We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treasure ”

The Old Salt Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 114 Restaurants in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Saugerties, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A treasure ”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We happened upon the Old Salt Eating and Drinking Place by accident. What a lucky find!!! Lovely ambiance, family friendly, reasonable prices, delicious food and substantial portions.

Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    186
    78
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Me and my family stopped here for dinner tonight. The atmosphere is an old style ocean beach theme but it's lovely. We all absolutely loved our food! Best steak tips I've ever had!! If I would ever visit this area again, this would defiently be on my list to eat!!!

Helpful?
Thank Kristyna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch with fireplace and music”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Broad assortment of breakfast and lunch items arrayed very nicely, with plenty of space to maneuver. Basic fare and well done. Musician-singer was pleasant and not too loud, fire going nearby, friendly staff. Great value. Desserts ok, not super. Neat ambiance to the buidling. Didn't feel at all rushed though it was a very busy time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Nice seafood lunch”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stopped in on a drive-by...no research, no recommendations. This is a good sized place that has apparently (according to the history on the place-mat) changed hands a number of times over the decades; but stayed true to its mission of a good local independent seafood restaurant. We had baked stuffed shrimp and fried scallops and were happy with the food and the service. The prices were a little on the high side but we went away happy and would go back again. There was a wedding going on in an adjacent room and as a result there was occasional cheering and applause. I would have liked to have had a little more separation from those festivities, but I guess when you are in Hampton NH in the off-season your choices are limited and you consider yourself lucky to get good food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trainman334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Craving fried seafood--this is the place”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is a traditional seafood and comfort food family restaurant in the seacoast area of NH. The fried seafood is delicious. Large portions. Traditional fare on the rest of the menu. Clam chowder. This is not gourmet food but provides a great value and numerous traditional comfort food options doe the picky eaters in any family. Bring the kids. Great for an office lunch. Large groups.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RubySlippers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Salt Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Old Salt Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing