We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & Inviting”
Review of DW's Oceanside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
DW's Oceanside Inn
Ranked #4 of 13 Hampton B&B and Inns
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly & Inviting”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Skip & Debbie do an outstanding job making their guests feel at home. The rooms are meticulous and the service is outstanding. A great location within steps to Hampton Beach. This property is not your casual motel but rather it is an elegant Inn that is friendly & inviting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kikape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    1
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Skip and Debbie should give lessons in innkeeping. We have seldom stayed anywhere so beautiful, so clean and so warm and welcoming!

My boyfriend's first words upon entering the house were "Are we in Hampton Beach??" This is no casual beachfront motel. This inn is elegant and stylish, meticulously renovated and maintained, and absolutely sparkling clean.

The innkeepers have clearly put a tremendous amount of thought into making their guests happy and comfortable. The common areas, inlcuding two lovely decks on the second floor, are very inviting. The decks have luxurious, super-comfy wicker furniture and a self-service "honor system" bar with water, soda, beer, wine and liquor, plus ice, glasses, everything you would need. The prices are ridiculously reasonable. We enjoyed sitting in the sunshine, enjoying the ocean view and having a cocktail.

As they are right across the street from the beach, they provide a separate entrance for beach access. This takes you into a nice area in the basement, where there is a very well-appointed shower to wash away the sand before you enter the main part of the inn. They have beach chairs, umbrellas, towels, sand toys, books, even sunscreen, hats, coolers...all available to help yourself to take to the beach! There are even lockers downstairs if you need them, and a full size fridge for all guests to use. Since they clearly don't want guests tracking sand all over their house, how nice of them to provide such an easy, comfortable setting to clean up!

We booked last minute and got their last available room, the "Goody Cole" room, with a canopied double bed, on the first floor. Even though small, the room was beautifully decorated, spotless, and set up with an eye to guest comfort. We found extra pillows and blankets, robes, a safe in the closet, books, magazines and games. There was a flat screen TV on the wall although we didn't use it. The bathroom has the tub/shower and toilet in a separate tiny room with a pocket door, and the outer bathroom contains the sink, huge mirror and very wide vanity. Plenty of storage space. Natura toiletries were very nice and a good hairdrier mounted on the wall. Fluffy clean towels.

They do a nightly turndown service and leave chocolates on the pillow, along with your breakfast menu. You select what you would like to eat, and what time you want breakfast (anytime from 8:00 - 9:15), and it's ready for you when you arrive at the "cafe", which was very cute and as nicely decorated as the rest of the inn. Skip cooks the breakfast and Debbie serves and chats to the guests. We could tell from some of the conversations that they clearly have many repeat customers.

My complaints are few and minor. I would have liked a heartier breakfast. Skip's french toast is amazing, but it would have been nice if it were served with some sausage and maybe a slice of melon. The coffee is very good though and the orange juice is fresh squeezed. Nice! The inn has central air, therefore there are no individual temperature controls in the guestrooms. We were at times a little too warm or too cold, but not enough that we needed to alert the innkeepers. Their in-room guide suggests closing the vent and opening windows, and while we could open the windows, we felt silly because we could not find the vent! Oh well. The bed was beautiful, but the mattress was not the most comfortable. Maybe a memory foam topper would help? Still, we were able to sleep. There is inevitable traffic noise from the street, not the innkeepers' fault. Hampton Beach is always noisy, and we were there during the busy Seafood Festival weekend, so there were lots of motorcycles zooming around.

We will definitely be returning to the Oceanside Inn. In fact, we joined their frequent customer program! This is a truly a special place run by a lovely couple who demonstrate the utmost in hospitality. It was a joy to stay in their home, and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryetuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised once we entered the Oceanside Inn. It is beautifully decorated in keeping with the character of the house. The Innkeepers have done a wonderful job of updating this Inn. It is meticulous, clean and very comfortable. It is right on the beach which makes it convenient for those who love the beach/water. Upstairs has a delightful terrace with shade or sun. We loved the indirect lighting in our room and although a little small, it was cozy and very convenient to parking in the back. We really enjoyed our stay there. Breakfasts were wonderful...Skip does a great job with his creativity and culinary skills.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

It is a dollhouse with excellent service and atmosphere. Some may find it a bit gaudy, but I was delighted. And the owners are doing their job with great care for detail. They also provide you with beach towels, umbrellas and even books.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank batadrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis MN
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We recently spent 3 days in Hampton Beach and chose Oceanside for it's location (on the quieter, north end of the area) and because we enjoy B & B's. We were delighted with the home and its amenities. One word of caution for "out-of-towners" like us- There is no "D.W." anywhere on the outside of this inn. We must have driven past it 4 times (and the "Oceanside Realty" sign threw us off also). We finally just parked and walked until we realized we were right on top of it. They do have a parking lot way in the back down a back street, but you need to check in to receive an electric gate opener.
Our room was in the back of the house and had direct access to the back deck with sumptious porch furniture. It has a great view of the ocean on one end, and there is bar area there that works on the honor system.
I can't stress enough how spotless this home and grounds are! I walked into the bathroom and lliterally was "wowed" at how sparkling clean it was. We constantly saw people sweeping the porch, washing windows, grooming the garden plants.
We were in Hampton beach for R&R after a very stressful summer, and this place was perfect. They have beach chairs, umbrellas, towels, games, books, etc to just pick out and take to the beach ( a short walk across the street). They are in the basement, where you just return everything and then shower off to leave the beach sand downstairs before returning to your room. It was so enjoyable that we spent 2 days just sitting at the beach marveling at the HUGE beach area. Apparently, all the beach area buildings (restrooms, changing areas, bandshell) are brand new this year, and they are gorgeous. The water was cold, but refreshing.
Breakfast menus are left on your pillow each night with their turn down service. You pick the time you want to eat, and choose from the daily menu (it does change a little). You leave it out on your door handle at night, and they are prepared to serve you in the morning. We are very early risers, so the first morning, we walked down the street to Java Jacks for coffee and a pastry (my treat to myself on vacation ony) because coffee at the inn isn't available until 7:30am. You can only choose one of Skips pastries in place of the egg selection, and so I never got to choose one, But- I never made the mistake of filing up on coffee and pastry again, because breakfast is amazing and filling. The choice of "fruit" vs juice was simply amazing. This wasn't a tiny bowl of melon and grapes. We had bowls of fruits 2 mornings (cherries, melon, berries, peaches, etc) and the last morning was a huge slice of melon with numerous other fruits sliced on top. Skip's homemade toast is scrumptious- wish I had the recipe!! We tried 3 or 4 different jams -all delicious.
There is a deck on the front of the house with the same porch furniture as in the back and is an excellent place to relax as well. There are fireworks on the beach every Wed nite at 9:30 and can be seen just fine from the deck. We chose to walk to the beach- wish we had taken 2 of the chairs from the inn with us.
There was ony one down side for us, and that is that the main road out of town is right next to the inn. It roars to life early each morning and is loud each evening. Since our room faced this road, it was a bit more of an issue for us.
We also received a coupon for Ron's Landing which we used. It is a short walk with delicious food, but we forgot to make reservations, and were lucky enough to be seated at 5pm- by the time we left, the place was packed.
We would defintely return here!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sklnurse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Wonderful host family that has owned and operated this inn for 35 years. Our second floor, uniquely decorated room looked out over the wide, clean beach and ocean. There was a deck where we could sit and enjoy the views and ocean breeze. Our room had two double beds which my sister and I wanted, not an easy thing to find in a b&b type inn. Also had a small gift shop and a back deck with a stocked refrigerator that operated on the honor system. Easy walk to great restaurants; easy drive to the great towns of Portsmouth, NH, Newburyport, MA, and the Maine Coast. Hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: Going off season as we did helps make an ocean view room more affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cvmph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

have been going to the oceanside inn for a few years now,look forward to our 10 days there every summer. great breakfast great staff,
wanda and paul from montreal

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoss4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#4 of 41 in Hampton
877 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#8 of 41 in Hampton
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0.9 mi away
The OC Studio Suites
The OC Studio Suites
#12 of 41 in Hampton
41 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#13 of 41 in Hampton
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DW's Oceanside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DW's Oceanside Inn

Property: DW's Oceanside Inn
Address: 365 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3633
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, elegant Inn on the NH seacoast. Set up as a quiet get-away for mature adults, mainly couples. Located directly across the street from a wide sandy beach & within easy walk of all tourist shops, restaurants & activities in center area including the beautiful new SeaShell Stage with free nightly entertainment in summer. All rooms have been completely renovated. The Inn has many common areas, i.e. front porch with beautiful ocean views, back deck self-serve bar area, living room, breakfast cafe & enclosed front porch. Rates include full breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing