We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ocean front room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashworth by the Sea
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Boxford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely ocean front room”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here a bit out of season and was able to book an ocean front room. Fantastic view from sunrise to sunset. A one night gift was turned into a two night stay, as we couldn't bear to leave so soon. When we saw the room, I went right down to the front desk to see if we could possibly stay an additional night, which they were able to do.
Our room was spacious and comfortable, but it was the waterfront view that was truly exceptional. We did eat in the restaurant and found it very good, but a bit pricey. The breakfast room had exceptional choice and was super.
The best was being only a few steps from hotel to the beach.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms with a balcony are very limited, but are spacious with spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    258
    139
    61
    40
See reviews for
249
399
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Best place I've ever stayed. I had originally booked another hotel on the same road and so glad I changed Ashworth By the Sea is "WORTH" it. Special thank you to the valet for keeping my car close. Another fantastic thank you to the Sandbar servers who changed my mind about staying at the beach...Kate, Jason and everyone else...can't wait to come back!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lha710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the 5-star review on TripAdvisor. We're so happy to hear that The Ashworth is the best place you've ever stayed and that our terrific staff earned us your recommendation to the travel community and a return visit in the future. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to having you back.

Best,
Tom Cannizaro, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I am writing this review to let people know that if you plan to stay at Hampton Beach - Ashworth by the Sea is the hotel to stay at...The staff, restaurants and service is terrific...The rooms are very clean and comforable. I do however, have to recognize one individual...Her name is Colleen and she is the front desk supervisor, we stayed 3 different times at the Ashworth this year (the latest in July for our vacation..she went the extra mile to make sure we had everything we needed in our room and called us to make sure we were comfortable with the room we had... she is a hoot to talk to, very nice personality and always makes you feel at home.....I want to also say the Valets at the door....were very nice and pleasant to talk to...they open the door as you enter and leave the building...what more can I say except that my husband and I will see you next year.....Jim and Lynne

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Jim and Lynne,

Thank you for your loyal patronage of our hotel and for the 5-star recommendation of the Ashworth to the travel community. We're happy to hear that you think The Ashworth is the place to stay at Hampton beach—we agree! We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to pass your compliments along to the staff, especially Colleen. We look forward to hosting your visits next year.

Best,
Tom Cannizaro, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Hampton Beach's boardwalk isn't a very high brow location, but the beach is beautiful, and Ashworth is the perfect place to stay. A quick walk across the street puts you right at the beautiful beach. The rooms aren't very big but they were clean and bed was comfortable. When we went to the desk to mention that it smelled like smoke in our room, they set about righting the problem right away. The Sandbar Bar/Restaurant was a great place to order a drink and watch the ocean and the people going by. The only complaint was the sound of dump trucks and delivery trucks starting at about 6 am!

Room Tip: Make sure you're not near the loading dock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broad Brook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

My husband and I have been coming to Hampton Beach for over 15 years, during the same week in July that our family has a gathering of sorts every summer. I am giving this rating 3 stars for just a few reasons but there are many more that warrant just a one star. The "average" rating is for the location, and for the young men running the mandatory valet service, and the drinks in the bar and the bartender who was both attentive and friendly. I should note here that we are seasoned travelers, we have stayed in hotels around the country, and around the world. The women who work at he front desk, could not be LESS accomodating or professional. We paid $249 dollars a night for a room that had a window that looked out on a roof with air conditioning units on it. The bed was comfortable and the room was relatively clean. As we had a day of rain we decided to extend our stay by one night (midweek) to spend one more day at the beach with family. My husband went down to the desk to ask if we could stay another night ..the answer was simply " No, there is someone else checking into that room.".no other information given or offered. "Well", he said "is there another room available that we might be able to secure?"
. "Yes, but there will be an additional $20 dollar charge..as there is a balcony. " They didn't offer this information, they didn't offer to move our bags, they didn't do one thing to make it any easier for us to stay an additional night.. it's not like it was free, we were paying them $269 dollars. My husband moved our bags himself, and when I went into the new room ($20 upcharge remember) there were 3 drawers to utilize. That is all, no closet at all, there were holes in the bathroom wallpaper that were covered by circular pieces of plaster and the wall paper was coming away from the wall in the bathroom. The "balcony" was a slider with a chair it was set far back on the side of the building and if you looked toward the ocean..there was a large bathouse blocking any partial view. My husband was sitting in the lobby waiting for me, one morning when he overheard the two women at the front desk talking and laughing about guests they had checked in, using demeaning inappropriate language all within earshot of a guest that was sitting not 10 feet away!
The Ashworth has no self parking, so you must incur the $15 dollar a day valet fee, it is fortunate that they did hire very courteous, and polite young men to work this service. The Ashworth is the only "hotel" on the beach, there are many motels, etc.. They know they have a monopoly on this level of accomodations so obviously they really don't make an effort, no customer service, or at the very least courteous behavior by the front desk. In discussing this review, both my husband and I kept coming back to the fact that we have paid that kind of money (or in some cases less) for hotel rooms all over the country, Carribean, Mexico.. that were simply beautiful with a staff that anwsered every question or request with "of course," or "my pleasure". What an arrogant, unhospitable experience we had at the Ashworth.. mostly centered around the front desk clerks.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for offering valuable feedback. We sincerely apologize for the service failures you experienced during your visit. We will use this occurrence to do some constructive training with the associates involved; this certainly is not a level of service we expect here at the Ashworth. I encourage you to reach out to our Rooms Division Manager, Lisa Reeser (lreeser@colwenhotels .com), so that we may compensate you for your negative experience. Your satisfaction is important to us and we would like to try to make it up to you in some way. We hope you'll accept our apology and give us another opportunity to provide you with a 5-star stay.

Sincerely,
Tom Cannizaro, GM
603.926.6762
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I like going there for drinks. The bartender Michelle has to be the best bartender in the world! I've never had such amazing drinks. Especially the strawberry ginger martini. Yum! I highly recommend trying the restaurant. The food is good and the drinks are amazing!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traceylynn215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your repeat patronage of our restaurant and for the 5-star review on TripAdvisor. We're pleased to hear that our delicious food and drinks and our outstanding bartender, Michelle, keep you coming back. We'll be sure to pass your compliments along to Michelle and we look forward to having you back.

Best,
Tom Cannizaro, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Horrible service! Burnt soup. Got my order wrong. There was a dead beetle in my cabonara! The manager was not concerned as if it happens all the time! I'm absolutely sick. Even the waiter said only "some of the chefs know what they're doing" Never go there! You don't know what's in your food.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Mia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#9 of 41 in Hampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#17 of 41 in Hampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
11.0 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn At Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Property: Ashworth by the Sea
Address: 295 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hampton
#5 Family Hotel in Hampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Ashworth by the Sea offers friendly New England hospitality in an elegant, boutique setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We've maintained the historical aspects of the hotel, which has been a Hampton Beach Landmark for the past 100 years, and our recent renovation has updated the hotel with all the modern conveniences and amenities today's traveler expects. Ashworth by the Sea offers captivating views overlooking award-winning beaches, as well as creative dining, superior service, well-appointed rooms, and a superb location on Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. We look forward to welcoming you to our beach hotel. With New Hampshire's only sandy beach just outside your front door, the hotel has been designed to provide a tranquil seaside retreat. Stay with us, and you'll enjoy elegantly furnished guestrooms, three restaurants offering some of the finest dining on Hampton Beach, and effortless access to the area's prime attractions, including Odiorne Point, Rye Harbor and the Kittery Outlets. A wide variety of family amusements including a water park, zoo, museums, the Casino Ballroom concert arena, and tax-free shopping, are all within minutes of our doors. Relax and enjoy the ocean views from your private balcony, or take a dip in our refreshing heated pool before strolling off to discover one of the many fine shops or historical sites nearby. With over 6,000 square feet of event space and five dynamic function rooms, Ashworth by the Sea is a top destination for weddings, social gathering and corporate meetings on Hampton Beach and the Seacoast. Ashworth by the Sea is the perfect destination for romantic getaways, family vacations, girlfriends' shopping weekends, or corporate retreats. While many Hampton Beach hotels close once the summer rush is over, Ashworth by the Sea welcomes guests throughout the year, making us ideal for travelers who prefer to enjoy the quieter, off-season side of the New England coast in the cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing