We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashworth by the Sea
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Chelmsford, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Vacation”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

this is probably one of the best places to stay. what keeps them from a good review is that there housekeeping is slow. would be in the late afternoon or so before your room is done. also the owner is not a very nice person,rude and does not know how to present herself. went to one of there new years eve packages,the next day we got breakfast,i had a dunkin donut coffee and she went postal on me!!!!!! as i was sitting there and not feeling warm and fuzzy, i saw other people come in with dunkin donut coffee and was wondering if she went postal on them as well. have not been back since. there have been other dealings with her as well,my daughter had a confrontation with her as well,i guess she was going postal again for fear that my daughter was going to park were she was not suppose to,the parking was for hotel employees and my daughter can read and saw the sign,maybe its time she retired.

Room Tip: watch out for the owner !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    261
    140
    62
    43
See reviews for
250
404
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

first time to hampton beach as a family. we wanted somewhere close to the beach (have a 4 & 3 YO - so we didn't want to have to walk too far to get to the beach). I researched many spots online and the Ashworth seemed to be the nicest of all. We LOVED the hotel, the rooms, the people and the restaurants - all of it! Luckily the time we wanted to travel (after Labor day) resulted in more afordable prices - not sure we could have picked this place during peak time.

Definitely recommend and we'll definiately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashworth_By_The_Sea, Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Gina L,

Thank you very much for such a positive review of our hotel and sharing your families experience during your recent visit. We take pride in providing excellent service and are delighted that you chose to stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family again and again !

Warm Regards,
Sea you at the Beach !

Brenda Goodwin
Hotel Resident Manager
603-926-6762 X398
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We loved the room, the dinner was awesome - got fish and chips (haddock) and was so fluffy - the beds were so comfortable, clean, awesome new bathroom, had breakfast in the breakfast restaurant and loved it - stayed all day at the beach and everyone was more than accomodating - LOVED IT!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmmarkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This place is the best!

My wife stumbled upon the Ashworth by the Sea 4 years ago as a Travelzoo discount deal at the end of summer so we took a gamble and went for it.

Been going every summer since.

The hotel is astounding for the "old boardwalk" area. I'm not a "snob" traveler, but I like to stay in places that are at least as nice (usually better) than my house.

But I also love the old-school feel of arcade boardwalks with crummy t-shirt sellers, and just a fun younger feel to it.

This fits the bill to a "T"! Outside it's old beach bum boardwalk, but once you get back on the Ashworth property it's clean as can be, quiet, and professional. Walking through the doors is a great way to get some peace back in your mind. (doors that are usually opened by one of their valet staff - who are typically younger kids making a summer buck - love it!)

Breakers restaurant (in case there's not a separate review place) is a 10/10! Seriously! Now I can't eat shell-fish, so I get a burger (which is always awesome), or a fish fry (again, awesome!), but my wife swears that they have the best lobster dinner around - and we've now been everywhere in the area.

The Wharfside for breakfast (another on-site place) is the greatest diner.

But don't get me wrong, these places are neat, clean, up to date, and very professional. Like I said, the boardwalk is as old-school as it gets. The Ashworth hotel is the exact opposite.

Anyway, enough bragging. The place is awesome, definitely a "win" in our book.

Room Tip: The actual oceanfront rooms cost a fortune but are worth it for the view. The ocean "view"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjcalnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newengland4me, Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear RJCalnan,

What a wonderful and picturesque reveiw you have written about your vacation this summer in Hampton Beach. I could smell the beach reading this !

We are delighted that you have continued to return year after year! It is positive reveiws such as this one, that reaffirm our passion for taking great care of our guests - we thank you !

Please say hello the next time you are here !

Warm Regards,

Brenda Goodwin
Resident Hotel Manager

603-926-6762 X 398
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

After growing up staying in cottages at Hampton Beach, I decided to finally stay at the Ashworth when bringing my young family to Hampton for the first time. I am so glad I did!

I had originally planned to travel with my three children and chose a king standard room (king bed with sofa bed). However, at the last minute, my husband was able to join us and I was thrilled that, upon arrival, the hotel was able to offer us a larger, upgraded room (Ashworth King Oceanfront). The valet parking was fast and friendly. Everyone we encountered on the staff greeted us with a smile and a "what can we do for you?" attitude.

The room was not huge but it was comfortable, clean and very quiet. I had been nervous about this when I saw we were on the corner of the building (where Ashworth, Ocean, and Nudd all meet). This room proved to be the perfect place to enjoy the Wednesday evening fireworks from our balcony.

Our plan had been to enjoy the beach after our 11 am checkout, however, the day we were leaving was overcast and cold. The staff was kind enough to let us keep our car in valet after checkout and let the children enjoy the pool for a while before we headed home.

The room was not inexpensive, relatively speaking to other properties in the area. But we felt like it was worth the money for how we were treated while we were there. When we return to Hampton again for a one or two night stay, we would absolutely choose the Ashworth again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MamaCyn_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I really appreciated my weekend in that hotel. Clean, just in front of the beautiful beach, staff very nice and all services. I enjoyed eating at the restaurant and the coffeeshop and having a drink at the Sandbar. The room was very nice, enough space, super bathroom, balcony with view on the ocean, quiet and very comfortable beds, Even if a little bit expensive, it is worth trying it. I really recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nefertiti2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The rooms were clean, hotel staff was VERY pleasant and the basic amenities were good. We stayed a few nights, split between two rooms. The hotel staff was very nice and we really appreciated the valet parking. The first room at the pool was nice; the balcony for the second room was really gross. The view was bad and the smells from the restaurants wafted directly onto our balcony so we couldn't stand to be out on it.

Room Tip: Rooms in the north tower seem better and oceanfront is definitely the way to go. Anything over the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seastardodell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newengland4me, Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Seastardodell,

Thank you for taking the time to write a reveiw and providing your feedback. We aplogize that one of your room locations was less than satisfactory. Our balcony replacements are in process and ( as you may have noticed) the older wooden style are being replaced with tempered glass to afford a much improved view for our guests. We also appreciate the positive comments you made regarding our hotel cleanliness and our friendly staff!

We hope to see you again in the near future,

Warm Regards,

Brenda Goodwin
Resident Hotel Manager
603-926-6762 X398
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampton hotels
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#9 of 41 in Hampton
83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#14 of 41 in Hampton
75 reviews
1.1 mi away
The OC Studio Suites
The OC Studio Suites
#12 of 41 in Hampton
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hillcrest Inn
Hillcrest Inn
#20 of 41 in Hampton
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Property: Ashworth by the Sea
Address: 295 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hampton
#5 Family Hotel in Hampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Ashworth by the Sea offers friendly New England hospitality in an elegant, boutique setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We've maintained the historical aspects of the hotel, which has been a Hampton Beach Landmark for the past 100 years, and our recent renovation has updated the hotel with all the modern conveniences and amenities today's traveler expects. Ashworth by the Sea offers captivating views overlooking award-winning beaches, as well as creative dining, superior service, well-appointed rooms, and a superb location on Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. We look forward to welcoming you to our beach hotel. With New Hampshire's only sandy beach just outside your front door, the hotel has been designed to provide a tranquil seaside retreat. Stay with us, and you'll enjoy elegantly furnished guestrooms, three restaurants offering some of the finest dining on Hampton Beach, and effortless access to the area's prime attractions, including Odiorne Point, Rye Harbor and the Kittery Outlets. A wide variety of family amusements including a water park, zoo, museums, the Casino Ballroom concert arena, and tax-free shopping, are all within minutes of our doors. Relax and enjoy the ocean views from your private balcony, or take a dip in our refreshing heated pool before strolling off to discover one of the many fine shops or historical sites nearby. With over 6,000 square feet of event space and five dynamic function rooms, Ashworth by the Sea is a top destination for weddings, social gathering and corporate meetings on Hampton Beach and the Seacoast. Ashworth by the Sea is the perfect destination for romantic getaways, family vacations, girlfriends' shopping weekends, or corporate retreats. While many Hampton Beach hotels close once the summer rush is over, Ashworth by the Sea welcomes guests throughout the year, making us ideal for travelers who prefer to enjoy the quieter, off-season side of the New England coast in the cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing