We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No bang for the buck” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Gauron Deep Sea Fishing & Whale Watching

Al Gauron Deep Sea Fishing & Whale Watching
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No bang for the buck”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

The captain made next to no effort to keep the guest in the fishing mood. Moving once because the fishing was poor, we ended up in shallow waters for the last 2 hours of our trip. Dog fish and nothing to be said about the fishing. On our return trip from the Isle of Shoals the crew wanted everyone to retreat into the galley or the upper deck in order for them to clean the fishing boat. I prefered to remain outside and enjoy the fresh air on our 45 minute ride back to the pier. Everything on this fishing trip was geared to $$$$$$ earned and convience of the crew. Never again will I return to Al Gauron Deep Sea Fishing

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank omg617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    16
    7
    8
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unbelievably non-class crew member or captain”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is the worst fishing trip in our recent 3 deep sea fishing trips around NH & MA.

We have a group 7, two-family for a 1/2 day fishing trip on "White Star".

We did not have much expectation on the trip other than for family fun. So the fishing time was not bad except we most tended up untangle fishing lines as the boat was definitely over-sold.

The terrible experience came near the end when we asked the guy (mid to old aged) who did the fish-cleaning: he asked us for $/3-mackerel cleaning directly. When we pointed out that he did not charge others for a fee, and also told him that we fully aware of the tradition to tip him after the cleaning, he just said that: what's wrong I just ask you?

While un-boarding, the same guy literally had his hand in front of everyone for tip. When people ignored him, he offered "oh, you did not have wallet with you" loudly so all around could hear. Saw that, both of us held our wallets on hand while walking off the boat but left no penny to this guy.

We could not identify if this was the captain but seemed like this was the guy who was in charge of the boat in many ways.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
13 Thank Mat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Major NIGHTMARE!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

I totally agree with all the other negative comments about Al Gauron, before we got our tickets to go on the night trip we informed them that we were NOT interested in mackerel fishing but would like to fish for striped bass the lady at the ticket desk wasn’t sure if we could do that so she called the captain of the boat to make sure, according to the lady at the front deck the captain had said “Sure we can do that”
We had arrived early to get a good spot on the boat and then the captain told us that we could not board the boat until they turned it around, so we were standing on the dock then he informed us that we could not even be on the dock so we moved up to the pier. We then watched a man and young boy get in the boat and proceed to fish from the boat that was docked (catching 2 striped bass from the stern of the boat), then another one of the captains friends arrived he too was greeted onto the boat.
When we actually boarded the boat we made sure again that is was possible for the 3 of us to bass fish (we were told again yes no problem) after the boat left the dock and we caught our bait fish we let one of the crew member(#1) know that we were ready to bass fish he then tells another crew member (#2) what we want to do and then crew member #2 informs us that there is not enough space for us to bass fish, because there was already to many bass lines in the water. So we spend the next 2hr fishing for mackerel the one thing we said we did not want to do, but with 2 kids with us we were trying to make the best of things, at the end of the fishing trip crew member #1 took are bucket of fish and dumped it into a large bucket with everyone else fish from the boat, when we asked him why did you do that? His comment was “they are all the same just pick out the biggest”.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
14 Thank crystalsmith_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nickel & dime”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

unbelievable, these guys are fishing daily on the dime of their customers,...the aformentioned "cronies" have permanent table spots inside the cabin for their card games & the preferred fishing spots from the rail. Spent all of 4 hrs fishing on a 9 hr trip...much of which was spent while adrift.....this was a disaster for those who were not angling.....despite their efforts to thwart a good time, my wife and I did manage to catch a few fish....but were charged $3 for a bag to hold our catch, $1 for the ziplok bag for the cleaned filets on top of the suggested tip to accompany the $1 per fish charge to have them cleaned..................don't even get me started with completely unneccesary Fenway prices of beer on board (not 1 of which was purchased by one of the cronies).......,....I really felt bad for those who went home without dinner after having endured that version of Deep Sea fishing.......shameful business practices. trip occurred on 6/1/2012

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Jerome M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“early bird catches the worm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

to the other stupid review wake up earlier and u can get a good spot show up at 8.00 u will not get as great spot kind of common sense

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Gauron Deep Sea Fishing & Whale Watching also viewed

 

Been to Al Gauron Deep Sea Fishing & Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing