We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal I've had in a long time”

Ron's Landing At Rocky Bend
Ranked #6 of 113 Restaurants in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $29
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
218 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best meal I've had in a long time”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We drove over from Manchester. Well worth the drive. After a late walk on the beach we wanted something light. Ron's has a "lighter fare" menu available in the bar with several of the main menu items in a smaller size. The lighter fare portions were just right. Both of ordered seafood dishes. The seafood mac and cheese was the best I've ever had. The main restaurant has a better view and white tablecloth dining.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ghodecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    72
    28
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“2nd visit, not disappointed..”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Had gone a few years ago and still remember the swordfish as being super fresh and cooked to perfection. My self and companions know that the servings are beyond generous, so chose to forego appetizers. Though I was sorely tempted. Even reading the menu is mouth watering.
This time I chose the seafood scampi and was not disappointed. Just the right amount of seasonings not to overpower the individual favors of mussels, shrimp, lobster etc. Companion chose the blackened swordfish and when not enticed by vegetable choices, server was happy to make changes.
Personally I was stuffed, but companions opted for dessert, so what the heck. Menu was heavy on chocolate items. Ice cream only light choice, but I chose the creme brûlée, light and tasty. Chocolate cheesecake was prettily presented and companion scoffed it down. Yum, I guess.
It was busy waning days of summer. The view from the second floor porch with the light of the setting sun was mesmerizing. Definitely recommend the porch. The bar was full and most seemed to be enjoying entrees not just drinks and apps. In the summer there is valet parking.
The menu will change again in October providing a reason for a return visit. Though a little pricey don't think you will be disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great crabcakes”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The food was good but not the most memorable; maybe it was the bottle of wine that makes me forget! I do remember the crab cakes were the best I've ever had. The waiter was awesome and the beach-centered decor added to the experience. Very romantic environment.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seastardodell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“THEE best restaurant at Hampton Beach!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I must admit, I have a condo just blocks away from Ron's Landing...which might explain why I feel justified in giving this restaurant a 5 star rating.

1. Food: the seafood is remarkably fresh and they will cook it however you like. Indeed, I have an allergy to scallops and was able to get some dishes without said scallops and they were wonderful.
2. Service: this is a cloth napkin establishment, but the wait staff is friendly and willing to do whatever is needed to make their customers happy. (Shout out to Carolyn!!) The owner is a pearl amongst men. Just remember: make a reservation early to get the best seats on the 2nd floor by the window looking out on the ocean!
3. Price: Okay, unless you show up on Thursday or Sunday and the price is phenomenal, due to the fact that one can order the smaller sized fare. $25 to $35 (going on memory, here, don't hold me to it) with a very good wine list.
4. Wine: by the glass? Okay. I always end up ordering a Malbec. By the bottle? Excellent. So if you and your date/spouse/whatever have the same taste in wine, you can get something brilliant.
5. Entertainment: Okay, this isn't my bag, but when I've been there on nights when there's a band, it's always a band that's pleasant to listen to and not overbearing. More 80s and top hits that aren't disturbing than NIN.

I am looking forward to going back this season....yes, they're open all year. After Labor Day, it's Wednesday through Sunday. No touristas. No loud children. No inappropriate shorts and too small tank tops with questionable ink.... Ahhhhhh......heaven........(FYI, nothing against ink....just poorly done, unartistic ink.....)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathyWnuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Special night and a Special Dinner”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I were looking for a new dinner experience and we came upon Ron's Landing. located in on Hampton Beach (across the street) It doesn't look great from the outside, but it is very nice on the inside. Tastefully decorated and have enough walls to lower the sound.

The waiter was awesome and very helpful and patient. The food was great and the cocktails and wine were very good as well. It is a little pricey but the portions were larger than expected and the food was excellent. You will need a reservation so you don't wait.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ron's Landing At Rocky Bend also viewed

 

Been to Ron's Landing At Rocky Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing