We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So very clean.”

Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So very clean.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The beach is very spacious. They clean the whole beach every morning, they don't leave a single cigarette or bottle cap.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    98
    24
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Swanton, Vermont
2 reviews
“Parking?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Impossible to park, I parked in a spot with a parking meter, $.25 gave me 6 minutes. Ridiculous! From what I saw of the beach from a distance, it looked nice!

Visited July 2013
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new haven ct
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“All humanity came to the beach ove the 4th of July”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The traffic and the crowds made this unbearable. Honky Tonk atmosphere.Nice new bathhouses but long lines to get in.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampden, Maine
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice and relaxing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great sand and clear water; very crowded and hot but fun! Too much trash on the beach (empty water bottles,etc.) due to careless people. Parking difficult.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lmarsh4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great family day at the beach!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Looking things up on a map we decided to try this beach while in New Hampshire for a couple days. We were definitly happy we did. Plenty of room on beach and not over crowded in height of season in August. Benches up near parking with canopy overhead to sit and eat lunch. Parking was close and reasonable. Plenty of stores to browse after lunch and nice restaurants to eat at for dinner. The waves were super and the kids loved using their boogy boards. Definitly will go back again. Clean sand and streets. Many vacation rentals and hotels in area. Beach stretches on for miles with life guards spaced out along bech. Playground in center for children. Water is cold initially but you get used to it fast, it is the ocean.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hampton State Beach also viewed

 

Been to Hampton State Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing