We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NASTY!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Emerald Isle Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Emerald Isle Motel
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Greenfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NASTY!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

This is the worst place ever! I walked in and walked out had to go to the store and buy disinfectant wipes and spray to clean the bathroom! The only reason I stayed was because i payed for a week ahead of time and couldn't get a refund. My husband asked on the second day for someone to clean are room. Six hours past room still not clean, he was so fed up he got a vacuum from them and did it himself! Pool area was falling apart and there was a bucket with something nasty in it next to the pool the hole time we were there. OHHH and don't for get the smell like something died! I will never return there, just HORRIBLE!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carmens1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    11
    3
    36
See reviews for
27
20
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

wow, it is not a really nice motel at all. The doorknob was broken and the drapes and bedspread were crummy, very dated, old and dark and dreary. THe kitchen has ONE PAN, ONE PLATE, and TWO COFFEE CUPS, that was the extent of the pots and dishes to make foods with, the microwave worked, but the TV didn't the cable man came while we were there but couldn't figure it out. You couldn't lower the sound without going over to the tv and doing it manually. What a pain that was! The kitchen was dreary, a cabinet was missing and it has water in it, stained from a drip???? The bathroom, well, it was filthy and I didn't want to shower in it so I didn't. The clientele were not tourists, but people who stay there all the time, live there I guess, don't really know what to say on that subject. We didnt see any bugs thank god, but it doesn't mean that they weren't there, we kept a light on most of the time at night. I couldn't wait till we got home, we had stayed there before when the Irish couple owned it and it was nice, much better then it is now. Yes, the rooms did smell, of what I don't know, not tobacco necessarily but just a bad smell, moldy, musty, not fresh air for sure. You might want to spend a little more and get a motel that you don't mind staying in for a couple of days. We were sorry we hadn't. It was in a nice area that is about all I can say thats good about this place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovetheocean076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hampton hotels

Keene, NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2009

Stay away from this place. The bed we had belongs in a garbage dump. The owners should be ashamed to provide such poor accommodations for travlers. Not to mention the cobwebs in the bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GRappler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
augusta
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2009

FIrst time ever having to find a hotel in Hampton. Usually stay at the beautiful WIndjammer by the Sea Hotel but the owners needed to close for a few wks. I had an art show in the area and needed a mid priced room for 4 days. Checked out 5 different mid priced hotels in the area and they were all disgusting. THis one was slightly cleaner but not saying much. THe walls were dirty and had duck tape on them. Not sure the reason for the duck tape. There was mold in the tub and cigerette burn holes on the bed linens. The air was very stale. Did not receive any room service my entire visit. On a very nice residential street so you would have higher expectations. My only compliment was they had a new shower head. It stood out because ever thing else was old, broken down and dated.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pippenAugusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kfryklund
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

I was very skeptical of this place when I read these reviews. This was the only place we could find for seafood fest and decided to go, despite the poor reviews. We got three rooms for 11 people and all had a really good time. The owner was incredibly nice and made sure we had everything we needed (she even brought us some ice cream while we played basketball).

Also, we went their for Seafood Fest, and the shuttles came right to the front of the building to pick us up and drop us off, so we didn't have to worry about driving to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfryklund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmeraldIsleMotel, Manager at Emerald Isle Motel, responded to this review, October 1, 2009
Thanks for the kind words and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

This is the worst place I have ever been and I went on Spring Break in college. Never mind the gross smell. The place looked run down before we even pulled in. I never read reviews and I am sooo sorry that I did not before I went. How bad do you think it could be; even worse!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank l2travelNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2008

Stay away! This hotel is deplorable. It is old, run down and dirty. The washrooms were a disgrace. A number of the residents were clearly, not tourists. Many appeared to be vagrants with “no fixed address”. They stood in the door ways to their rooms smoking cigarettes, and staring at our kids as we unpacked. A very distressing experience for a family with young children. The price was not much cheaper that the chain hotels!!

The owner was very uncooperative and refused to refund our money even though we chose not stay the night. It was a costly mistake!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
2 Thank Newfietourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampton hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#17 of 41 in Hampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
1.3 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#10 of 41 in Hampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#3 of 41 in Hampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#1 of 13 in Hampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Isle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Isle Motel

Property: Emerald Isle Motel
Address: 351 Winnacunnet Road, Hampton, NH 03842
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Emerald Isle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Emerald Isle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Isle Hotel Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing