We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Dirtiest Hotel I Have Ever Been In”
Review of Boardwalk Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boardwalk Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Hampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Suprise, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Dirtiest Hotel I Have Ever Been In”
Reviewed July 19, 2009

We planned on staying two nights. When we showed up, they had us pull into a dirty, trash-line alley to unload our bags since there is nowhere else to park. The cops came and were telling people they could not park in the alley to unload. We brought our bags up to the two rooms, and they were both very different in size for the same amount of money. The accomidations were super old and the place was loud (cars driving by, bar below the hotel, teenagers yelling outside on the boardwalk, glass bottles being dumped in the trash right below the windows of the rooms). The worst part was the beds. Our bed had pubic hair, urine, and semen stains all over the sheets, blanket, and pillow case. We called upstairs to our friends in the other room...they didn't do much better with blood and sand in their bed, along with wrinkles as if it had already been used without the sheets being washed. Disgusting to say the least. We talked to manager at midnight, checked out of the rooms (with no cancellation fees), and drove to a nearby Holiday Inn Express which had very large, clean rooms for less money. DO NOT STAY AT THIS PLACE...IT IS A COMPLETE DIVE!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROMIL01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    30
    11
    3
    16
See reviews for
32
44
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Lebanon, NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2009

We went online to find a hotel in Hampton, NH, late one night, and I filled out a form for this hotel after 9:30 pm. the night before we were set to leave. I got a phone call about 10:00 pm from this hotel to tell me about the hotel, the prices, new renovations, etc. The quick response impressed us. It was convenient having the restaurant downstairs from the room. The room was clean, newly painted, new furniture, small fridge, balcony (!!!!) overlooking the boardwalk and beach. The bed was the only one at a hotel we have EVER been at, that was comfortable to sleep on. The staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating. What totally blew us away was the menu and food. Everything we ate and drank was FANTASTIC!!!! Lunch or dinner, NOT ONE COMPLAINT!! INCREDIBLE food, that was worth the money . I don't know who their chef is, but Kudos to them... Blown away by our stay, and definately will come back to them.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redgar67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2008

If you are looking for a place that is old, dirty, loud and way over priced, this is the place for you. It was so bad I left after one night and paid the so called cancellation fees (which was more then a nights stay) that has been reported to the NH attorney general and the Hampton Chamber of Commerce. They don't have an excercise room, but not to worry because doing the three flights of dirty, smelly stairs with all your luggage from a parking lot a block away is a great work out. There is an alarm clock though, but you don't have to set it, the smashing beer bottles being dumped in the trash (right below your window) every ten minutes will keep you up. Also no need to bring anything to read because there is only light from the broken ceiling fan and no tables. I could go on and on, I hope you get the picture, and oh yes the manager, at least that's who she said she was, was rude unprofessional and could have used a good shower.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Bix115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2008

We had tickets to see Chris Isaak at the Hampton Beach Casino so I was looking for a hotel in close proximity to this venue.
I found and booked two nights at an ocean front room at the Boardwalk Inn and Cafe, since it was right next door to the casino.
The room was spacious and it had the great private deck overlooking the ocean and the "strip" at Hampton Beach.
The bathroom was tiny with a stand up shower, sink, mirror and toilet.
The room had a large but uncomfortable bed, a bureau, two nightstands, a mini fridge, tv, and air conditioner.
We had maid service but our room was never cleaned. So, fresh towels were never provided and our bed was never made.
We had to take toilet paper from an open supply closet so we didn't run out.
They hotel offered a free continental breakfast which translated into stale coffee and pastry in plastic (similar to Hostess mini coffee cakes).
The hotel does have an adjoining restaurant which serves lunch and dinner.
However, my husband got food poisoning during dinner so we didn't try any other meals.
The lounge had karaoke which is one of my favorite pasttimes. Yet, the karaoke host chose to sing all the songs so I never got a chance to hold the microphone.
He was talented but egos with talent don't mix and the point of a karaoke show is to engage the audience and encourage them to sing, not to hold a one-man song night.
The other complaint is that we never saw a manager or any "front desk" staff. We checked in with the bartender and checked out with an inadequate staff member who seemed to care less about the guests and more about sitting on her [--] playing with her dog.

  • Liked — private deck on ocean front room
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank HC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2008

My family and I stayed here last month (my husband, 2 year old daughter and mom) and we will never be back. Well to start off our check in time was 1:00pm so we got there by one and was told our room wasn’t ready.... seeing as parking was a block away it was extremely inconvenient for us to carry all of our bags back to the car. So we were told to come back in an hour, so we get back a little after 2 and guess what still not ready. Finally around 2:30 it was ready. We stayed in a suite so my mom could sleep on the pull out (which broke the second night leaving my mom to sleep on a couch), and we would have the bedroom. The rooms were supposed to be newly renovated which they look like they were but it was horrible there was holes in the wall, paint chipping off, and the room was ridiculously small. Then around 8 at night to top off our first day, there was a fire! no smoke alarms went off, we had out find out by someone outside yelling up to my husband in the window to get out there was a fire. So we had to stay outside till 11 at night with a 2 year old, we didn’t even get an apology. On our 3rd day we were told that housekeeping wasn’t coming in because no one was checking in. Let me remind you, the only trash cans you have are in the bathroom and are maybe only 7 inches tall...so they needed to be emptied, we needed new towels for the bathroom, and when we said something to the management it was almost like they didn’t want to be bothered. So apparently if you want a clean room pray that someone is checking in. It was so loud, which I understand you can expect being right on the boardwalk, but between the fights at the casino, and the beer bottles being dumped in the garbage it was extremely loud. so needless to say we had enough and left a day early.

  • Liked — it was right on the boardwalk
  • Disliked — everything about the hotel
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kayleensmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2008

During my stay at the Boardwalk, I was completely dissatisfied with the rooms, housekeeping and management. The rooms are tiny and fiflty. It's is always loud. The casino is right next to it, they have a band playing until late at night and the management is not courteous whatsoever. I called and was told that I would get an ocean front room when I got their I got a room with windows facing the side of the casino. You have to look out the window to see the ocean if you can put up with the smell of the trash cans, etc., below and the noise early in the morning from the trash pick up sounds like a train wreck. The food was okay, nothing to write home about.

never again:>(.

  • Liked — It's across from the ocean
  • Disliked — Very unfriendly environment i.e, staff and management.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bootsiebootsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2008

we stayed at the boardwalk inn last august. the only complaint i have is that at that time their website said "newly renovated rooms". i swear, the room we had, had a sleeping area and rroom with a sofa. there was a huge red stain on the carpet. we thought someone had been murdered there. the food at the pub/restaurant was good. as far as the loud music, we were in the crowd, that's one thing we went for. we walked the entire strip looking for entertainment and ended up back at the boardwalk. they had karoke, but the singers were good. they actually seemed to be regulars. call us gluteons for punishishment. we're going back to the boardwalk inn tomorrow, 8/4/08

  • Liked — Location - Center Of Boardwalk
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.3 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#3 of 41 in Hampton
870 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#9 of 41 in Hampton
83 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#17 of 41 in Hampton
74 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0.1 mi away
Hillcrest Inn
Hillcrest Inn
#20 of 41 in Hampton
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Inn

Property: Boardwalk Inn
Address: 139 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3618
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Inn is a lively boutique hotel located next to the Casino Ballroom in Hampton Beach, NH. Below the Boardwalk Inn, you will find The Boardwalk Cafe & Pub featuring outdoor dining on both floors of the restaurant. Dine & Stay packages are available in both spring and fall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Hotel Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing