We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Exceptional Service Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashworth by the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashworth by the Sea
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I along with another couple decided on a three day get away and stayed at the Ashworth. We had never stayed there before, but were pleasantly surprised. We had purchased a internet coupon that provided us with a three night stay along with a $10.00 food voucher for each evening. The service at this property was exceptional from the associate at check in, to the bartender, waiters and waitresses and any other staff member we encountered. They went out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. The location is right on the beach and most of the rooms give you a water view. While the hotel is a little old it is well maintained. It would be nice if the rooms had a small refrigerator. You can pay $10.00 per night and they will provide one. The food in the coffee shop and the Breakers restaurant was very good. They offer a Happy Hour every evening with a drink special and also have some of their appetizers for 1/2 price. If you're looking for a nice get a way I would recommend this Ashworth.

Room Tip: Request a room on the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doughboy_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashworth_By_The_Sea, Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Doughboy_40,

How exciting for us to see such a glowing review. Thank you for sharing your positive experience with this review. Please know, that we take our survey's and reveiws to heart and will indeed share with our associates how special they made you and your friends feel during your recent stay with us.

The off season is a wonderful time to enjoy the NH Seacoast and we truly hope to serve you again in the future !

Warm Regards,
Sea you at the Beach,

Brenda Goodwin
Resident Hotel Manager
603-926-6762 X 398
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    238
    121
    58
    35
See reviews for
231
368
21
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melrose
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Ok so we stared out with the wrong reservations. We are a family of 6 and they put us in a closet of a room to start. My husband took care of that. We had to be moved after the second day due to them booking the room for someone more important. Then we drive home and find out tat our car that had been in valet parking the whole time because you can not park it yourself had been hit. Broken mirror and gouges out of my bumper. Called the manager as soon as we seen it she said she would check into it (this was back in July). Spoke to her manager a number of times and heard nothing until today September 20th. They are not going to fix it because we should have done a once over before we pulled out. Very disappointed in the staff and amount of money spent for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pkgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashworth_By_The_Sea, Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Pkgold,

Please accept our apologies for the delay in communication that you have experienced with regards to your vehicle incident claim. The claim was submitted as soon as we were made aware of your report and if claim had been found eligible for compensation, our insurance company would have been in touch directly with you.
Our hotel assumes full responsibility for vehicles in our care and custody for the length of your stay. It is unfortunate that you did not notice any damage until after you returned home.

Again, we are sorry that this situation has left you with a less than postive experience and I will be happy to talk with you again at any time.

Sincerely,

Brenda Goodwin
Resident Hotel Manager
603-926-6762 X 398
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I utilized a fabulous offer from Groupon and spent 3 nights 4 days at Ashworth by the Sea! I LOvE going to Hampton Beach NH! One of my Most Favorite Places!
The Staff are INCREDIBLE!!! Wicked Nice, EXTREMELY Friendly & SO SO HELPFUL!! Always Smiling and Just Fabulous.
My issue was with my Room. I had a King size room. A king size bed, a balcony and bathroom.
There was a huge section of wall where a closet SHOULD be, but wasn't. There was a "nook" in which a movable closet was. In FRONT of the movable "Closet" was the Desk! I was like, "OMG, this is so NOT right!" I almost, ALMOST moved the Closet into the area intended to be a closet, but wasn't, Just so it would Look correct!
The Curtain on the Slider was ripped in a couple different places. The water pressure was non existent. The "jets" on the Shower Head did not work. The toilet was very very recently caulked and was still wet and falling off. Kinda Gross.
There were holes in the bathroom wall where the Hair dryer used to be hung and where not anymore. Then a very Badly Patched place on the wall in the bathroom, but I can not even venture to guess what was there. Just looked bad!
There were quite a few of very bad water stains on the ceiling above the Bed. I was worried about the ceiling falling on me. But it didn't. :o) Finally, the filters for the A/C were so dirty! The a/c was not working correctly so I remember seeing on Hotels Impossible about taking the filters out to clean them. That is what I did. They were so gross! They looked like they hadn't been washed in ever. After they were clean, they A/C worked beautifully!!

There was so much room for improvement!
1) The Area sectioned out for a Closet, USE IT AS ONE!! Put Doors Up! And get rid of the Movable Closet, it cheapens the room!
2) Then on the other side, Put a Fridge and Microwave!
3) Move the Desk all the way to the wall for privacy.
4) Invest in NEW Mattress, the Springs were very evident in the one I was on.

Other than that, things were really good!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KKisBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newengland4me, Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear KKisBack,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the less than satisfactory room and experience you had during your recent stay. I have personally inspected this room and have placed it out of service until the necessary repairs have been completed.
During the high season months and after many nights in a row of being sold out, the condition of this room ( replacement of wall mounted hairdryer with a hand held), tears in curtain and quick wallpaper patch, were not addressed with the typical high standards we require and that our guests have come to expect.

We are truly sorry that we let you down.

Please feel free to contact me if I can be of further assistance. Our Rooms Division Manager has also attempted to reach you to remedy this unfortunate situation.

Sincerely,

Brenda Goodwin
Hotel Resident Manager
603-926-6762 X398
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I absolutely loved this hotel!! we stayed friday night to sunday and the staff was great. We stayed in the Ashworth Suite.. The room was smaller then i thought it was going to be but it was very clean. I had a great view of the ocean!! the bathroom was HUGE and gorgeous!!! The breakers resturant in hotel was amazing, all i can say. food was 100% perfect and wasnt expensive at all. the only downfall was the AC not blowing cold air.. It didnt bother us too bad because it was semi - cold weather at night. I let the staff know when we checked out but if we stayed in the summer time this would of definally been a problem but overall GREAT stay!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaycee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just spent two nights here. Expected more for the money but the place is well run and has the amenity of a nice launge and restaurant. It is older and a little tired but the folks who run the place try hard to deliver a good experience. The location is ideal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashworth_By_The_Sea, Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear George F,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. We appreciate your feedback and are glad that you were pleased with the service and overall experience. .

We are very fortunate to have such a wonderful location at the beach.

Best Regards,

Brenda Goodwin
Hotel Resident Manager
603-926-672 X 398
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We initially reserved an Oceanview with balcony room, but once we arrived we were offered the 2 bedroom cottage out back. All I can say is...JUST FABULOUS!! It still has an ocean view, but is 3 times bigger than any regular room and decorated lovely. We can't wait to go again next September.

Room Tip: Get the cottage...it's worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashworth_By_The_Sea, Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Tiana M,

We are thrilled to hear that you totally enjoyed not only our lovely cottage, but your entire visit with us!
Hampton Beach is a special place and we are so fortunate to have guests such as yourself that continue to return year after year to experience all we have to offer.

" Sea you at the Beach " !

Warm Regards,

Brenda Goodwin
Resident Hotel Manager
603-926-6762 X 398
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

For a holiday weekend we felt the value was good. The room was clean and comfortable but small and needed to be updated. we were in the south tower overlooking the outdoor bar so we could enjoy the music from our balcony. Only issue was the exhaust fans from the kitchen were below us so we always knew what was being cooked. The little coffee shop on site is expensive and every thing is extra money do yourself a favor and do the buffet in the main dining area all inclusive including coffee and juice. Appetizers on the deck, after a day on the beach, were fair ,small selection , Dinner in the main dining room was very good the food is very good as well as the service. Watched the fireworks from the roof bar good view. The valet parking is handy but if you plan on going in and out put your car in the lot for $10 its cheaper. We will go back

Room Tip: north "tower" is newer the higher up the less smell from the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j88racefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 42 in Hampton
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
11.0 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#16 of 42 in Hampton
3.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn at Hampton
0.5 mi away
Marguerite Motel
Marguerite Motel
#8 of 42 in Hampton
3.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Property: Ashworth by the Sea
Address: 295 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 02360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hampton
#5 Family Hotel in Hampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Ashworth by the Sea offers friendly New England hospitality in an elegant, boutique setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We've maintained the historical aspects of the hotel, which has been a Hampton Beach Landmark for the past 100 years, and our recent renovation has updated the hotel with all the modern conveniences and amenities today's traveler expects. Ashworth by the Sea offers captivating views overlooking award-winning beaches, as well as creative dining, superior service, well-appointed rooms, and a superb location on Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. We look forward to welcoming you to our beach hotel. With New Hampshire's only sandy beach just outside your front door, the hotel has been designed to provide a tranquil seaside retreat. Stay with us, and you'll enjoy elegantly furnished guestrooms, three restaurants offering some of the finest dining on Hampton Beach, and effortless access to the area's prime attractions, including Odiorne Point, Rye Harbor and the Kittery Outlets. A wide variety of family amusements including a water park, zoo, museums, the Casino Ballroom concert arena, and tax-free shopping, are all within minutes of our doors. Relax and enjoy the ocean views from your private balcony, or take a dip in our refreshing heated pool before strolling off to discover one of the many fine shops or historical sites nearby. With over 6,000 square feet of event space and five dynamic function rooms, Ashworth by the Sea is a top destination for weddings, social gathering and corporate meetings on Hampton Beach and the Seacoast. Ashworth by the Sea is the perfect destination for romantic getaways, family vacations, girlfriends' shopping weekends, or corporate retreats. While many Hampton Beach hotels close once the summer rush is over, Ashworth by the Sea welcomes guests throughout the year, making us ideal for travelers who prefer to enjoy the quieter, off-season side of the New England coast in the cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing