We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Planning our wedding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashworth by the Sea
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Planning our wedding!”
Reviewed August 7, 2007

My fiance and I had our first tasting at the Ashworth this past weekend. They absolutely went above and beyond!! The food was amazing and they even threw in a couple surprises for us :)

We booked before the renovation and let me tell you it is a whole new hotel! The lobby is perfect and the roof top bar is awesome. We had a cocktail and appetizer up there before the tasting and it is such a fun and pretty atmosphere.

Highly recommend! I'll post again after wedding.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank bkbc1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    264
    143
    63
    44
See reviews for
254
408
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

We don't get to travel too often and when we do we expect to stay in a place that is above average. The Ashworth was, in our opinion, over-priced for what we ended up with. The room was fairly small with a "private" balcony overlooking the patio bar. We also had a speaker right outside our door playing music until 10 at night. We have a 2 year old, who fortunately can sleep through anything, us on the other hand had a hard time falling asleep. We didn't want to shut the door and turn the A/C on- we'd rather have the ocean breeze coming through. But unfortunately we had to. Also, our daughter ended up with quite a few bug bites (spider?) from sleeping on her cot on the floor. Not sure if we'd stay again, at least for the amount of money we spent.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nightly rate versus the value
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2007

I couldn't believe what they have done with this place! Personally, I haven't been too much for Hampton Beach but what a suprise! New everything and some nice touches! The staff was friend and helpful. The rooms were spotless and brand new. And the food was above average. It is right on the main strip on hampton beach and unfortunately at times you can hear the cars drag racing down the boulevard, but that is not the hotels fault.

I would definately recomment the Ashworth by the Sea, a definate hidden gem!

  • Liked — The new rooms!
  • Disliked — the idiots racing up and down the road in front of the hotel
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohanOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2007

we arranged a return trip to ashworth based on the nice time we had there in may of '06- to celebrate our wedding anniversary.. imagine our surprise when we entered the lobby to be greeted by some very unprofessional ill mannered desk staff.. we were given our keys .. no offer of help with luggage or parking as in the past.. we entered our "non-smoking " room to be greeted by the stench of cigarette smoke and a cup of dirty water filled with cigarette butts on the sill of the heater.. the bedspread appeared dishelved and as we look around we see pieces of used tissue sticking to the walls... we open our balcony to be hit in the face by more cigarette smoke from guest in the next room on their balcony... we call the front desk and are told "someone will be right up' .... 20 minutes later ... we decide to head downstairs to inquire on getting another room only to be told "no rooms available -we can put you in side room and then tomorrow you can move back after we clean the room" when we voice our concerns over the state of the room our response is "yeah well i'm upset too" ..hands us a key to a room that you acess by dragging your luggage across a dining room.. up a flight of stairs.. this room is beynd filthy we are greeted by an odor of cigarette smoke before the door is even open.. we enter to be met by a filthy bathroom .. a stained nasty ironing board thrown against a wall ...a rickey rusted balcony wih two broken chairs with a view of the back stairs.. we again head back to the lobby and explain this is not acceptable we are very dissappointed and will not be staying.. the person at the desk never offered an apology other then to tell us again.." how annoyed she was ".and we could expect our refund to our credit card in 3-5 days. We then headed to portsmouth and got a beautiful room at the circle.. for much less $$,,,very unprofessional uncaring staff ... we would not go back ....

  • Liked — beachfront location
  • Disliked — the hotel and its staff
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
8 Thank everywheretraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawan Mass
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2007

Recently came back to New Hampshire to visit family during Mother's day. My brother said he had made reservations at the Ashworth by the Sea. When he told me this it made the hair on the back of my neck go up. Only thing I could remember was having my Junior Prom there and how bad the hotel was.

Upon arrival I immediately noticed the changes. The valet boys were well groomed and professional. The front desk was polite and friend but not that phony snubbish attitude you get at some beach resort hotels. But the biggest change I noticed was the decor of the hotel. It wasn't that "Seventies Something" any more. It was bright warm and inviting. I would call it Modern Seaside Cottage. Another words, no wicker hanging lamp insight.

I found out from one of the employees the hotel was recently purchased by a New Hampshire company and they sunk a lot of money into the renovations. It was nice to see a remodel where they saved a historic hotel instead of knocking it down and building new.

I was totally impressed! Hopefully the rest of Hampton Beach will take notice and do something about the neighboring hotels.

Oh, and as for one of the previous comments by another traveler.... I didn't find one hole in my walls or bugs anywhere. Also the price was right and didn't put a ding in my wallet like the prices 20 minutes away in Portsmouth.

I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Liked — The Renovation
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BlaDrage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laconia, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2007

Excellent brunch last weekend, i could not believe the quality and the selection of items on the buffet! I guess they just have a breakfast buffet from this time of season on, but the eggs benedict, fruit and everything is worth every penny!
The dining area is exquisite. Hope to go back soon to experience more fantastic food!

Helpful?
4 Thank redhen1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampton hotels
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#9 of 41 in Hampton
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#17 of 41 in Hampton
79 reviews
1.1 mi away
The OC Studio Suites
The OC Studio Suites
#12 of 41 in Hampton
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hillcrest Inn
Hillcrest Inn
#22 of 41 in Hampton
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Property: Ashworth by the Sea
Address: 295 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hampton
#5 Family Hotel in Hampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Ashworth by the Sea offers friendly New England hospitality in an elegant, boutique setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We've maintained the historical aspects of the hotel, which has been a Hampton Beach Landmark for the past 100 years, and our recent renovation has updated the hotel with all the modern conveniences and amenities today's traveler expects. Ashworth by the Sea offers captivating views overlooking award-winning beaches, as well as creative dining, superior service, well-appointed rooms, and a superb location on Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. We look forward to welcoming you to our beach hotel. With New Hampshire's only sandy beach just outside your front door, the hotel has been designed to provide a tranquil seaside retreat. Stay with us, and you'll enjoy elegantly furnished guestrooms, three restaurants offering some of the finest dining on Hampton Beach, and effortless access to the area's prime attractions, including Odiorne Point, Rye Harbor and the Kittery Outlets. A wide variety of family amusements including a water park, zoo, museums, the Casino Ballroom concert arena, and tax-free shopping, are all within minutes of our doors. Relax and enjoy the ocean views from your private balcony, or take a dip in our refreshing heated pool before strolling off to discover one of the many fine shops or historical sites nearby. With over 6,000 square feet of event space and five dynamic function rooms, Ashworth by the Sea is a top destination for weddings, social gathering and corporate meetings on Hampton Beach and the Seacoast. Ashworth by the Sea is the perfect destination for romantic getaways, family vacations, girlfriends' shopping weekends, or corporate retreats. While many Hampton Beach hotels close once the summer rush is over, Ashworth by the Sea welcomes guests throughout the year, making us ideal for travelers who prefer to enjoy the quieter, off-season side of the New England coast in the cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing