We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just added to our restaurant rotation!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bonta - CLOSED

Bonta
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just added to our restaurant rotation!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

first time last week...we live close so we gave it a try...very inviting exterior and warmly decorated interior you feel comfortable once seated...we were warmly greeted by the hostess and manager upon entering...once at our table the service could not have been better...the menu is not overwhelming with choices...we started with drinks me a Martini extra dry extra olives, they got the extra dry but two olives are not IMHO extra, three is the minimum for extra olives...bread and water followed..olive oil for the bread...appetizer was muscles in white wine and butter with four grilled pieces of bread...these were very good and enough to feed us both...salads are a la carte i had Caesar and they offered anchovies to me which make a Caesar ....on to the entrees...i had duck and she salmon...she throughly enjoyed her fish and i the medallions of duck breast...i think it came with mashed potatoes as there was a white substance coating the bottom of the dish...i found on my plate a small hard stone like substance that we concluded was a duck bone ... a little unnerving but no deal was made of it...wines by the glass a pinot noir and a pinot grigio both adequate ....a pleasant experience that will bring us back

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank fastnfirm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“VERY tasty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Wonderfully trained staff! Very VERY clean. Pleasant atomosphere. We appreciated the manager coming to our table and checking on us! The food was beyond delicious! I had the Pan Seared Scallopd.. which were incredibly fresh! The sauce was to die for. Definitely coming back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ThessalonikiMou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Italian restaurant-French quantities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Bonta is trying to be an Italian restaurant with modified menu. The atmosphere is outstanding. Lighting is beautiful, muted decor and an inviting staff in formal attire, the expectation of a five-star meal was soon to be diminished. The waitress was pleasant but not that attentive. She did not call attention to any of the restaurant's specialties, neither explained the menu. We ordered appetizers and it was quite a while before they all came. When they did, we were underwhelmed. Our entrees took a relatively long time to come too.
Can't put a finger on why the food just doesn't sweep me off my feet as expected for what they charge. All entries are plain with sides a la cart. Four scallops with sauce do not make an entry in an Italian restaurant (maybe French). The service is efficient but not par for the cost. The drinks are overpriced for the area. Paying Boston or New York prices with no view is a sin. I really wanted to love this place as it is convenient and there are not many fine dining options outside of Portsmouth, but I just can't give more than a few stars to food that is only OK and service that is not friendly and attentive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thermotech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
105 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Exceptional restaurant for the seacoast area of NH”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is truly an exceptional restaurant for the area. There are many great restaurants in nearby Portsmouth but if you want a break from the busy downtown area this is the place. Food: Great quality and selection with a menu that changes frequently enough that you want to keep going back. From the unique bread basket and assortment of butter or oil, to the fun and unique desert options. We have dined here several times and it is consistently great food. Service: also excellent and paced well. The bartender is knowledgeable and all staff are friendly. They are busy but the atmosphere is still very pleasant, layout and décor is warm and inviting. great for couples or families celebrating a special event. You should always try to make a reservation. I have never been kept waiting when I had a reservation. Only negative is they are closed on Mondays!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RubySlippers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional food & wonderful atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I tried Bonta for our date night on Saturday and could not have been more impressed. He called in the afternoon for a reservation and they were able to accommodate us for that night. I would definitely recommend a reservation.

The food was beyond amazing here! We split an appetizer & salad, then each ordered an entrée. The portion size is not large, but that is fine with me. We were both full but not uncomfortable. The quality of food was excellent - we cleaned our plates! You can tell the manager or owner (Italian accent, complete gentleman) takes pride in this establishment. We saw him visit every table to make sure everyone was enjoying their experience. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AmandaSFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonta also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing