We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary get away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashworth by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Having spent our 20th wedding anniversary at the Ashworth last year with nothing but complete satisfaction, we decided to repeat our 21st this year. We received the most gracious and satisfying treatment yet again! Margie and Colleen bent over backwards to give us the best oceanfront view, with an upgrade, as well as a beautiful and delicious cheese and wine tray, courtesy of the Hotel to celebrate. Our room was ready long before check in and the Valet service was immediately, without prior request, forthcoming with our vehicle. The food in all three of their restaurants is exemplary with no need to venture further than their property. We will, most certainly be spending all future anniversaries at the Ashworth, of that there is no question! Thank you for making 21 years a memorable day!

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are the best to enjoy the sound of the surf and enjoy the outstanding fireworks dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathiG301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thank you for choosing to spend your 20th and 21st wedding anniversaries with us at The Ashworth! We're happy to hear that our accommodating staff provided you with a memorable stay and that you enjoyed the delicious offerings at all three of our on-site restaurants. We value your feedback and will be sure to pass your compliments along to Margie and Colleen. We look forward to hosting you again!

Best,
Tom Cannizaro, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 921 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2014

The hotel was in a great location. Close to the shops across the street from the beach.
The staff,was friendly and very kind,especially the front desk. Patrick or Pat at the front desk went out of his way to get me a coke, just because the vending machine took my money and gave me no coke. He returned my money and got me a coke, no one does that. So nice. Also the valet people were amazing, hard working, smiled all day long and always opened the doors!
The hotel was clean, room ok except for the a/c which was way too loud at night, it would wake me up .That's my only complaint!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPal09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to offer valuable feedback. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our great location, friendly staff, and clean facility. We value your business and hope you'll visit us again and give us another opportunity to provide you with a 5-star stay.

Best,
Tom Cannizaro, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

think twice before you book a room at the Ashworth in advance. We booked this room four months in advance, when we arrived on Tuesday @ 2:30 they said checkin time is 4:00 PM. We went back at 4:10 and they said there was a mix up on our room. We waited till 4:45 to get our key. They said it will be $15 extra to park our car(this was to be included on the overpriced room.when we went to sign for they had charge for $76 saying it is for a room up grade,and we have not even checked in yet. The place is a completely out of control. I should of just mailed them a blank check and said take what you want.

Room Tip: go some were else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pwtmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Ash worth By The Sea is my new favorite place to stay! Not a chain, not well known by the name but perfection! From The Sandbar overlooking the beach where the bartender got my requested umbrellas for my drink to our gorgeous clean room with glass balcony and convenient $10 fridge in the room, to the delicious food in the lobby bar (we did not sit in the dining room but the menu is the same) to the convenient coffee shop! We arrived at 9:30am, were allowed to go to the beach after check in and the valet parked our car. On the beach we got a phone call which I missed but had a voicemail stating our room was ready AT NOON! After the beach, the valet brought it back around for us to unload and then parked it again. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The only complaint ... It was too short! You haven't seen the last of us Ashworth by the Sea!

Room Tip: No tip needed! ALL rooms have a balcony! Raining? Doesn't matter! Bar and restaurant in the lobb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Charlotte,

We love hearing that the only problem with your stay was that it was too short! We're happy that our wonderful staff, gorgeous accommodations, delicious food, and convenient location earned us your 5-star recommendation and return business. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to hosting your next visit to Hampton Beach!

Best,
Tom Cannizaro, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful stay at Ashworth by the Sea. The hotel staff was very friendly and courteous. Our room was nice and clean. We had an oceanfront room with an awesome view of the beach. The beach was great. We had a few Colonel Ashworth's at the outdoor bar and that got the party started!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Michael,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review your experience for TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed our friendly staff, clean accommodations, ocean views, and outdoor bar. We value your business and look forward to hosting your next visit to Hampton Beach.

Best,
Tom Cannizaro, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here a bit out of season and was able to book an ocean front room. Fantastic view from sunrise to sunset. A one night gift was turned into a two night stay, as we couldn't bear to leave so soon. When we saw the room, I went right down to the front desk to see if we could possibly stay an additional night, which they were able to do.
Our room was spacious and comfortable, but it was the waterfront view that was truly exceptional. We did eat in the restaurant and found it very good, but a bit pricey. The breakfast room had exceptional choice and was super.
The best was being only a few steps from hotel to the beach.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms with a balcony are very limited, but are spacious with spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Best place I've ever stayed. I had originally booked another hotel on the same road and so glad I changed Ashworth By the Sea is "WORTH" it. Special thank you to the valet for keeping my car close. Another fantastic thank you to the Sandbar servers who changed my mind about staying at the beach...Kate, Jason and everyone else...can't wait to come back!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lha710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the 5-star review on TripAdvisor. We're so happy to hear that The Ashworth is the best place you've ever stayed and that our terrific staff earned us your recommendation to the travel community and a return visit in the future. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to having you back.

Best,
Tom Cannizaro, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
224 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#11 of 41 in Hampton
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#7 of 41 in Hampton
92 reviews
7.8 mi away
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newburyport
445 reviews
8.3 mi away
Blue - Inn on the Beach
Blue - Inn on the Beach
#1 of 1 in Plum Island
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Address: 295 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hampton
#4 Family Hotel in Hampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range: $108 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Ashworth by the Sea offers friendly New England hospitality in an elegant, boutique setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We've maintained the historical aspects of the hotel, which has been a Hampton Beach Landmark for the past 100 years, and our recent renovation has updated the hotel with all the modern conveniences and amenities today's traveler expects. Ashworth by the Sea offers captivating views overlooking award-winning beaches, as well as creative dining, superior service, well-appointed rooms, and a superb location on Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. We look forward to welcoming you to our beach hotel. With New Hampshire's only sandy beach just outside your front door, the hotel has been designed to provide a tranquil seaside retreat. Stay with us, and you'll enjoy elegantly furnished guestrooms, three restaurants offering some of the finest dining on Hampton Beach, and effortless access to the area's prime attractions, including Odiorne Point, Rye Harbor and the Kittery Outlets. A wide variety of family amusements including a water park, zoo, museums, the Casino Ballroom concert arena, and tax-free shopping, are all within minutes of our doors. Relax and enjoy the ocean views from your private balcony, or take a dip in our refreshing heated pool before strolling off to discover one of the many fine shops or historical sites nearby. With over 6,000 square feet of event space and five dynamic function rooms, Ashworth by the Sea is a top destination for weddings, social gathering and corporate meetings on Hampton Beach and the Seacoast. Ashworth by the Sea is the perfect destination for romantic getaways, family vacations, girlfriends' shopping weekends, or corporate retreats. While many Hampton Beach hotels close once the summer rush is over, Ashworth by the Sea welcomes guests throughout the year, making us ideal for travelers who prefer to enjoy the quieter, off-season side of the New England coast in the cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing