We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for dog-owners”
Review of Marguerite Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marguerite Motel
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Reviewed August 28, 2012

For a young couple & a well-behaved dog, Marguerite proved to have its high points & low points. The mere fact that we could bring our dog to Hampton Beach (during peak season) was a real selling point for us. It's only $20.00/night extra if you bring a dog, which I think is reasonable.

Other high points include the hotel's prime location - right between the beach boardwalk & beautiful marshes for walking the dog in the AM & at sunset. Restaurants & shops - and most importantly - the beach - is less than 5 minutes away!

In addition, noise was a non-issue for us, even though dogs were staying in adjacent rooms (however, we found the hotel to have thin walls, so depending upon your neighbors, noise COULD prove to be problematic). However, parking is ideal, as it is always available, close-by & included in the price & we felt adequately "private" in our corner-room.

Nevertheless, cleanliness WAS an issue. I am hoping the (blood?-) stained, sandy sheets were the result of being put into a dog-friendly room...although, even after the cleaning services came through in the AMs, the icky-factor remained the same. I was a bit frightened of getting bitten...

The air conditioner was so old it shook the wall & made loud screeching & rocking noises all night, which proved to be uncomfortable for sleeping, but by the 2nd night we were able to get used to it.

Room Tip: Pet-friendly rooms aren't very clean; bottom corner floors are dark & have little sun.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmbourdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Marguerite Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 310 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

Staying at the Marguerite Motel has it's good and bad things of the place. The good things are it's very close to the beach just 1 block away, very nice and clean heated pool, excellent parking for guests, excellent Flat screen TV, big mini fridge for the drinks and super helpful workers especially Luciano who goes out of his way to help you when needed..
Now the other bad things which they could do much better in the future are no ice on the property as you have to buy it, no phone in rooms, no microwave in rooms unless you want a kitenchette and pay alot, no wi-fi for your laptop, no toilet holder for the roll of paper, very short drap for the room in the back as the light comes in the morning. As you see it all depends on what you care for and unless you go there you'll never know what to expect from the place as I was expecting more but Not paying alot for so little that they offer. I hope with this review it will help you in choosing this motel and there are many in Hampton Beach. I don't know if they are all the same or the others are better than this one.
In the end coming back to this motel is a very big question mark....

Room Tip: It all depends on your budget of how much you want to spend.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank florida2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We've stayed at the Marguerite Motel in the past, the rooms are much improved. Short walk to the beach, close to everything. Our air conditioner wasn't working well so the staff installed a new one very quickly. The employees were friendly. We had 2 adults and 2 grown children in our sunnyside room and it was more than large enough. We will stay at the Marguerite Motel again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Great location only one block from the beach. Clean room. Friendly employees. Good Italian restaurant and pub within walking distance. It was the first and probably not my last visit to Hamton beach. The beach is only one block from this Motel. The beach is clean and facilities have been recently renovated. I found it a lot better than old orchard beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I have been to Hampton Beach many times and this is the cleanest place we have stayed at. Rooms are very clean-great location-staff friendly. We stayed on the sunny side and room was great. Good size mini frig-When we plan another trip to Hampton beach I hope they have a room we will stay here.

Room Tip: Not sure about other rooms but we stayed on the Sunny side and it was a great room..
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had 2 little dogs with us so we were given a room that did not have carpet. The floor was extremely dirty. If you walked bare footed you stuck to the floor plus your feet were filty. If you walked with socks on, your sock became black. This was very troublesome. I spilled water on the floor and wiped it with a white towel. The towel was black afterwards.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaitlin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great staff my car wouldn't start and at 3am they helped me jump it. Room is large enough for my family 2adults 3 kids and a block from beach .. this has to be longer it is telling me but I wrote everything I wanted to so I will have to keep this sentence going until it allows me to hit submit

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george12866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#6 of 41 in Hampton
905 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#10 of 41 in Hampton
84 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#5 of 41 in Hampton
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0.6 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#7 of 41 in Hampton
90 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn At Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marguerite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marguerite Motel

Address: 112 Ashworth Ave, Hampton, NH 03842-3427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
Price Range: $107 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marguerite Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marguerite Motel is centrally located, just one-block to Hampton Beach and 3 blocks to the center of all beach activities. We offer non-smoking rooms in a family friendly atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with 32" flat panel TVs, a small refrigerator, air conditioning and private bathrooms. We have several rooms also equipped with a kitchenette or a small efficiency unit. Free parking is available on site for one car per room. Our heated pool is a center of activity for all guests to enjoy. From here you can walk to the sandy beach (approximately 5-10 minutes) or the beach center (approximately 10-15 minutes). We are close to several restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marguerite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marguerite Hotel Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing