We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel on the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashworth by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Service was great. The room was roomy and clean.. The location is great. Not right in the middle of the noisy boardwalk, but just a stroll from it , makes for a little quieter evening. Loved the indoor pool, the patrio is great for lunch or just some sun and relaxing, The dining room was beautiful and the food was goo too. Friends and family usually stay next door but next year they are going to stay at the Ashworth too.. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buttons629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

863 - 869 of 921 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2009

The room was very small. No refrigerator. You pay extra for one. The screen on the door was broke so we reported it on our 1st night, On the 3rd night we reported it again. Someone came and stood it up. When we opened the door it fell down again. So, we just put on the air conditioning and kept the screen door closed because the room was getting full of bugs. The balconey was so small 2 people could not fit on it and the chairs were awful-broke,dirty. The lobby was dirty also. The location and restaurant(s) were wonderful. Hotel really needs some work done and not worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaddieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We stayed in one of the suites and although the room looked bigger online it was still fabulous.Very clean and the views are breathtaking!The only thing is the pullout sofa was very uncomfortable,but the king bed was ok.The pool area was a little outdated and dingy, but who cares you have the beach litterly right across the street.The food at the breakfast buffet was excellent dont eat anywhere else or you be disappointed.Overall I would stay here for years to come with my family.Oh ya and they also have valet services!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shan0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

The Ashworth By the Sea has an absolutely beautiful website, which deceived me into thinking this was a high-end beautiful hotel. After all, they want over $200 a night, averaging $50- $80 over the rest of the hotels I researched on Ocean Blvd- and the Oceanfront Luxury suite is $349 per night! What we liked: the hotel staff were all extremely helpful and pleasant. I guess the inflated room rates pay some of their salary. They have live entertainment (well, for some reason only Wednesday and Thursday nights) There was an option of 3 convenient restaurants in the hotel to pick from. We also thought the location of the hotel was perfect-not on top of the louder blvd area but still directly across the street from the beach. What we did not like: the two towers of the hotel have two different types of tiny run down balconies. If you weren't in the tower with a triangular micro-balcony (unable to fit 2 chairs to face the ocean), you were in the one with tinier rooms and small balconies that when seated, you could not see over the latticework to see the water. In the central part of the hotel were massive air conditioning units right out in the open drowning out the sound of the ocean and throwing off a lot of heat. The kitchen seemed to get overwhelmed when it got crowded, and it took a long time to get our food. I guess they rely mostly on their high priced buffet business and are not so great at responding to service on demand. The indoor pool did not look like the photos on the website and was in a greenhouse structure that made it too hot to really enjoy. If you wanted a fridge in the room, or any extra amenity, they make sure they charge you for it- great moneymakers! Overall, this place would not be so bad if it were not for the high price. They need to lower their price because they are no better than the other places on the blvd.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlita05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

The folks at the Ashworth were very courteous and helpful from start to finish while my hubby and I were at the Ashworth. The only disadvantage was with the room, gorgeous view but no minibar, no safe, so it was a little lacking in that respect. Otherwise the room was very clean and c omfortable and the bed linens/mattress above average.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleenag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

I stayed for 5 nights with my husband and 9 yr. old son. The location is excellent; right across from the beach and within walking distance to a few nice restaurants. The room was ok, clean, but extremely noisy (paper thin walls) and the beds were not very comfortable. The balcony was a mess. Upon arriving, our screen door was broken off and just left laying against the patio door and the chairs were disgusting (ready for the dump). They had straps missing and very yellowed from not being taken care of. The restaurant was the best part of the hotel. The dinner buffet was well worth the money! It had a wonderful variety of meat and seafood and the dessert bar was outstanding with just about every type of dessert imaginable. The salad bar could have been a little more exciting; just your run of the mill iceburg lettuce, tomatoes and cucs. I never heard of paying extra for a fridge and a microwave; I feel they should have been included in the price. It was nice to have a small fitness room in the hotel and the staff was friendly. But all in all, I don't feel it was worth spending over $200 a night.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fitness1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Ashworth is probably the nicest hotel along the little strip on Hampton Beach NH. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We ate dinner the first night at the buffet (not the greatest) and the next morning we ate at the breakfast buffet. Much better! We had lunch in the little bar area (excellent server and food was decent). TWe swam twice in the pool (the water was freezing) and the pool area was just ok. We had a room just off the outdoor bar and we were so thankful the music ended at 8pm. No problems with noise. The room was small. The comforters were dirty. The room looked a little run down but all in all we had a good stay. I probably wouldn't choose to go back to Hampton Beach but it isn't because of the Ashworth but rather the feel of the boardwalk - old, tacky shops etc. The beach was great though!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheToddMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
224 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#10 of 41 in Hampton
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#7 of 41 in Hampton
91 reviews
7.8 mi away
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newburyport
445 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton South - Seabrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Address: 295 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hampton
#4 Business Hotel in Hampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range: $108 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Ashworth by the Sea offers friendly New England hospitality in an elegant, boutique setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We've maintained the historical aspects of the hotel, which has been a Hampton Beach Landmark for the past 100 years, and our recent renovation has updated the hotel with all the modern conveniences and amenities today's traveler expects. Ashworth by the Sea offers captivating views overlooking award-winning beaches, as well as creative dining, superior service, well-appointed rooms, and a superb location on Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. We look forward to welcoming you to our beach hotel. With New Hampshire's only sandy beach just outside your front door, the hotel has been designed to provide a tranquil seaside retreat. Stay with us, and you'll enjoy elegantly furnished guestrooms, three restaurants offering some of the finest dining on Hampton Beach, and effortless access to the area's prime attractions, including Odiorne Point, Rye Harbor and the Kittery Outlets. A wide variety of family amusements including a water park, zoo, museums, the Casino Ballroom concert arena, and tax-free shopping, are all within minutes of our doors. Relax and enjoy the ocean views from your private balcony, or take a dip in our refreshing heated pool before strolling off to discover one of the many fine shops or historical sites nearby. With over 6,000 square feet of event space and five dynamic function rooms, Ashworth by the Sea is a top destination for weddings, social gathering and corporate meetings on Hampton Beach and the Seacoast. Ashworth by the Sea is the perfect destination for romantic getaways, family vacations, girlfriends' shopping weekends, or corporate retreats. While many Hampton Beach hotels close once the summer rush is over, Ashworth by the Sea welcomes guests throughout the year, making us ideal for travelers who prefer to enjoy the quieter, off-season side of the New England coast in the cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing