We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes giving the benefit of the doubt is NOT a great idea!”
Review of Stone Gable Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stone Gable Inn
Ranked #38 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sometimes giving the benefit of the doubt is NOT a great idea!”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

There isn't a lower rating then terrible unfort, We tried to give the motel the benefit of the doubt and give them a try. BIG mistake! we and 3 other couples gong up for our wedding not only had our rooms booked wrong, and we were confirmed on phone by the owners mother the manager,and the night manager, two double beds in each room, but when we arrived, we ALL received ONE bed in each room. For an hour tried talking friendly with his mother, whom had English speaking issues, but then put her son on the phone who was running the pine motel 3miles away. He apologized for his mothers mistake, but couldn't fix it due to NO available rooms. As we were trying to have their mistake fixed, his mother went from being the manager to "I'm not the manager I'm the housekeeper", and told me to PROVE we spoke to her, He arrived in a truck and sent her to the other room after those lies, and then proceeded to tell me i cant prove i spoke and others spoke to her and the other manager. After an hour in the heat and rude comments from his mother, he tried to have us pay 80$ for another room when we were told there wasn't any available AND pay for a cot to "make everyone happy". In the end we received the ONE bed in the room, making some sleep on the floor and a room at his pine motel with two beds for the other 6 people. Sunken tub, one towel, one roll of toilet paper, and a 10hour box of dunkin donut stale donuts later, we were excited to leave the smoke filled (NON smoking room) and run to our parents motel. Booking.com WILL hear about this, i even the dirty floor in bathroom i tried to over look, but we WILL never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnandShannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    4
    3
    46
See reviews for
19
20
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I read all reviews but don't always believe until I experience it myself. I'm not too fussy and just needed a place to sleep during the 4th for 1 night. Arrived at 5pm to check in and waited 30 minutes at desk for someone to arrive after pressing buzzer and calling. Manuel pulled up with p/u truck- arrived and was so rude, arrogant, and obnoxious I cancelled my reservation. When I said if he tried to bill me for the night,I would sue him- he laughed and said-"do you know how many times I've heard that?" Listen to the other reviews-DON'T GO!! P.S.-booking.com did a great job helping me and made sure I didn't get billed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hampton hotels

Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stayed only one night, room was small but clean. Location was great, not far from the beach, very quiet at night, owner was nice, price was good and no bugs. Owner re did the rooms and it shows. Good job Mo! You finally did away with the old rooms and made this place nice again. As always see you in July.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This place has bedbugs! And in need of an upgrade. I would definitely not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Missjack16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Room was dirty. Fixtures/furnishings so old I wouldn't bother putting them in a yard sale. No toilet paper holder. TV did not work on any channel. Dust/cobwebs on air conditioner were at eye level...no excuse not to be clean! Envelope left for "tips" for housekeeping...my "tip" would have been "CLEAN THE ROOM!" Slept with our clothes on, did not walk barefoot at any time...ugh! Mattresses flipped up when you sat on the edge on any side. "Receptionist" appeared to be the maintenance man (but he was polite). Only positive thing was that the advertised WI-FI worked. I wish I had read the reviews and heeded the warnings but we were tired...lesson learned!!! I wish I had taken pictures to post...sorry...

Room Tip: Sleep in your car...save your money...wasn't worth the $97 we paid!!! :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PavKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

My friend and I showed up to this hotel for a girls weekend. We asked to see the room before we actually checked in. The room had a smell to it, the mini fridge was nasty and the bathroom was not even clean!! After telling the man at the desk that we would not be taking the room, I was told that my credit card would not be charged. When looking at my bank account online, the hotel charged me for the room. So I called the hotel and the "manager" started yelling at me and hung up. When I called back she told me that she could not talk to me because she was busy and needed to talk to "upper management" about this and once again hung up on me. These people are dishonest and nasty people. DO NOT BOOK HERE!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Stayed first night, and got bit up with bugs. Move to another room next day, and got more bits. This place very dirty with blood stained sheets, Checked out the next day and wouldn't refund my weekly payment. Very Dishonest

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mikemaup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton
0.5 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#16 of 41 in Hampton
75 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton South - Seabrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#3 of 41 in Hampton
870 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sun & Surf Motel
Sun & Surf Motel
#25 of 41 in Hampton
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn At Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Gable Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Gable Inn

Property: Stone Gable Inn
Address: 869 Lafayette Rd, Route 1, Hampton, NH 03842-1271
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stone Gable Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stone Gable Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Gable Hotel Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing