We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashworth by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Reviewed September 5, 2013

After growing up staying in cottages at Hampton Beach, I decided to finally stay at the Ashworth when bringing my young family to Hampton for the first time. I am so glad I did!

I had originally planned to travel with my three children and chose a king standard room (king bed with sofa bed). However, at the last minute, my husband was able to join us and I was thrilled that, upon arrival, the hotel was able to offer us a larger, upgraded room (Ashworth King Oceanfront). The valet parking was fast and friendly. Everyone we encountered on the staff greeted us with a smile and a "what can we do for you?" attitude.

The room was not huge but it was comfortable, clean and very quiet. I had been nervous about this when I saw we were on the corner of the building (where Ashworth, Ocean, and Nudd all meet). This room proved to be the perfect place to enjoy the Wednesday evening fireworks from our balcony.

Our plan had been to enjoy the beach after our 11 am checkout, however, the day we were leaving was overcast and cold. The staff was kind enough to let us keep our car in valet after checkout and let the children enjoy the pool for a while before we headed home.

The room was not inexpensive, relatively speaking to other properties in the area. But we felt like it was worth the money for how we were treated while we were there. When we return to Hampton again for a one or two night stay, we would absolutely choose the Ashworth again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MamaCyn_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (926)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 926 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

I really appreciated my weekend in that hotel. Clean, just in front of the beautiful beach, staff very nice and all services. I enjoyed eating at the restaurant and the coffeeshop and having a drink at the Sandbar. The room was very nice, enough space, super bathroom, balcony with view on the ocean, quiet and very comfortable beds, Even if a little bit expensive, it is worth trying it. I really recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nefertiti2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The rooms were clean, hotel staff was VERY pleasant and the basic amenities were good. We stayed a few nights, split between two rooms. The hotel staff was very nice and we really appreciated the valet parking. The first room at the pool was nice; the balcony for the second room was really gross. The view was bad and the smells from the restaurants wafted directly onto our balcony so we couldn't stand to be out on it.

Room Tip: Rooms in the north tower seem better and oceanfront is definitely the way to go. Anything over the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seastardodell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newengland4me, Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Seastardodell,

Thank you for taking the time to write a reveiw and providing your feedback. We aplogize that one of your room locations was less than satisfactory. Our balcony replacements are in process and ( as you may have noticed) the older wooden style are being replaced with tempered glass to afford a much improved view for our guests. We also appreciate the positive comments you made regarding our hotel cleanliness and our friendly staff!

We hope to see you again in the near future,

Warm Regards,

Brenda Goodwin
Resident Hotel Manager
603-926-6762 X398

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband, my two boys (10&12) and I stayed at the Ashworth in late August for an "End of Summer" getaway. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Everyone from the front desk staff, to housekeeping, to restaurant staff, to valet were extremely friendly and very accommodating. The Hampton area can be "iffy" and I was very apprehensive to book any hotel without seeing it beforehand. Thankfully all of the reviews on Tripadvisor directed me to this property and we couldn't have been happier. The rooms are not large but they are very well appointed and extremely clean. We LOVED the Sandbar deck / restaurant. What a great spot!

It's true that this property is a bit more expensive than others, but it's well worth the price.

NOTE: Right at check in, my son stubbed his toe and by the time we got to our room, we discovered that it required a bandage. A wonderful woman on the housekeeping staff went and got a band aid for us and was very kind as he was quite upset. This was going the "extra mile" in my opinion!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShelOt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Got a special deal for a night stay for under $100. It was worth the money. I spent my summer vacations at Hampton Beach as a child and wanted to see it again with my daughter. This hotel is very conveniently located (not too close to the arcades and across the street from the beach). It is nicely remodeled. The best things about this hotel are; the bed (great linens and comfort factor), large bathroom, flat screen and free valet. It met our needs for a one night getaway.

The pool is indoors and it would have been so much nicer if it was outside. It was heavily chlorinated and stung our eyes after swimming. Tip: We ordered the Fish & Chips luncheon special at the downstairs restaurant. Great portions and very tasty. Not bad for a lunch under $11.00.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Letsgoseetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was a great place to stay very clean and the staff was very courteous. Like the idea of right across the street from the ocean. The pool was comfortable but the air in side sitting around pool was too stuffy otherwise it was great. The outside patio was a great also which when were were there had a singer one night which was nice. The valet service guys parking the cars were wonderful very attentive and hard working. We enjoyed the breakfast at the breakers restaurant every morning not greasy at all.
The only thing I would change about the hotel is the DJ in the evening he was not up beat at all. It is a little pricey and it would be nice to receive discount for returning customers. Otherwise great place to stay. I would recommend this place. We hope to stay again in the same room it was perfect location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newengland4me, Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear LH,

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in August. Thank you for your positive comments and feedback. It was a fun summer at the beach and we are glad you enjoyed all we have to offer.

Warm Regards,

Brenda Goodwin
Resident Hotel Manager
603-926-6762 X 398

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We recently stayed for two nights on a great Internet special. The location is fabulous right across the street from the beach. Although small, the room had all the basics and was very clean which is the most important feature. The staff was absolutely wonderful. They allowed us to check in early so we could use the indoor pool. The valet was very accommodating with lots of personality. The Breakers restaurant was great. My order was incorrect and it was immediately rectified and the manager was quickly over offering a free dessert, etc. quite a nice gesture. The breakfast restaurant was more frenetic and the hostess was juggling multiple duties while everyone waited for a table. Regardless the meal was good and affordable. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joppatowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
223 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#10 of 41 in Hampton
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#7 of 41 in Hampton
92 reviews
7.8 mi away
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newburyport
445 reviews
8.3 mi away
Blue - Inn on the Beach
Blue - Inn on the Beach
#1 of 1 in Plum Island
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Address: 295 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hampton
#4 Business Hotel in Hampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range: $105 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Ashworth by the Sea offers friendly New England hospitality in an elegant, boutique setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We've maintained the historical aspects of the hotel, which has been a Hampton Beach Landmark for the past 100 years, and our recent renovation has updated the hotel with all the modern conveniences and amenities today's traveler expects. Ashworth by the Sea offers captivating views overlooking award-winning beaches, as well as creative dining, superior service, well-appointed rooms, and a superb location on Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. We look forward to welcoming you to our beach hotel. With New Hampshire's only sandy beach just outside your front door, the hotel has been designed to provide a tranquil seaside retreat. Stay with us, and you'll enjoy elegantly furnished guestrooms, three restaurants offering some of the finest dining on Hampton Beach, and effortless access to the area's prime attractions, including Odiorne Point, Rye Harbor and the Kittery Outlets. A wide variety of family amusements including a water park, zoo, museums, the Casino Ballroom concert arena, and tax-free shopping, are all within minutes of our doors. Relax and enjoy the ocean views from your private balcony, or take a dip in our refreshing heated pool before strolling off to discover one of the many fine shops or historical sites nearby. With over 6,000 square feet of event space and five dynamic function rooms, Ashworth by the Sea is a top destination for weddings, social gathering and corporate meetings on Hampton Beach and the Seacoast. Ashworth by the Sea is the perfect destination for romantic getaways, family vacations, girlfriends' shopping weekends, or corporate retreats. While many Hampton Beach hotels close once the summer rush is over, Ashworth by the Sea welcomes guests throughout the year, making us ideal for travelers who prefer to enjoy the quieter, off-season side of the New England coast in the cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing