the card and felt this was just an excuse to knock. He was creeping me out and I renamed him "Norman".(Bates). As we inspected the room more closely there was a thick layer of dust on the TV screen, the floor needed vacuuming, and the next day we discovered a gross looking stain on the top sheet. I sure hope they change the sheets there (yikes!). So, to sum it all up: never again would we stay at The Atlantic Motel at 391 Ocean BLVD. It was nice to be able to view the ocean and the fireworks from the deck but we could have had that at many other places.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank faraway1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticmotel391, Manager at Atlantic Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2010

I am sorry that your stay with us was not as nice as we both wish it could have been. At the time we were going through a change of ownership, so the first season that the new management haad taken over was definitely a rough patch for us. Since your stay we have completely renovated all of our rooms, including new carpets, furniture, decorations, and we have repainted all of the rooms as well.

As for the pool, it is seasonal, which we advertise on our website. Chances are we had just had it uncovered for the season, which is why it was dirty. It get a lot of wear and tear, even with the cover on it all winter. During our peak season when the pool is open it is vacuumed, skimmed and cleaned daily.

If you are ever in the area again, please stop in and ask to see a room. Our returning guests have loved to see the new changes over the last few seasons. Thank you for your comments and honesty, it can only help us fix problems and make things better for future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2008

We stayed at the Atlantic Motel because it was away from the crowded beach and all the traffic. The view was wonderful but the room was small, dirty and some of the blinds on the slider were busted or missing. You couldn't walk barefoot on the carpet because it was so dirty it made your feet feel gross. I'd like to stay there again because of the location but their is no attention given to cleanliness.

Stayed: August 2007
4  Thank pegaleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

We stayed at the Atlantic motel on Ocean Avenue, it was horriable. The rooms were disgusting and smelly for $150
per night your better off going up the coast to rye or Portsmouth
much nicer beaches. Hampton Beach was too crowded and alot of teenagers just hanging out.

4  Thank catlover626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticmotel391, Manager at Atlantic Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2010

Thank you for your feedback. We really do appreciate all of our reviews, good and bad. Since your stay with us, The Atlantic Motel has gone through major room renovations. We have recarpeted, repainted, put in new furniture, decorations, etc. If you are ever in the area please stop in and ask to see a room. You might be surprised to see some of the new changes we have made.

As for the beach, that is not something we can control. Hampton Beach is a very popular beach, especially with a younger crowd, and it does tend to get pretty busy on certain days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank V_Lagueux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mireille B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krysten2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#5 of 41 in Hampton
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Spiral Suites
Sea Spiral Suites
#32 of 41 in Hampton
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#7 of 41 in Hampton
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#6 of 41 in Hampton
916 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#10 of 41 in Hampton
86 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marguerite Motel
Marguerite Motel
#9 of 41 in Hampton
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Motel

Address: 391 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3652
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Atlantic Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing