We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, right across from the beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashworth by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Reviewed March 16, 2014

It's definitely a summer location but nice little town. The room was on the small side but the beds were great. We also had a view of the ocean. A breakfast joint with pretty good tasting food. The girls at the desk were really nice along with the valet guy.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deejay207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (926)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 926 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Booked a room on a Saturday night. They have a music dance every weekend. Music blares and can be heard on all floors. Don't book on a weekend if you want to sleep. So inconsiderate. Food was awful at the restaurant though the waitress was great. Would not recommend this place.

Stayed: March 2014
3  Thank ThreeontheRoad27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for offering valuable feedback. I understand how important a good night's sleep is to a comfortable stay and sincerely apologize that ambient noise prevented you from having a restful stay. I understand your frustration and I will look into the noise level on Saturday nights; it doesn't usually pose a problem but we certainly want all of guests to feel accommodated and comfortable. Thank you for your business and I hope you'll give us another chance to demonstrate our commitment to providing you with an excellent experience at the Ashworth.

Sincerely,
Tom Cannizaro, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I am not sure of all the 'rave' reviews, but I do understand the 'not so rave ones'....then again maybe some people are willing to just 'settle' for a place to stay by the ocean. There were only 2 things I can say that I enjoyed. The fish I ordered at Breakers Restaurant, and the staff...other than that...It was more like staying at an old, average,hotel. My husband ordered the chicken "breast" at Breakers and got something that looked like a very small cornish game hen piece with the leg still attached...not impressed for $20. It was a mere 3 bites and its gone. The pillows have much to be desired on the beds. They are comparable to sleeping on hard pancakes, and the beds are horrible. Also, as many others have said..walls are thin..heard people on both sides of us flushing, closing the 'closet' doors, talking...(at 3 AM)...and as an added bonus, there is about a 3" gap under the door to your room, so you can hear everyone talking, laughing, etc as they go by your room..(as if they were in your room with you)....Be careful if you go in the winter...yes, parking is free, but good luck finding a place to park as there is so much snow that was not removed, that it limits the parking spaces...Oh sure, you can park in front to the side, but be aware that area is not plowed...Other than that....the ocean is wonderful!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us; I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal at Breakers and our friendly staff. However, I sincerely apologize that you found the rest of your experience to be dissatisfying. Thank you for your candor and I hope you'll give us another chance to provide you with a perfect stay.

Sincerely,
Tom Cannizaro, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Nice place in the winter. My kids loved the heated pool which was in the 70s. Restaurant service was excellent but breakfast food much better than dinner. Rooms are reasonable size for a seaside hotel. Only complaint, walls are thin and you can definitely hear your neighbor flush or open the balcony door.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Clean, fun and convenient hotel. Breakers was great and a lot of fun. The service at the hotel was really friendly and nice. Stayed here for the Half at the Hamptons Half Marathon. Perfect location for this!! Free parking. Our room had a view of the sunrise and sunset. So pretty. Very clean hotel. Breakfast cafe was yummy and totally convenient. Opened up early

ONLY complaint about the entire weekend was that we asked 3 times for a late checkout/confirmed late checkout. After the half marathon, our room key stopped working for us at regular checkout time (11 AM). And when we asked for a later checkout downstairs after we got locked out she said we were already checked out. So that was kind of a bummer. We felt rushed to get out of there instead of attending the race after party.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Always a wonderful stay! Room with ocean view clean and very comfortable. Staff at front desk so very nice. Restaurant and bar staff amazing. Visit frequently fall and winter times. Love it. Can't wait to get back.....

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Cathy,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm happy to hear that you had a wonderful time during your visit and that you're a loyal patron of the Ashworth. Thank you for your business and we look forward to hosting your next stay!

Best,
Norm Demers, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This hotel is the greatest. The room is clean, comfortable, and warm. Great deal for the money anytime of year.
We often "run away" to the Ashworth and we have never been disappointed. The staff is always accommodating, and willing to help. The food at the Breakers is fantastic, and we love hanging out at the bar with friends.
First class operation, and first class employees.

Room Tip: The king side rooms are a little smaller, but such a great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Karen,

Thank you for your loyal patronage of our hotel and for the 5-star review. I'm happy to hear that The Ashworth serves as an escape for you; a place where you always feel welcome and comfortable. I'll pass your compliments along to the staff and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Best,
Norm Demers, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
223 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#10 of 41 in Hampton
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#7 of 41 in Hampton
92 reviews
7.8 mi away
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newburyport
445 reviews
8.3 mi away
Blue - Inn on the Beach
Blue - Inn on the Beach
#1 of 1 in Plum Island
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Address: 295 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hampton
#4 Family Hotel in Hampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range: $105 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Ashworth by the Sea offers friendly New England hospitality in an elegant, boutique setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We've maintained the historical aspects of the hotel, which has been a Hampton Beach Landmark for the past 100 years, and our recent renovation has updated the hotel with all the modern conveniences and amenities today's traveler expects. Ashworth by the Sea offers captivating views overlooking award-winning beaches, as well as creative dining, superior service, well-appointed rooms, and a superb location on Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. We look forward to welcoming you to our beach hotel. With New Hampshire's only sandy beach just outside your front door, the hotel has been designed to provide a tranquil seaside retreat. Stay with us, and you'll enjoy elegantly furnished guestrooms, three restaurants offering some of the finest dining on Hampton Beach, and effortless access to the area's prime attractions, including Odiorne Point, Rye Harbor and the Kittery Outlets. A wide variety of family amusements including a water park, zoo, museums, the Casino Ballroom concert arena, and tax-free shopping, are all within minutes of our doors. Relax and enjoy the ocean views from your private balcony, or take a dip in our refreshing heated pool before strolling off to discover one of the many fine shops or historical sites nearby. With over 6,000 square feet of event space and five dynamic function rooms, Ashworth by the Sea is a top destination for weddings, social gathering and corporate meetings on Hampton Beach and the Seacoast. Ashworth by the Sea is the perfect destination for romantic getaways, family vacations, girlfriends' shopping weekends, or corporate retreats. While many Hampton Beach hotels close once the summer rush is over, Ashworth by the Sea welcomes guests throughout the year, making us ideal for travelers who prefer to enjoy the quieter, off-season side of the New England coast in the cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing